Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on August 28th, 2008


By Chris Budzban

August 29, 2008; Luxemburg, WI – Luxemburg’s Benji LaCrosse put an exclamation point on his torrid second half of the season, as he picked up his 4th IMCA modified feature win in the final 5 weeks at the Luxemburg Speedway.

Algoma’s James Lee Tebon led the opening laps of the modified feature, with LaCrosse dicing his way toward the front. LaCrosse’s attempt at an outside pass was thwarted by a Tom Stark spin, bunching up the field. As racing resumed, Dan Gracyalny looked to the outside of Tebon but was unable to make it stick up top. LaCrosse got back into the outside groove and swooped around Tebon for the lead. Shawn Kilgore got by on the inside of Tebon, but LaCrosse went unchallenged on his way to victory. Kilgore finished second, Jerry Wilinski third, Tebon fourth and R.M. Van Pay fifth.

Brian Mullen walked away with the IMCA modified track championship, his 1st at the track since 2003.

Luxemburg’s Dave Budzban shot off from his front row starting spot to lead early in the IMCA stock car feature. A lap 5 caution bunched up the field, with Budzban running the high line around the race track and Travis VanStraten down low. Budzban and VanStraten ran side by side for a few laps, with Jesse and Jamie Colwell hot on their heels. VanStraten took over the lead and Jamie Colwell looked for an opening on the inside. Contact was made, allowing Jesse Colwell to slide under everyone for the lead. Jesse Colwell secured the lead and rode the bottom groove to victory. Jamie Colwell would finish second, followed by VanStraten, Budzban and Dave Bouche.

Not only did Jesse Colwell win the feature, he was also crowned the 2008 track champion in the IMCA stock car division.

The IMCA northern sport mods took to the track with a tight points battle being the focus of the race. Green Bay’s Aaron Holiday led early, but Keith Kickbusch would battle on the inside to overtake the lead. Kickbusch would not hold the lead long, as rookie driver Brad Lautenbach made a strong move on the outside for the lead. Points leader Tracy Wassenberg would get caught up in a wreck, sending him to the back of the field. Wassenberg gave it his best to dash through the field, but came up short in the end. Lautenbach went on to win the feature, followed by Tim Jorgenson, Travis Cain, Kickbusch and Holiday.

With his 2nd place finish, Jorgenson was crowned the IMCA sport mod champion in back-to-back seasons.

Carlsville’s Chris Christensen set the pace in the IMCA hobby stock division, with Aaron Zellner pressuring to his outside. Marcus Moede lurked in the 3rd position, and made his move to the inside of Christensen. Moede made the pass work, but Dave DeGrave followed right behind. DeGrave would give chase, but Moede hung on for his 3rd feature win at Luxemburg. DeGrave finished second, followed by Christensen, Zellner and Tom Brumlic.

DeGrave’s 2nd place finish netted him his 1st career track championship at the Luxemburg Speedway in the IMCA hobby stocks.

Points were tight also in the sport four feature, as Jason Cornelius and Jacob Wilcox did battle right to the end. Cornelius and Wilcox ran side by side for the majority of the race, with Cornelius coming home with the feature win.

For Cornelius, he captured his 1st career track championship in the sport four division.

The staff at Luxemburg Speedway would like to thank all the drivers, fans and sponsors for a great 2008 racing season. On Friday and Saturday September 12 and 13 will be Luxemburg Speedway’s 5th annual Fall Classic special featuring the IMCA modifieds, stock cars, hobby stocks, sport mods, street stocks, eastern 8s, sport fours and grand nationals. The event will be a draw/redraw event and is sponsored by Augie’s Sports Bar and Grill. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m. on Friday and 4:30 p.m. on Saturday. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is


25 LAP IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Jerry Wilinski, Green Bay; James Lee Tebon, Algoma; R.M. Van Pay, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Tebon; Van Pay
Heat 2 – LaCrosse; Art Siefert, Green Bay
Heat 3 – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Jay Matthias, DePere

22 LAP IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Travis VanStraten, Hortonville; Dave Budzban, Luxemburg; Dave Bouche, Algoma

Semi-feature – Robert Waechter, Ellisville; Tony Bouche, Algoma

Heat 1 – Jesse Colwell; Pat Davister, Luxemburg
Heat 2 – Jamie Colwell; Doug Kropp, Green Bay
Heat 3 – Dave Bouche; Rick Dix, Green Bay
Heat 4 – Budzban; VanStraten

20 LAP IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Tim Jorgenson, DePere; Travis Cain, Oconto; Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Lautenbach; Holiday
Heat 2 – Cain; Jeff DuBois, Luxemburg

18 LAP IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Chris Christensen, Carlsville; Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg; Tom Brumlic, Denmark

Heat 1 – Tyler Wilson, Sobiski; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg
Heat 2 – Christensen; DeGrave

16 LAP SPORT FOUR FEATURE – Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Jacob Wilcox, Pulaski; Ralph Liegeois Jr., Spring Valley; Jeff Behm, Clintonville; Tony Everard, Green Bay

Heat 1 – Liegeois; Cornelius
Heat 2 – Kendall Odekirk, New Holstein; Mike Prey, Oconto

Previous Post: Siefert Snaps LaCrosse’s Win Streak at Luxemburg!