Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Captures IMCA Modified Badger State Showdown!

Posted under Race Reports on July 4th, 2008


By Joe and Jordan Verdegan

July 4, 2008; Luxemburg, WI. — Hometown driver Benji LaCrosse led wire-to-wire and went on to win the caution
free, $2,000, 30 lap IMCA modified feature during night two of the Badger State Showdown at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

A total of 127 drivers signed in, including 36 IMCA Modifieds, 40 Stock Cars, 29 northern sport mods and 22 hobby stocks.

LaCrosse jumped into the early lead from his front row starting spot and wasted little time distancing himself from the field. Mike Wedelstadt and Brian Mullen dueled for second for several laps before Wedelstadt took over second on lap 9 and began slowly reeling in LaCrosse. The former track and national IMCA modified champion carefully picked his way through lapped cars for the balance of the contest and went on to win. Trailing at the checkers were Wedelstadt, Julie McDermid, Brian Mullen and Mike Mullen.

Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert collected the 25 lap IMCA stock car feature win. Bruechert also won his heat, netting a sweep for the night.

Casco’s Matt Junio and Bruechert pulled away from the pack in the early going in the 25 lap IMCA stock car main, with Junio’s racer hugging the inner groove and Bruechert preferring the top side. A lap nine yellow bunched up the field, with Bruechert taking the over on the restart.

Greeleaf’s Jesse Colwell worked his way up to second, and began mounting a stiff challenge to Bruechert in the final laps. Bruechert held on for the win, followed by Colwell, Travis Van Straten, Matt Junio and Shawn Havel.

Suamico’s Adam White ducked underneath Travis Cain on the final lap to win the 22 lap IMCA northern sportmod

Current points leader Tim Jorgensen and fellow front row starter Cain traded for the lead during the first three laps with Jorgensen taking the lead for good on lap four. The defending track champion from De Pere began putting distance between himself and the rest of the pack.

By lap eleven Cain and Marcus Yarie had chased Jorgensen back down, and a three car scrum ensured for the lead. Cain worked the bottom while Jorgensen stayed on top. Cain regained the lead on lap 14. On lap sixteen a caution flew for a Rob Charapata spin, which tightened the field. A six lap dash for the finish followed on the restart with Cain kept the top spot. White took second with three laps remaining and pressured Cain for the lead.

White snuck underneath Cain as the white flag was displayed and hung on for the $800 win. Cain hung on for second, followed by Yarie, Jorgensen and Jeff Vlies.

Casco’s Marcus Moede swept action in the IMCA hobby stock division, capturing his heat and winning the 22 lap feature.

Moede passed points leader Dave De Grave for the lead on lap four. A lap 16 caution halted the race. On the restart Moede picked up where he left off and cruised to victory. Trailing at the checkers were De Grave, Christensen, Tom Brumlic and Chad Kaminski.

Racing resumes next Friday night July 11 beginning at 7 p.m. Victory Signs of Suamico sponsors the nights racing, which will include trailer rasces at the conclusion of the regular racing program. There will be no racing, Friday, July 18

due to the Kewaunee County Fair. For more information call 920 863 8446.

The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is

30 lap IMCA modified feature – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Julie McDermid, Oconto Falls; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; RM Van Pay, Green Bay; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma; Eric Mullen, Seymour

12 lap semi features – 1) Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Todd Dart,
Algoma 2) Dave Werbelow, Shawano; Jay Matthias, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Jacobs; McDermid
2) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Wilinski
3) LaCrosse; Brian Mullen
4) Eric Mullen; Kilgore

25 lap IMCA stock car feature – Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Matt Junio, Casco; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Ben Kroll, New Franken

12 lap semi features – 1) John Mahlberg, Hilbert; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg
2)Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Pat Davister, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Dustin Loberger, Oconto; Jesse Cowell
2)Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Dave Bouche, Algoma;
3) Bruechert; VanStraten
4) Matt Junio, Casco; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg

22 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Adam White, Suamico; Travis Cain, Oconto; Marcus Yarie, Wausau; Tim Jorgensen, De Pere; Jeff Vlies, Algoma; Eric Arneson, Coleman

12 lap semi feature – 1) Johnny Whitman, DePere; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken

10 lap heats 1) Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Scott Stewart, Oconto Falls
2) White; Vlies
3) Jorgensen; Cain

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Marcus Moede, Casco; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Chris Christensen, Sturgeon Bay; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Jarred Van Lannen, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1)Moede; Kaminski
2) Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Brumlic
3) Christensen; John Hill, Sturgeon Bay

Previous Post: Brian Mullen Captures Luxemburg Badger State Showdown Night One Main!

Next Post: Jared Siefert Scores Luxemburg Mod Main!