Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on June 6th, 2009


by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) June 5 – Defending IMCA modified champion Brian Mullen of Seymour started 16th, marched through the field and executed a three wide pass on leader Sean Jerovetz with two laps to go to win a thrilling, 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

Mullen’s win came after he was involved in a major wreck in a heat race, in which his machine sustained heavy damage to the rear end of the car. “The crew and everyone pretty much rebuilt the rear end of the car after we wrecked in that heat race,” said Mullen. Mullen had the qualify for the feature by winning the semi feature.

A total of 123 cars were on hand, including 30 IMCA modifieds, 29 stock cars, 29 northern sportmods, 19 hobby stocks, and 16 sport fours.

Shiocton’s Chad Bartel shot into the lead from his pole position at the start of the IMCA modified feature. Bartel pulled away from the pack with Sean Jerovetz hot on his heels. A lap 13 caution flew when Jeremy Jacobs and Shawn Kilgore collided on the fronstretch. When racing resumed Jerovetz assumed the lead, with Benji LaCrosse quickly moving from fifth to third, wrestling second away from Bartel one lap later.

With 10 laps remaining, LaCrosse went to work chasing down Jerovetz. The former track champion caught up with Jerovetz with five laps to go, with RM Van Pay and Mullen joining the chase in the final three laps. With two laps remaining LaCrosse snuck under Jerovetz, while Mullen went three wide outside, and sped away to a popular victory. Jerovetz took second, followed by LaCrosse, RM Van Pay and Dave Zeitler.

Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten snuck past Green Bay’s Aaron Holiday with five laps remaining to win his third, 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature of the season here. Holiday sprinted from his pole position into the lead at the drop of the green. Holiday quickly distanced himself from the field in short order, boasting a five car length lead by lap 10.

Holiday appeared well on his way to victory until lap 15, when a Johnny Whitman spin bunched up the field. With a five lap dash to the finish, Van Straten blasted into the lead on the restart, and winding up with his third feature flag of the season. Defending track champion Tim Jorgenson stormed through the field from his 16th starting spot to nab second at the line from Holiday, who took third. Troy Jerovetz and Eric Arneson placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

Jesse Colwell motored passed Doug Kropp of Green Bay for the lead on lap six and kept all challengers at bay to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature trailing Colwell at the checkers were Troy Muench, who sliced his way through the field through the pack from 15th to place second. Gillett’s Kyle Frederick, New Franken’s Ben Kroll and Kropp placed third through fifth, respectively.

Denmark’s Tom Brumlic traded paint with Sturgeon Bay’s Chris Christensen in the final laps and wound up nudging past Christensen at the finish line to collect the photo finish win in the IMCA hobby stock 18 lap feature. Christensen settled for second, followed by Robby Waechter, Brandon Peterson, and Chad Kaminski.

Tyler DeBouche of Little Suamico won the 15 lap sport four feature.

Racing resumes next Friday night June 12 at 7 p.m with Venture One Stop and McDonald’s sponsoring the night’s events, which will include a Kid’s coin toss at intermission. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is



25 lap IMCA modified feature – Brian Mullen, Seymour; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Todd Dart, Algoma

12 lap semi features – 1) Brian Mullen; James Tebon, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) VanPay; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee 2) Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Mike Mullen, Seymour 3) Zeitler; Jerovetz

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Troy Muench, New Franken; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Doug Kropp, Green Bay; Shawn Havel, Brussels

12 lap semi feature – Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Havel

10 lap heats 1) Kropp; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee 2) Kroll; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg 3) Jesse Colwell; Marty Abshire, Waukesha

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Tim Jorgenson, Seymour; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Greg Wichman, Bonduel

12 lap semi-feature -Jorgenson; Travis Cain, Oconto

10 lap heats 1) Holiday, Green Bay; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville 2) Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Brandon Long, Suamico 3) Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Arneson

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Chris Christensen, Sturgeon Bay; Robby Waechter, Ellisville; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; John Hill, Sturgeon Bay

10 lap heats 1) Christensen; Peterson 2) Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Waechter

15 lap sport four feature – Tyler DeBouche, Little Suamico; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Ralph Legois, Oconto: Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Jessi Ness, Abrams; Jeff Behm, Clintonville

8 lap heats 1) Behm; Johnson,2) Josh Vogel, Green Bay; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski