Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mod Opener!

Posted under Race Reports on April 18th, 2008

By Joe Verdegan

April 18, 2008; Luxemburg, WI. — Former track champion Benji LaCrosse of Luxemburg passed Dave Zeitler of Luxemburg with ten laps to go to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature on opening night at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. LaCrosse also won his heat, sweeping the division for the evening.

A total of 123 cars checked in to battle on opening night, including 35 IMCA modifieds, 31 stock cars, 24 northern sportmods, 17 hobby stocks and 16 sport fours.

With just one lap in the books Todd Dart spun, collecting defending track champion Jared Siefert in the process. Both drivers were done for the night.

On the restart Zeitler maintained the lead with three former track champions LaCrosse, RM Van Pay and Brian Mullen hot on his heels. LaCrosse reeled in Zeitler by lap four. Mullen joined the fray a few laps later the the trio played out a three car scrum for the lead.

The three ran nose-to-tail for the next several laps as LaCrosse dove underneath Zeitler and the hometown drivers ran side-by-side. The pair swapped the lead for the final ten laps with LaCrosse down low and Zeitler running up high. LaCrosse secured the lead on lap 19 and slowly pulled away to capture the main event. Zeitler finished second, followed
by Mullen, Mike Mashl and Mike Mullen.

Greenleaf’s Jesse Colwell took advantage of leader Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten’s misfortune inheriting the lead on lap 11 and went on to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Polesitter Troy Muench paced the opening four circuits before surrendering the lead to Van Straten on lap five. A lap eight caution flew when Junior Karcz racer stalled in turn two. On the restart Van Straten’s racer broke, handing the lead to Jesse Colwell. Colwell kept a steady pace and went on to win. John Heinz, Muench, Bob Waechter and Ben Kroll finished second through fifth, respectively.

Defending IMCA northern sportmod champion Tim Jorgensen opened his title defense in convincing fashion by winning the 20 lap feature. Jorgensen won his heat, scoring a sweep for the evening.

The race featured four different leaders during the contest, with Jorgensen taking the lead on lap 16. A caution for Marcus Yarie’s stalled mount flew on lap 17, setting up a three lap dash to the checkers. On the restart Jorgensen kept all challengers at bay to claim the win. Trailing at the checkers were Travis Cain, Adam White, and Eric Arneson.

Defending IMCA hobby stock state champion Dave De Grave of Luxemburg fought off a fierce, late race challenge by defending champion Jesse Kanas of Lomira to win the 18 lap feature.

Kanas settled for runnerup money, followed by Tom Brumlic, Marcus Moede and Jason LaViolette. Spring Valley’s Ralph Legois captured the 12 lap sport four feature.

Racing resumes next Friday night beginning at 7 p.m.

The track phone is 920 845 2300. The track website is

Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 in Luxemburg.
25 LAP IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Mike Mashl, De Pere; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Chad Wilcox, Pulaski

12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES 1) Russ Reinwald, Juneau; Scott Boyea, Abrams
2) Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Scott Mullen, Seymour

10 LAP HEATS 1) LaCrosse; RM Van Pay, Denmark
2) Brian Mullen;Todd Dart, Algoma
3) Brian Joski, Luxemburg; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico
4) Jared Siefert,Green Bay; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station

22 LAP IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; John Heinz, Green Bay; Troy Muench, New Franken; Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Ben Kroll, Luxemburg

12 LAP SEMI-FEATURES – 1st) Shawn Havel, Brussels; Dave Bouche, Algoma
2nd) Kraig Gretz, Kewaunee; Pat Davister, Luxemburg

10 LAP HEATS 1) Kerry Havlovetz, Maribel; Charlie Kroll, Forestville
2) Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Ben Kroll
3) Heinz; Jesse Colwell

18 LAP HOBBY STOCK FEATURE – Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Jesse Kanas, Lomira; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Marcus Moede, Casco; Jason LaViolette, Green Bay

10 LAP HEATS 1) Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Dean Anhalt, Mishicot
2) Brumlic; De Grave

15 LAP NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE – Tim Jorgensen, De Pere; Travis Cain, Oconto; Adam White, Oconto Falls; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Eric Arneson, Coleman

12 LAP SEMI FEATURE – Chad Guyette, Black Creek; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano

10 LAP HEATS 1) Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee; Marcus Yarie, Wausau
2) Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Cain
3) Jorgensen; Fred Davister, Luxemburg

15 LAP SPORT FOUR FEATURE – Ralph Legois, Spring Valley; Matt Frisch, Oconto; Jacob Wilcox, Pulaski; Kevin Birr, Krakow; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee

8 LAP HEATS 1) Legois; Josh Vogel, Oconto
2) Brad Williquette, Suamico; Phil Martzahl, Freedom

Previous Post: Welsing Dominates Luxemburg Enduro!

Next Post: Veteran Zeitler Sweeps Luxemburg IMCA Mods!