Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on May 8th, 2009


(Luxemburg, WI) May 8 2009 – Seymour’s Brian Mullen scampered past Green Bay’s Benji LaCrosse with two laps remaining to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. A total of 134 cars were on hand, including 32 IMCA modifieds, 36 IMCA stock cars, 28 IMCA northern sportmods, 22 IMCA hobby stocks and 16 sport fours.

Kaukauna’s Shawn Frelich led the opening laps of the IMCA mod main, sprinting from his pole position. LaCrosse, who started 10th,weaved his way into second by lap three and motored around Frelich for the lead on lap four. Mullen, the defending track champion scooted from his 12th starting spot and followed LaCrosse into second.

The pair broke away from the field and ran nose-to-tail for the next several laps. The duo caught up with lapped traffic by lay 15, with Mullen glued to LaCrosse’s rear bumper. Mullen pulled door-to-door with LaCrosse on lap 15, but LaCrosse shut the door. Mullen went around LaCrosse on lap eighteen but a Jared Siefert spin drew a yellow and thwarted Mullen’s lead as the scoring went back to the last completed lap, handing LaCrosse the lead on the restart.

Facing a seven lap shootout to the finish Shawn Kilgore, running third, took to the high side, joined the fray, setting up a three car duel to the finish. Mullen tried the outside in the final laps, making his car stick and taking the lead. Mullen hung on for the win, followed by LaCrosse, Kilgore, Eddie Muenster and Jeremy Jacobs.

Brian Bruechert of Kewaunee won the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Polesitter Mike Pierrard of Green Bay grabbed the lead at the drop of the green with Bruechert running the high side in second. Pierrard kept his racer glued to the bottom, while Bruechert pulled alongside Pierrard several times during the first 15 laps. Bruechert slipped past Pierrard on lap 15 for the lead. A Ben Kroll spin one lap later tightened the field.

When racing resumed Bruechert kept Pierrard and company at bay for the duration to collect the win, his first of the year. Trailing Bruechert at the line were Pierrard, Rod Snellenberger, John Heinz and Barry Van Straten.

Kewaunee’s Jeff Vlies passed Adam White for the lead on the first lap and fended off veteran Eugene Gregorich in the closing laps to win the 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. Vlies won his neat, netting a clean sweep. Gregorich settled for second, followed by Adam White, Eric Arneson and Johnny Whitman.

Sobieski’s Tyler Wilson fought off Frank Paul of Kewaunee all race long and dodged six caution periods to win his first career 14 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Wilson also captured his heat race, sweeping the division. Paul settled for second, followed by Tom Brumlic, Chad Kaminski and John Hill. Ralph Legois Jr. of Oconto won the 15 lap sport four feature.

Manitowoc Motor Machining and Parts will sponsor Church Night at the races next Friday night. Racing begins at 7 p.m.. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is



25 lap IMCA modified feature – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Lance Arneson, Krakow

12 lap semi features – 1) Kyle Lentz, Green Bay; Jay Matthias, Luxemburg 2) Scott Boyea, Abrams; Paul Thorpe, New London

10 lap heats 1) Dan Gracyalny,Greenville; LaCrosse 2) Todd Dart, Algoma; Jared Siefert, Green Bay 3) Jacobs; Brian Mullen 4) Dan Rataczjak, Frog Station; Eddie Muenster

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; John Heinz, Green Bay; Barry Van Straten, Shiocton; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf

12 lap semi features – 1) Troy Muench, New Franken; Shawn Havel, Brussels 2) Matt Junio,Casco; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Bruechert; VanStraten 2) Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Pierrard 3) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Jamie Suchocki, Denmark 4) Snellenberger; Dave Bouche, Algoma

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Jeff Vlies, Brussels; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Adam White, Suamico; Eric Arneson, Coleman; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville

10 lap semi-feature -1) Jeremy Cota, Oconto; Rob Charapata, Oconto

10 lap heats 1) Vlies; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay 2) Josh Long, Green Bay; Travis Cain, Oconto 3) Troy DeGrave, Luxemburg; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Tyler Wilson, Sobieski; Frank Paul, Kewaunee; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; John Hill, Sturgeon Bay; Marcus Moede, Casco

10 lap heats 1) Wilson; Robbie Waechter, Luxemburg 2) Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Jarred VanLannen, Green Bay

15 lap sport four feature – Ralph Legois, Oconto; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Tyler DeBouche, Suamico; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Cody Hudson, Pulaski; Josh Vogel, Pulaski

8 lap heats 1) DeBouche; Sam Ambrosius; Pulaski 2) Hudson; Legois