Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on August 1st, 2009


by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) July 31- Kewaunee’s Shawn Kilgore took the lead on a lap 13 restart and cruised to victory in the caution filled, time shortened, 21 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The victory was Kilgore’s third here of the season.

A total of 117 cars checked in, including 27 IMCA modifieds, 29 stock cars, 24 northern sportmods, hobby stocks and 17 sport fours.

Luxemburg’s Chris Derenne paced the opening three laps of the IMCA modified feature before Dave Fisher looped his mount in turn four on lap three, drawing an amber. When racing resumed Two Rivers’ Kyle Kudick wrestled the lead away from Derenne. On lap four
the race was red flagged when Green Bay drivers Benji LaCrosse and Eddie Muenster locked horns while battling on the backstretch. LaCrosse ended up flipping onto his roof.

LaCrosse was unhurt but his car sustained heavy damage. When racing resumed Kudick kept the lead for just one more lap when another three car pileup involving Kilgore, Mike Mullen and Eric Van Iten. On the restart Kudick quickly built up a five car length
lead over the field. With Art Siefert running second, Brian Mullen, who started 17th on the field after winning the semi feature, charged into fourth by lap 10, when Mike Mullen suffered a flat tire and spun on lap 10.

On the restart Kilgore motored by Siefert into second, with Brian Mullen in tow. The engine in Mullen’s racer grenade on lap 13, ending the night for the points leader. When racing resumed after the fifth yellow Kilgore charged into the lead. Kilgore kept the lead and wound up winning his third main of the year. James Lee Tebon of Algoma, who started 20th, sliced his way through the field to post his second runnerup finish here of the season. Kudick took third, followed by Green Bay drivers Kyle Lentz and Art Siefert.

Abrams Jerry Leary nursed a smoking engine and held off a fast closing Jamie Colwell of Greenleaf in the closing laps to win his first career, 22 lap IMCA stock car feature in a caution free contest. Leary also won his heat, netting a sweep for the evening.

Green Bay’s Rick Dix jumped into the lead from his pole position and held the top spot until Leary passed him on lap three. Leary built his lead to nearly a full straightaway by lap 10. With five laps to go Leary’s racer began smoking, with Colwell closing in on Leary. As the white flag was displayed Colwell was glued to Leary’s rear bumper. Leary’s fended off the former track champion for his first career stock car win. Jamie Colwell took second, followed by Jesse Colwell, Shawn Havel and Brian Bruechert.

Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten came out on top of a game of “Survivor”, surviving a brutal caution filled, 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature, his fourth here of the season.

Aaron Holiday outdueled fellow front row starter Rick Kretschmann into the lead at the drop of the green. His lead was just three laps old when Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz tangled with Eugene Gregorich of Kewaunee. While under caution Holiday suffered a flat tire and was forced to pit.

After a pair of aborted restart attempts racing resumed. Van Straten assumed the lead and quickly built up a sizeable cushion over the balance of the field. Another five car pileup on lap 8 slowed action again, as Josh Long, Greg Wichman and Holiday were involved in the melee. When racing resumed Tracy Wassenberg of Shawano Broke through traffic and chased Van Straten down, mounting a late race charge for the lead.

Van Straten hung on to win his fourth feature of the year. Wassenberg took second, followed by Johny Whitman. Gregorich rebounded from the earlier caution to take fourth. Eric Arneson rounded out the top five finishers.

Only 10 cars finished the main event out of the 20 that started the contest.

Luxemburg’s Wes Salentine netted a clean sweep en route to winning his first career IMCA hobby stock feature. Trailing Salentine at the checkers were Chris Christensen, Marcus Moede, Tom Brumlic and points leader Chad Kaminski.

Second generation driver Jessi Ness of Abrams swept action in the sport four class, winning both her heat and the 15 lap feature.

Next Friday night, August 7 will be Luxemburg Legends night presented by Miller beer. Many of the former racers from decades past at the third-mile. Clay oval will honored. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 660 8095. The track’s
website is Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.



25 lap IMCA modified feature — Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; James Lee Tebon, Algoma; Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; Kyle Lentz, Green Bay; Art Siefert, Green Bay; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico

12 lap semi feature — Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Brian Mullen, Seymour

10 lap heats 1) Scott Boyea, Abrams; Dave Fisher, Green Bay 2) Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg 3) Art Siefert; Jared Siefert, Green Bay

22 lap IMCA stock car feature — Jerry Leary, Abrams; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg

12 lap semi feature-Dave Bouche, Algoma; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf

10 lap heats- 1) Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Tyler Smith, Luxemburg 2) Leary; Bruechert 3) Jesse Colwell; Rick Dix, Green Bay

20 Lap IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Troy De Grave, Green Bay

12 lap semi features- Jeremy Cota, Oconto; Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Travis Cain, Oconto; Greg Wichman, Bonduel 2) Troy Jerovetz, Suamico; Whitman 3) Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Wassenberg

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature –Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Chris Christensen, Carlsville; Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Doug Morgan, Mishicot

10 lap heats 1) Salentine; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee 2) Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Christensen

15 lap sport four feature – Jessi Ness, Abrams; Josh Vogel, Green Bay; Jeff Behm, Clintonville; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Jason Cornelius, Oneida

8 lap heats 1) Wes Simoens,Green Bay; Mike Prey, Oconto; 2) Ness; Behm