Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on August 15th, 2009

by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) August 14- Green Bay’s Benji LaCrosse slipped past Frog Station’s Dan Ratajczak on lap 13 to take the lead and collect the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

A total of 115 cars checked in, including 22 IMCA modifieds, 29 stock cars, 21 northern sportmods, 21 hobby stocks and 22 sport fours.

The IMCA modified feature was only one lap old when Scooter Boyea and RM Van Pay spun in turn four, drawing an early amber. When racing resumed Ratajczak kept the lead and pulled away to a four car length lead over Jay Matthias by lap 10, when the second yellow flew for a Brian Joski spin.

When racing resumed LaCrosse charged from third past Matthias into second, and began pressuring Ratajczak. The former track and national champion ducked underneath Ratajczak to take the lead on lap 13. Boyea drew his second yellow of the race on lap 15, setting up a 10 lap dash to the finish.

On the restart LaCrosse pulled away to a comfortable margin and cruised to victory. Trailing at the checkers was Green Bay’s Jared Siefert, who charged through the pack from 13th to take second. Matthias hung on to third, followed by Shawn Kilgore of New Franken and Green Bay’s Eddie Muenster.

Green Bay’s John Heinz swept action in the IMCA stock cars, winning both his heat and fending off New Franken’s Ben Kroll and current points leader Jesse Colwell of Greenleaf in the waning laps to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Kroll came up a few feet short at the line and wound up second. Colwell took third. New Franken’s Troy Muench finished fourth. Luxemburg’s Pat Davister sliced through the field from 15th to finish fifth.

Kewaunee’s Eugene Gregorich blasted past Brad Theys of Kewaunee on lap six and fought off Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten to win his second, 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. Van Straten hung on for second, followed by Oconto’s Travis Cain, Shawano’s Tracy Wassenberg and De Pere’s Johnny Whitman.

Luxemburg’s Scott Boulanger passed Mishicot’s Dean Anhalt on lap five and went on to win the 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Luxemburg’s Wes Salentine came home second, followed by points leader Chad Kaminski, Dean Anhalt and Robbie Waechter.

Green Bay’s Wesley Simeons won his first ever 15 lap sport four feature.

Next Friday night, August 21 will be Luxemburg Implement night at the races. The night will also mark the return of the street stocks for their second appearance of the season.

Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 660 8095. The track’s website is Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.



25 lap IMCA modified feature — Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Art Siefert, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Dan Rataczjak, Frog Station; Art Siefert 2) RM Van Pay, Denmark ; Brian Mullen, Seymour 3) Matthias; Kyle Lentz, Green Bay

22 lap IMCA stock car feature — John Heinz, Green Bay; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Troy Muench, New Franken; Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Kyle Frederick, Gillett

12 lap semi feature- Shawn Havel, Algoma; Dave Bouche, Algoma

10 lap heats- 1) Ben Kroll; Jerry Leary, Little Suamico 2) Jesse Colwell; Doug Kropp, Green Bay 3) Heinz; Marty Abshire, Waukesha

20 Lap IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Travis Cain, Oconto; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Dave Davister, Luxemburg; Cain 2) Whitman; Brandon Long, Green Bay 3) Van Straten; Rick Kretshmann, Sheboygan Falls

18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature — Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Dean Anhalt, Mishicot; Robbie Waechter, Ellisville; Frank Paul, Kewaunee

10 lap Heats 1) Waechter, Kaminski 2) Marcus Moede, Luxemburg

15 lap sport four feature — Wesley Simeons, Green Bay;Josh Vogel, Green Bay; Jeff Behm, Clintonville; Jessi Ness, Abrams; Justin Vanievenhoven, Green Bay; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski

8 lap heats 1) Jessi Ness,Abrams; Simeons 2) Andy Kleczka, Pulaski; Vogel 3) Behm; Vannievenhoven