Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on June 12th, 2009


by and Jordan Joe Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) June 12 – Second generation driver Mike Mullen of Seymour passed Algoma’s Todd Dart for the lead on lap seven and fought off former track champion RM Van Pay of Denmark to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The victory was his first here of the year. Mullen also won his heat, netting a sweep for the night.

A total of 126 cars were on hand, including 29 IMCA modifieds, along with 32 stock cars, 28 northern sportmods, 17 hobby stocks and 20 sport fours.

An opening lap mishap occurred on the backstretch involving the point leaders, former track champs Brian Mullen of Seymour and Benji LaCrosse of Green Bay. Both rejoined the field at the tail. With one lap in the books, Sturgeon Bay’s Billy LeMieux kept the lead on the restart. LeMieux pulled away to a four car length lead by lap five with Mike Mullen in tow, running second. The pair quickly pulled away from the pack and began mixing it up for the lead. Mullen looked both low and high, and ducked underneath LeMieux for the lead on lap seven.

Mullen pulled away as Van Pay stepped up to challenge LeMieux for the runnerup spot. Meanwhile Mullen checked out to a full straightaway lead by lap 13. By then Van Pay had wrestled second away from LeMieux. Van Pay attempted to chop away at Mullen’s lead, and the veteran caught a break on lap 16 when caution flew when Tim
Czarnecki stalled on turn two.

With nine laps remaining, Mullen kept his lead when another yellow flew on lap 19 for a Todd Dart spin. When racing resumed Mullen fought off a late race charge from Van Pay to collect his first feature flag here of the season. Van Pay took second, while Mike Mullen’s dad Brian Mullen recovered from an opening lap wreck to take third. Green Bay’s Jared Siefert, who battled his way into the main event through a semi feature, took fourth. Shawn Kilgore took fifth while LaCrosse recovered from the first lap tangle as well to take sixth.

Greenleaf’s Jamie Colwell swept action in the IMCA stock cars. Colwell won his heat and the time shortened, caution plauged 18 lap IMCA stock car feature. Three cautions were thrown in the first four laps. Forestville’s Charlie Kroll kept the lead in the early going, with Colwell slipping past Kroll for the lead on lap 14 for the win. Kroll settled for second, followed by Mike Pierrard, current national points leader John Heinz and Jesse Colwell.

Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz fended off Green Bay’s Aaron Holiday in the waning laps to win his first, 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature of the season. Jerovetz won his heat as well, sweeping the division. Holiday took second, followed by Chad Nelson, Eugene Gregorich who raced his way into the feature from the semi feature, and defending track champion Tim Jorgenson.

Luxemburg’s Chad Kaminski passed Carlsville’s Chris Christensen for the lead with five laps remaining to win his second, 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature of the season. Christensen took second, followed by Marcus Moede, Wes Salentine and Scott Boulanger.

Suamico’s Tyler DeBouche swept action in the sport fours, winning the heat and 15 lap feature.

Next Friday night, June 19 Robinson Metals sponsors the night’s events. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is



25 lap IMCA modified feature – Mike Mullen, Seymour; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg

12 lap semi feature – 1)Todd Dart, Algoma; Jared Siefert

10 lap heats 1) LaCrosse; Dan Gracyalny, Greenville 2) Mike Mullen; Brian Mullen 3) Dan Rataczjak, Frog Station; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour

22 lap IMCA stock car feature -Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay; John Heinz, Green Bay; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Troy Muench, New Franken

12 lap semi features – 1) Rob Waechter, Ellisville; Dave Bouche, Algoma 2) Mike Conard, Whitelaw; Mike Gilson, Greenleaf

10 lap heats 1) Jesse Collwell; Charlie Kroll 2) Heinz; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg 3) Jamie Colwell; Pat Davister, Luxemburg 4) Marty Abshire, Waukesha; Muench

IMCA northern sportmod feature – Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Chad Nelson, Suamico; Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Tim Jorgenson, Seymour; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

12 lap semi feature – 1) Gregorich; Dave Davister, Luxmeburg

10 lap heats – 1) Jesse Kroll, Algoma; Nelson 2) Holiday; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee 3) Jerovetz; Jorgenson

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Chris Christensen, Carlsville; Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; John Hill, Sturgeon Bay

10 lap heats 1) Boulanger; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee 2) Salentine; Hill

15 lap sport four feature – Tyler DeBouche, Suamico; Andy Kleczka, Pulaski; RJ Legois, Oconto; Jason Cornelius, Oneida;Wesley Simoens, Pulaski; Jeff Behm, Clintonville

8 lap heats 1) DeBouche; Legois 2) Josh Vogel, Green Bay; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski