Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Eddie Muenster Ends Luxemburg Drought with IMCA Mod Feature Win!

Posted under Race Reports on May 30th, 2008


By Joe Verdegan

May 30, 2008; Luxemburg, WI. — Former track champion Eddie Muenster of Green Bay passed Eric Mullen for the
lead on lap six, ending a four year drought and winning 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway
Friday night. The contest went green-to-checkers without a yellow.

Second year driver Scott Boulanger of Luxemburg fought off New Franken’s Jarrod Van Lannen in the waning laps and held on to win his first ever 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature win. Boulanger, who also scored a sweep with his heat win, stopped Dave De Grave’s streak of four straight wins in the class.

A total of 138 cars were on hand, including 36 IMCA modifieds, 38 stock cars, 25 northern sportmods, 20 hobby stocks and 19 INEX Lengends.

Polesitter Art Siefert, Eric Mullen and Muenster all held the lead during the first five laps of the IMCA modified feature with Muenster taking the lead over for good on lap six. On the lightning fast track, Muenster began encountering lapped cars by lap 13.

Muenster had built up a full straightaway lead by lap 16, with Eric Mullen scrapping with Chad Wilcox and Jerry Wilinski for the runnerup spot. When the checkers flew Muenster maintained that straightaway lead to collect the feature flag. Chad Wilcox, Jerry Wilinski, Shawn Kilgore and Benji LaCrosse finished second through fifth, respectively.

Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten scored a clean sweep of the IMCA stock car class, winning his heat and the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature, his first of the year. Van Straten nipped Jesse Colwell at the line for second. Junior Karcz, Jamie Colwell and Ben Kroll placed third through fifth, respectively.

In the IMCA hobby stock car main, a five car pileup involving division points leader De Grave drew a yellow and forced De Grave to go to the tail of the field. When racing resumed Boulanger, who came up just shy of winning a week ago, assumed the lead with Jarrod Van Lannen and Tom Brumlic in tow.

Boulanger and Van Lannen rubbed fenders up until the final lap but Boulanger hung on for his first ever feature win. Van Lannen settled for second, followed by Brumlic, Chad Kaminski and Keith Kickbush.

Wausau’s Marcus Yarie didn’t let a missing left rear spring stop him from winning the 18 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature, his first ever at the track. Yarie grabbed the lead as the white flag was displayed, muscling his way inside of leader JJ Andersen to take the lead and the win. An earlier heat win netted Yarie a sweep for the evening.

During the INEX Legends feature Eric Meyer and Kevin Brill each barrel rolled their mounts several times in turn one. Both drivers emerged unhurt but the cars sustained damage. Sauk City’s Eric Barth swept the division, winning both his heat and the 20 lap feature.

Next week June 5 and 6 Luxemburg Speedway will host it’s fourth annual IMCA Badger State Showdown presented by
CZ’s Bushville Lanes and Sloan and Associates Realtors. More than $30,000 in prize money will be doled out during the
two day show, which will be the richest paying IMCA sanctioned event in Wisconsin’s history.

For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station

10 lap semi features – 1st) Dave Zeitler,Green Bay; Jason Czarapata,Pulaski;
2nd) Sean Jerovetz,Suamico; Scott Boyea, Abrams

10 lap heats 1)RM VanPay, Denmark; Eddie Muenster
2) Eric Mullen, Seymour; Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers
3)Art Siefert, Green Bay; Wilinski
4)Mike Mullen, Seymour; Kilgore

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Troy Muench, New Franken

12 lap semi features – 1) Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf
2) Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Derrick Bruechert,Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski; Darren Otto, Pulaski
2) Van Straten; John Heinz, Green Bay
3) Tony Bouche, Algoma; Jamie Colwell
4) David Bouche, Algoma; Cory Cochart, Kewaunee

18 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Marcus Yarie, Wausau; JJ Andersen, Pulaski;Tim Jorgensen, De Pere; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Eric Arneson, Coleman; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano

12 lap semi feature – 1) Jorgensen; Wassenberg

10 lap heats 1) Chad Guyette,Black Creek; Jerovetz
2) Travis Cain, Oconto; Dave Davister, Luxemburg;
3) Yarie; Adam White, Oconto Falls

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Jarrod Van Lannen, New Franken; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; George Paul, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Frank Paul, Kewaunee;
2) Boulanger; Robby Waechter, Ellisville

INEX Legends 20 lap feature- Eric Barth, Sauk City; Joe Johnson, Slinger; Greg Hartlaub, Sheboygan
Falls; Ric Mattie, Franksville; Robert Lever, Pulaski; Tom Hunter, Tomahawk

10 lap heats 1) Barth; Brad Weber, Juneau
2) Brian Peterson, Mukwaunago; Johnson

Previous Post: Hedrick Hustles to Luxemburg Mod Victory!

Next Post: Point Leader Brian Mullen Wins Luxemburg Speedway IMCA Mod Main!