Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on May 29th, 2009


by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) May 29 – Green Bay’s Benji LaCrosse fought off Seymour veteran Brian Mullen with five laps to go and went on to capture the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night, his second here of the season.

A total of 120 cars were on hand, including 27 IMCA modifieds, 33 stock cars, 27 northern sportmods, 17 hobby stocks, and 16 sport fours.

Abram’s Brian Joski sprinted into the lead from his pole position to take the early lead in the IMCA modified feature, with Shiocton’s Chad Bartel hot on his heels. The pair pulled away early, with a lap 7 yellow flying when Eric Van Iten and Sean Jerovetz tangled in turn one.

When racing resumed, Danny Gracyalny slipped into second and began pressuring Joski for the lead. Algoma’s Evan Madden joined the fray, making a three car duel for the lead. Madden took the lead on lap 11, but that only lasted for one lap as LaCrosse ducked underneath for the lead on lap 12. Mullen tailed LaCrosse with Jared Siefert, who sliced through the pack from 18th into second by lap 13. A lap 15 caution slowed the field once again. When racing resumed LaCrosse had his hands full with Mullen and Siefert.

A lap 20 yellow setup a five lap dash to the finish. On the restart LaCrosse and Mullen pulled away to settle the score, with LaCrosse fending off the crafty veteran to capture his second feature win of the year here. Mullen settled for second, followed by Siefert, Sean Jerovetz who fought his way into the main event by winning a semi feature, and Jay Matthias, who came from deep in the field from 16th to place fifth.

Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert had the field covered, winning his third, 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the year. Trailing Bruechert at the line were Shawn Havel, Troy Muench, Jesse Colwell and Ben Kroll of New Franken, who charged from deep in the pack after winning a semi-feature to place fifth.

Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten kept his hot streak going by winning the 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod. As of tonight Van Straten has finished no less than second in the last seven races. Van Straten passed Bonduel’s Greg Wichman for the lead on lap seven and never looked back. Wichman finished second, followed by Eric Arneson, Travis Cain and Tracy Wassenberg.

Green Bay’s Jared Van Laanen passed Frank Paul for the lead on lap 9 and went on to win the caution free, 20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Van Laanen also won his heat, sweeping for the night. Kewaunee’s Luke Lemmens charged from dead last to wrestle second place away from Frank Paul on the final lap. Paul settled for third, followed by Sturgeon Bay’s John Hill and hometown driver Aaron Zellner. Oneida’s Jason Cornelius swept the sport four division, winning his heat and the fifteen lap feature.

Racing resumes next Friday night June 5 at 7 p.m for Budweiser night at the races. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is



25 lap IMCA modified feature – Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma

12 lap semi features – 1) Jerovetz; James Lee Tebon, Algoma

10 lap heats 1) Brian Joski, Abrams; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 2) Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour 3) Evan Madden, Algoma; LaCrosse

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Shawn Havel, Brussels; Troy Muench, New Franken; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay;

12 lap semi features – 1) Kyle Wanner, Suamico; Brett Koehler, Two Rivers 2) Ben Kroll, Kewaunee; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf

10 lap heats 1) Dave Bouche, Algoma; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg 2) Havel; Bruechert 3) Pierrard; Tony Bouche, Algoma 4) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Paul White, Green Bay

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Greg Wichman, Bonduel; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Travis Cain, Oconto; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee

12 lap semi feature- 1) Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Dave Davister, Luxemburg

10 lap heats 1) Wichman; VanStraten 2) Arneson; Johnny Whitman, DePere 3) Brandon Long, Green Bay; Cain

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Jared Van Laanen, Green Bay; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Frank Paul, Kewaunee; John Hill, Sturgeon Bay; Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg; Tom Brumlic, Denmark

10 lap heats 1) Salentine; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg 2) George Paul, Luxemburg; Frank Paul

15 lap sport four feature – Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Tyler DeBouche, Suamico; RJ Legois, Oconto; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Dan Jaczyk, Suamico; Alex Lepak, Pulaski

8 lap heats 1) Cornelius; Josh Vogel, Green Bay 2) Legois; Jeff Behm, Clintonville