Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on June 20th, 2009

Mike Mullen 6-19-09 DLP Photo

by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) June 20 – Driving a borrowed race car, Seymour’s Mike Mullen passed Billy LeMieux of Sturgeon Bay for the lead on lap four and kept the lead through several caution periods to win the 23 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. Mullen also won his heat, scoring a sweep for the evening.

A total of 125 cars were on hand including 32 IMCA modifieds, along with 33 stock cars, 25 northern sportmods, 17 hobby stocks and 18 sport fours.

LeMieux sprinted from his front row starting spot into the lead for the first three laps before Seymour’s Mike Mullen snuck underneath LeMieux and Brian Joski in a three wide pass to take the lead. Mullen, driving Mike Mashl’s car after trashing his own in a wreck at Shawano Speedway last Saturday, kept the lead through a pair of early cautions. On a lap six restart, former track champion Jared Siefert slipped into second and began challenging Mullen for the lead.

Another caution flew on lap nine, and when racing resumed Mullen kept the high line with Siefert in tow. The pair broke away from the field. A lap seventeen caution flew when LeMieux’s powerplant blew and caught fire. With six laps remaining, Mullen had Siefert within striking distance, but Mullen was too tough to tame and held on for his second straight win. Siefert hung on for second. Green Bay’s Benji LaCrosse mounted a late race charge to take third. Brian Mullen, who qualfied in through a consi, marched from 16th to finish fourth. Denmark’s RM Van Pay rounded out the top five finishers.

Luxemburg’s Pat Davister swept action in the IMCA stock car class, winning his heat and wrestled the lead away from Eric Malfroid on lap seven and stretched his lead in the final seven laps to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car main, his first of the year. New Franken’s Ben Kroll, Jamie Colwell, Dave Bouche and Matt Junio placed second through fifth, respectively.

16-year-old Johnny Whitman of De Pere passed Aaron Holiday of Green Bay on lap 14 and cruised to victory in the 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. Defending track champion Tim Jorgenson finished second, followed by Troy Jerovetz, Holiday and Travis Van Straten.

Luxemburg’s Marcus Moede started 14th, charged through the pack and passed Green Bay’s Mike Mueller for the lead on lap 14 and went on to win the 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature, his second of the season here. Current points leader Chad Kaminski snuck past Mueller for second. Mueller placed third, followed by Jared Van Lannen and Tom Brumlic.

Tyler DeBouche won the 15 lap sport four feature, his third of the year here.

Next Thursday June 25 and Friday June 26 CZ’s Bushville Lanes and Pro Label present the fourth annual two day Badger State Showdown. The track’s four weekly IMCA sanctioned classes will be in action. The sport fours will have the night off.

The race boasts the largest paying IMCA sanctioned event in Wisconsin history.. For more information call 920 863 8446. The track phone number is 920 845 2300. The track’s website is



25 lap IMCA modified feature – Mike Mullen, Seymour; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; Brian Mullen, Seymour; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay

12 lap semi features – 1st) Brian Mullen; Scott Boyea, Abrams 2nd) Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee

10 lap heats 1) Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Art Siefert, Green Bay 2) Dan Rataczjak, Frog Station; Brian Joski, Abrams 3) Mike Mullen; Jared Siefert

22 lap IMCA stock car feature – Pat Davister, Luxemburg; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Dave Bouche,Algoma; Matt Junio, Casco; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf

12 lap semi features – 1) Troy Muench, New Franken; Jesse Colwell 2) John Heinz, Green Bay; Mike Pierrard, Green Bay

10 lap heats 1) Brian Koch, Little Chute; Doug Kropp, Green Bay 2) Shawn Havel; Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg 3) Ben Kroll; Dave Budzban, Luxemburg 4) Davister; Rick Dix, Green Bay

20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature – Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Tim Jorgenson, Seymour; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

12 lap semi feature – Josh Long, Green Bay; Cory Cochart, Brussels

10 lap heats 1) Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Travis Cain, Oconto 2) Chad Nelson, Suamico; Holiday 3) Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Troy DeGrave, DePere

20 lap IMCA hobby stock feature – Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Jarred Van Lannen, Green Bay; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Chris Christensen, Carlsville

10 lap heats 1) Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Mueller 2) Tyler Wilson, Sobieski; Wes Salentine, Luxemburg

15 lap sport four feature – Tyler DeBouche, Suamico; Ralph Legois, Oconto; Andy Kleczka, Pulaski; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Cody Hudson, Pulaski; Tony Everard, Green Bay

8 lap heats 1) Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 2) DeBouche; Legois