Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on August 22nd, 2009


by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) August 21- Two Rivers’ Kyle Kudick fought off former track and national champion Benji
LaCrosse of Green Bay in the final laps to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg
Speedway Friday night.

122 cars were in the pits, including 24 IMCA modifieds, 24 stock cars, 22 northern sportmods,
22 street stocks, 15 hobby stocks and 25 sport fours.

Luxemburg’s Chris Derenne paced the opening three laps of the IMCA modified main
before dropping out with mechanical problems, handing the lead to Abrams’ Scooter
Boyea. Boyea’s lead was short lived as Kudick stormed past into the lead on
lap five. Kudick pulled out to a five car length lead by lap 6 when Dan Ratajczak
broke through traffic into second, and began chasing down Kudick.

A lap 7 yellow flew for an RM Van Pay spin. When racing resumed Kudick
maintained the lead with Ratajczak second and LaCrosse blasting into
third. Another yellow flew two laps later. On the restart points leader Brian
Mullen of Seymour looped his mount drawing an amber.

LaCrosse scooted into second on the restart and began pressuring Kudick for the lead.
LaCrosse tried both the high and low lines in the final circuits but Kudicks fended off
the challenges to collect his second feature win of the season. LaCrosse settled for second
at the pay widow, followed by Sean Jerovetz, Dan Ratajczak and Jared Siefert.

Luxemburg’s Pat Davister passed Luxemburg’s Tyler Smith for the lead on lap 8 and
battled Smith and Mike Conard for the victory in the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature,
his second of the year, including a clean sweep with his heat win.
Conard took second in his best run of the year, followed by Smith, Troy Muench
and Ben Kroll.

Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten passed Luxemburg’s Dave Davister with eighth laps remaining
to collect the 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature, his 12th on area ovals this year.

The race got off to a rough start when a six car pileup took placed on the opening lap.
Prior to the wreck 3rd place points driver Tracy Wassenberg of Shawano dropped out with
mechanical woes. Also involved in the wreck was points leader Eric Arneson of
Oconto Falls, who was able to rejoin the field at the tail.

When racing resumed Davister assumed the lead, with Van Straten carefully working
his way into second by lap 6. Van Straten caught up with Davister by lap 10 and drove
around him on lap 12 for the lead and eventual win. Davister hung on for second in
his best performance of the year. New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach took third.
Arneson recovered to finish fourth. Brandon Long rounded out the top five.

Green Bay’s Todd Everard won the 20 lap street stock feature.

The street stock feature was red flagged on lap 10 when Jesse LaCrosse of Little Suamico
clobbered the frontstretch wall. He was unhurt but his car sustained heavy damage.

When racing resumed Kewaunee’s Ed Anschutz surrendered the lead to
Everard. Everard stretched the lead and wound up claiming victory. Dave Hoerning,
Anschutz, Ryan Brandes and Geno Sternard rounded out the top five.

Points leader Chad Kaminski of Luxemburg padded that points lead with a win in the
18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature.

Abrams Jessi Ness won the 15 lap sport four feature.

Next Friday night August 28 Dorsch Ford Kia will sponsor the races beginning at 7 p.m.
For more information call 920 660 8095. The track website is
Luxemburg Speedway is located 20 minute east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee
County Fairgrounds.



25 lap IMCA modified feature — Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay;
Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Jared Siefert, Green Bay;
Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

10 lap heats 1) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Tim Czarneski, Denmark 2) Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; Kyle Lentz, Green Bay
3) Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Chad Bartel, Shiocton

22 lap IMCA stock car feature — Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Mike Conard, Whitelaw; Tyler Smith,
Luxemburg; Troy Muench, New Franken; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf

10 lap heats- 1) Conard; Smith2) Davister,; Kroll 3) Shawn Havel, Algoma; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg

20 Lap IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Dave Davister, Luxemburg;
Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Brandon Long, Green Bay; Brad Theys,

10 lap heats 1) Theys; Brandon Long 2) Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Davister, 3) John Whitman, De Pere;
Travis Cain, Oconto

20 lap Street Stock Feature- Todd Everard, Green Bay; Dave Hoerning, Appleton; Ed Anschutz, Kewaunee;
Ryan Brandes, Brillion; Geno Sternard, Luxemburg; Logan Rhoade, Manitowoc

10 lap heats-1) Hoerning; Joe Schwister, Kaukauna 2) Rhoade; Brandes

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature — Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Frank Paul, Kewaunee; Marcus
Moede, Casco; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Jared Van Laanen,
Green Bay

10 lap Heats 1) Boulanger; Moede 2) Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Kaminski

15 lap sport four feature — Jessi Ness, Abrams; Wesley Simeons, Green Bay; Josh Vogel, Green Bay;
Ralph Legois, Oconto Jeff Behm, Clintonville; Jason Cornelius, Oneida

8 lap heats 1) Andy Klezcka, Pulaski; Ness, 2) Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Cornelius
3) Simeons, Green Bay; Vogel