Race Reports



by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) July 10 – Abrams Brian Joski sped past Shiocton’s Chad Bartel for the lead on lap 12 and cruised to victory in the caution free, 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

A total of 109 cars were on hand, including 25 IMCA modifieds, 26 IMCA stock cars, 22 IMCA northern sportmods, 19 IMCA hobby stocks and 17 sport fours.

Bartel inherited the lead when polesitter Dean Maurer dropped off on lap two. Bartel and Joski ran nose-to-tail for the next several laps before ducking underneath Bartel for the lead on lap 12. Joski kept all foes at bay to collect his first feature flag of the season.

Algoma’s James Lee Tebon of Algoma posted his finest performance of the season, nipping defending track champion Brian Mullen at the line to take second. Shawn Kilgore and Jared Siefert placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert drover around Luxemburg’s Eric Malfroid for the lead on lap four and went on to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Malfroid paced the opening three circuits of the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature before Bruechert wrestled the lead away on lap four. A caution flew one circuit later for a Shawn Wagner spin.

When racing resumed Bruechert took off quickly, building a full straightaway lead in the next ten laps. New Franken’s Ben Kroll broke through mid pack into second and mounted a late race charge to chase Bruechert down. But it was a futile effort as Bruechert carefully skipped his way through lapped cars to collect his third feature flag here of the season.

Kroll hung on for second, followed by Jerry Leary, points leader Jesse Colwell and Troy Muench.

Kewaunee veterean Eugene Gregorich outdueled Shawano’s Tracy Wassenberg to the line to capture the 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature.

The race appeared to be well in the hands of Green Bay’s Josh Long. The second year driver led a bulk of the contest, but drifted high on lap 14, allowing Gregorich to seize the moment and take the lead. Bonduel’s Greg Wichman took third, followed by Long and Johnny Whitman.

Denmark’s Tom Brumlic won the 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature, after race leader Scott Boulanger looped his mount on the final lap. Luke Lemmens, Jared Van Lannen, Keith Kickbush and Chad Kaminski rounded out the top five.

Clintonville’s Jeff Behm swept action in the sport four class, winning both the heat and the 15 lap sport four feature.

The Trailer Races of Destruction sponsored by Victory Signs of Suamico will accompany the regular program next Friday night at 7 p.m.. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is www.luxemburgspeedway.com.



25 lap IMCA modified feature – Brian Joski, Abrams; James Tebon, Algoma; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Chad Bartel, Shiocton

12 lap semi features – 1) Art Siefert, Green Bay; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Tebon ; Bartel 2) RM Van Pay, Denmark; Dave Zeitler, Green Bay 3) Dean Maurer, DePere; Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Jerry Leary, Suamico; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Troy Muench, New Franken; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg

12 lap semi feature – Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Matt Junio, Casco

10 lap heats 1) Leary; Bruechert 2) Jesse Colwell; Pat Davister, Luxemburg 3) Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Greg Wichman, Bonduel; Josh Long, Green Bay; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Chad Nelson, Suamico

10 lap heats 1) Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 2) Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Steve Pavlik,Green Bay 3) Wassenberg; Josh Long

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Jared Van Lannen, Green Bay; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; John Hill, Sturgeon Bay

10 lap heats 1) Lemmens; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2) Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Van Lannen

15 lap sport four feature – Jeff Behm, Clintonville; Tyler De Bouche, Suamico; Jessi Ness, Abrams; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Josh Vogel, Green Bay; Wesley Simoens, Green Bay

8 lap heats 1) Behm; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski 2) Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Ralph Legois, Oconto

Posted under Race Reports on July 10th, 2009