Race Reports



by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) May 15 – Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert won his second straight, 22 lap IMCA stock car feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night with a thrilling, final lap pass of Green Bay’s John Heinz

Like Bruechert, Jared Van Laanen swept action in the IMCA hobby stock division. Defending track champion Tim Jorgensen of De Pere won his second, 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature.

The IMCA modified and sport four features were rained out.

A total of 134 cars were on hand, including 34 IMCA modifieds, 38 IMCA stock cars, 28 IMCA northern sportmods, 18 IMCA hobby stocks and 16 sport fours.

The IMCA stock car feature went green-to-checkered without a yellow, as a light mist picked up steam as the final laps wound down.

Heinz passed Bruechert for the lead on lap 16. Bruechert stayed within striking distance, and caught up with Heinz on lap 22. Bruechert muscled his way inside of Heinz to regain the lead and held on for the win. Heinz hung on for second, followed by Jesse Colwell, Mike Pierrard and rookie Dave De Grave.

An opening lap pileup in the IMCA northern sportmod sent points leader Eugene Gregorich of Kewaunee to the pits, along with Coleman’s Eric Arneson, who wound up on his roof but otherwise unhurt.

When the race began defending track champion Jorgensen blasted into the lead and never looked back, picking up the win. Jorgensen fought off a late race challenge from last week’s winner Jeff Vlies. Vlies got crossed up with one lap to go and faded fifth. Troy Jerovetz sped into the runnerup spot and claimed second, followed by Brad Lautenbach, who battled his way from the back of the pack after racing his way into the main event through winning a semi feature. Tracy Wassenberg took fourth.

De Grave Media Blasting sponsors next Friday’s racing action, which will feature the first appearance of the year of the street stock division. Racing begins at 7 p.m.. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is www.luxemburgspeedway.com.



25 lap IMCA modified feature – RAINED OUT

12 lap semi features – 1) Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Jared Siefert, Green Bay 2) Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; Dan Gracyalny, Hortonville

10 lap heats 1) R.M. VanPay, Denmark; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont 2) Kyle Kudick, Mishicot; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico 3) Mike Mullen, Seymour; Chris Derenne,Luxemburg 4) Evan Madden, Algoma; Art Siefert, Green Bay

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; John Heinz, Green Bay; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf

12 lap semi features – 1) Dustin Loberger, Pulaski; Rob Waechter, Ellisville 2) Troy Muench, Brussels; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski

10 lap heats 1) Heinz; Tyler Smith, Luxemburg 2) Bruechert; Matt Junio, Luxemburg 3) Pierrard; Ben Kroll, New Franken 4) Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Jesse Colwell

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Tim Jorgensen, De Pere; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Jeff Vlies, Brussels; Chad Nelson, Suamico

10 lap semi-feature -1) Lautenbach; Eric Arneson, Coleman

10 lap heats 1) Wassenberg; Dave Davister, Luxemburg 2) Jerovetz; Rick Kretschmann, Sheboygan Falls 3) Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Jared Van Laanen, Green Bay; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Marcus Moede, Casco; Frank Paul, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Van Laanen; Moede 2) Peterson; Wes Salentine, Luxemburg

15 lap sport four feature – RAINED OUT

8 lap heats 1) Ralph Legois,Oconto; Jeff Behm, Clintonville 2) Brittany King, Appleton; Jessi Ness, Green Bay

Posted under Race Reports on May 15th, 2009