Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Point Leader Brian Mullen Wins Luxemburg Speedway IMCA Mod Main!

Posted under Race Reports on June 27th, 2008


By Jordan Verdegan

June 27, 2008; Luxemburg, WI. — Current points leader Brian Mullen of Seymour grabbed the lead on a lap 11 restart
and survived four caution periods to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.
Mullen collected $1,100 for his win, thanks to sponsors Robinson Metals and Badgerland Concrete.
A total of 125 cars showed up, including 37 IMCA modifieds, 33 stock cars, 24 northern sportmods
17 hobby stocks and 14 sport fours.

Mullen started 11th in the field, as front row sitter Billy LeMieux took the lead at the drop of the green. Mullen scooted through traffic quickly, moving to second by lap seven as former track champion RM Van
Pay drove around LeMieux for the lead on lap five.

Mullen kept his racer glued to the lower groove on a lap 11 restart to take the lead away from Van Pay. Mullen kept all challengers at bay to capture the win. Benji LaCrosse, who was forced to start 19th after battling his way into the main through a semi-feature, wound up second. Horicon’s Russ Reinwald posted his best performance of the year with a third. LeMieux and Jeremy Jacobs took fourth and fifth, respectively.

Algoma’s Dave Bouche led wire-to-wire and survived late race pressure from defending track champion Jamie Colwell of Greenleaf to win the caution free, 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Bouche also won his heat sweeping the division for the night.

Bouche jumped from his second row starting spot on the first circuit and fought off an early race surge from Greg Gretz, Mike Pierrard and his Uncle Tony Bouche. Tony Bouche dropped out the chase with two flat tires on lap six. Meanwhile Jamie Colwell, slowly sliced his way through the field, from his 12th starting spot into third by lap 12.

On lap 19 Jamie Colwell ran alongside Dave Bouche in the top groove, pulling door-to-door nearly the whole way. Bouche mustered up enough of a push on the final lap to nail the win, his first of the season here. Jamie Cowell settled for second, followed by Greg Gretz, Ben Kroll and Troy Muench.

De Pere’s Tim Jorgensen passed Aaron Holiday for the lead on lap 5 and held the top spot to win his second, 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature of the season.

The defending track champion started in row six and made quick work getting to the front, sneaking up to third in three short laps. Jorgensen sifted his way through lapped cars en route to the win. Trailing at the checkers were Marcus Yarie, Travis Cain, Tracy Wassenberg and Adam White.

Casco’s Marcus Moede passed Luxemburg’s Aaron Zellner for the lead on lap one and fended off a stiff challenge from hometown driver Chad Kaminski throughout the contest to win his first, 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature of the season. Moede raced his backup car to victory. Trailing at the checker were Kaminski, Dave De Grave, rookie Luke Lemmens and Jarred Van Lannen.

Clintonville’s Jeff Behm won the 15 lap sport four feature.

Next Thursday and Friday July 3 and July 4 the fourth annual Badger State Showdown will take place.

More than $30,000 in prize money will be doled out in IMCA modifieds, stock cars, northern sportmods and hobby stocks. The show is the richest paying IMCA sanctioned event in Wisconsin history.

For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is920 845 2300. The track’s website is

25 lap IMCA modified feature – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Russ Reinwald, Horicon; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma; Todd Dart, Algoma

12 lap semi features – 1) Scott Mullen, Seymour; LaCrosse
2) Eddie Muenster,Green Bay; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Todd Dart, Algoma
2) Billy LeMieux,Sturgeon Bay; Brian Mullen
3) R.M.VanPay, Green Bay; Danny Gracyalny, Kaukauna
4) Art Siefert, Green Bay; Tim Czarneski, Denmark

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Dave Bouche, Algoma; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee;
Ben Kroll, New Franken; Troy Muench, New Franken; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf

12 lap semi features – 1) Matt Junio,Casco; Pat Davister, Luxemburg
2) Jesse Cowell; Shawn Havel, Brussels

10 lap heats 1) Dave Bouche; Dave Budzban, Luxemburg;
2) Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski
3) Larry Karcz, Pulaski; Jamie Colwell;
4) Greg Gretz; Charlie Kroll, Forestville

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Tim Jorgensen, De Pere; Marcus Yarie, Wausau; Travis
Cain, Oconto; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Adam White, Suamico; Jeff Vlies, Algoma

12 lap semi feature – Jesse Kroll, Forestville; Brian Lautenbach, New Franken

10 lap heats 1) White; Tracy Wassenberg
2) Yarie; Jorgensen, De Pere
3) Bernie Reinhardt, Sturgeon Bay; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Marcus Moede, Casco; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Dave De Grave,
Luxemburg; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Jarred Van Lannen, Green Bay; Tyler Wilson, Sobieski

10 lap heats 1)Marcus Moede,Casco; Tyler Wilson, Sobieski;
2) DeGrave; Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg

18 lap sport four feature – Jeff Behm, Clintonville; Phil Martzahl, Freedom; Matt Frisch, Green Bay;
Tony Everard, Green Bay; Tailor Ness, Abrams; Jody Cornelius, Oneida

8 lap heats 1)Frisch; Brad Williquette, Suamico
2) Martzahl; Behm

Previous Post: Eddie Muenster Ends Luxemburg Drought with IMCA Mod Feature Win!

Next Post: Brian Mullen Captures Luxemburg Badger State Showdown Night One Main!