Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on May 2nd, 2009


(Luxemburg, WI) May 1 – Kewaunee’s Shawn Kilgore passed Sturgeon Bay’s Kevin Sternard on the final lap to win the green-to-checkered 22 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. A total of 138 cars were on hand, including 39 IMCA modifieds, 36 IMCA stock cars, 28 IMCA northern sportmods, 18 IMCA hobby stocks and 17 sport fours.

An opening lap melee took place at the drop of the green, when Algoma’s Evan Madden got crossed up on the frontstretch. A five car pileup ensued, which involved last week’s feature winner Benji LaCrosse, Jerry Muenster, Jeremy Jacobs, Chad Bartel and Kyle Lentz. A lengthly red flag period ensued, which allowed the respective pit crews time to work on their cars. All involved were able to make the call when racing resumed.

When the race was restarted Sean Jerovetz and Kevin Sternard swapped the lead in the early going, with Jerovetz taking the lead over on lap five. Jerovetz, who started on the pole, kept the lead until lap 11, when Sternard and RM Van Pay slipped past. Sternard kept the top spot, as Jerovetz, Van Pay and Shawn Kilgore commenced a three car scrum for second. Kilgore emerged from the battle to take second and began tracking down Sternard. As the white flag was displayed, Kilgore ducked underneath Sternard to grab the lead and the win. Sternard held on for second in his best performance here in a modified. Van Pay, Mike Wedelstadt and Jared Siefert rounded out the top five finishers.

Jamie Colwell of Greenleaf won the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. Pulaski’s Dustin Loberger and Shiocton’s Barry Van Straten traded the lead for the first three laps before a caution flew for debris on the track. When racing resumed Jamie Colwell snuck underneath Loberger for the lead with last week’s winner Greg Gretz on his tail. The pair pulled away from the field but the second amber flew on lap eight for a four car pileup in turn four.

On the restart the pair resumed their duel, with Gretz glued to Colwell’s rear bumper. Colwell slowly began pulling away from the field. With four laps remaining Gretz and John Heinz caught up with Colwell. When the checkers flew it was Colwell hanging on for the win. Gretz settled for second, followed by Heinz, Rod Snellenberger, who battled his way into the main event by winning a semi feature, and Junior Karcz.

Defending track champion Tim Jorgensen of De Pere survived several cautions to win the time shortened, 15 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. The yellow flew when race leader Dennis Miesler looped his mount in turn four, drawing a yellow. When racing resumed Jorgensen inherited the lead, with Eugene Gregorich running second. The race was red flagged when Greg Wichman of Bonduel rolled over on the frontstretch. Wichman was unhurt but his car suffered heavy damage. Jorgensen crossed the line first, followed by Eugene Gregorich, Eric Arneson, Tracy Wassenberg, who fought his way into the main by winning the semi feature, and Troy De Grave.

Luxemburg’s Chad Kaminski passed Aaron Zellner of Luxemburg with two laps remaining to win the 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. The race was red flagged on lap 11 when Luke Lemmens tangled with a lapped car, sending his racer into a series of barrel rolls. Lemmens emerged unhurt. The sport four feature was red flagged at the drop of the green when Suamico’s Tyler DeBouche rolled his car in turn two. Oconto Falls’ Brian Johnson won the time shortened 7 lap sport four feature.

CZ’s Cranky Ape Pub will sponsor next Friday’s races, which begin at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is



22 lap IMCA modified feature – Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Kevin Sternard, Sturgeon Bay; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico

12 lap semi features – 1st) Marcus Yarie, Wausau; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; Jay Matthias, De Pere 2nd) Chad Bartel, Shiocton; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay; Todd Dart, Algoma

10 lap heats 1) Jerovetz; Van Pay 2) Mike Mullen, Seymour;

Brian Mullen, Seymour 3) Dean Maurer, De Pere; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg 4) Eddie Muenster; Green Bay; Tim Czarnecki, Denmark

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; John Heinz, Green Bay; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Matt Junio, Casco

12 lap semi features – 1) Snellenberger; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Tyler Smith, Luxemburg 2) Troy Muench, New Franken; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Dave Bouche, Algoma

10 lap heats 1) Junio; Dustin Loberger, Pulaski 2) Heinz; Barry Van Straten, Shiocton 3) Kyle Wanner, Sobieski; Jamie Colwell 4) Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Gretz

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Tim Jorgensen, De Pere; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Eric Arneson, Coleman; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Troy De Grave, De Pere; Dennis Meisler, Luxemburg

10 lap semi-feature – Wassenberg; Chad Nelson, Suamico; Travis Cain, Oconto

10 lap heats 1) Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Miesler 2) Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Jorgensen 3) Johnny Whitmann, De Pere; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Jared Van Laanen, Green Bay; Marcus Moede, Casco; Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg; Robbie Waechter, Luxemburg; Frank Paul, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Kaminski; Zellner 2) Moede; Tom Brumlic, Denmark

15 lap sport four feature – Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Ralph Legois; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Justin Vannevenhoven, Green Bay; Jesse Heise, Pulaski; Jeff Behm, Clintonville

8 lap heats 1) Tyler De Bouche, Suamico; Johnson 2) Adam Court, Seymour; Dan Juszczyk, Sobieski