Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on June 26th, 2009


(Luxemburg, WI – June 25, 2009) – Veteran IMCA Modified ace Mike Wedelstadt roared away to a dominating win in the first night of the Badger State Showdown Thursday at the Luxemburg Speedway in Luxemburg.

Other round one victories went to Troy Muench in the IMCA Stock Cars, Tracy Wassenberg in the IMCA Northern Sport Mods and Frank Paul in the IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Wedelstadt left little doubt early on as to who would take home the night’s Modified top prize. Racing from his third row starting spot, he used the outside line to quickly close on leader Jeremy Jacobs, shooting by him with only seven laps in the books.

From that point on, Wedelstadt checked out on Jacobs and the rest of the field, building an insurmountable lead in the non-stop feature.

Jacobs ran the bulk of the main alone in second, as a solid group of cars emerged as contenders for third. Shawn Kilgore, R.M. VanPay Benji LaCrosse, Brian Mullen and Kyle Lentz were all in the mix. Kilgore ended the race long struggle by securing the spot from VanPay with six laps to go. He closed on Jacobs but couldn’t quite get into contention for a pass as the checkers flew.

Wedelstadt, Jacobs and Kilgore scored the podium finishes, followed by VanPay, Mullen and LaCrosse. Both Kilgore and LaCrosse placed after starting in the fifth row, while Mullen advanced form the 7th.

Defending National champ Rod Snellenberger looked to be in control of the IMCA Stock Car headliner, drawing the pole position for the 22 lap affair. But that all ended once Muench came on the scene on the sixth lap.

Snellenberger and Jesse Colwell were dicing for the lead when Muench roared up on the outside, circling both of them on the eighth lap.

Snellenberger refused to fade, repeatedly slicing to the inside of Muench through the corners. Muench fought off each advance, holding the preferred line all the way to victory lane.

Colwell stayed close, placing third, followed by J.J. Heinz, Brian Bruechert and Marty Abshire.

Wassenberg saw a big lead in the IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature disappear thanks to a caution with four laps to go.

Tim Jorgenson and Troy Jerovetz lined up behind him for the restart, but rather than challenge for the lead, they were forced to try and hold position from Greg Wichman who shot between them from the third row on the restart.

With a three-wide battle for second behind him, Wassenberg again checked out, running uncontested to the line after leading all 22 laps.

Jerovetz edged Wichman, who started in the seventh row, and Jorgenson for the runner-up spot, with Jeff Vlies and rookie sensation Johnny Whitman closing out the top six.

After leading early, Paul appeared to be headed to no better than a second place finish in the IMCA Hobby Stocks. He ran the inside line, paired up with Tom Brumlic on the outside, as the duo battled for the lead over the course of the first three laps.

Brumlic took command at that point, and looked to be in control. But Paul rallied, reclaiming the top spot on the 11th circuit. Crossing over from the Sport Mods, former Hobby Stocker Keith Kickbusch and Marcus Moede both passed Brumlic late, but ran out of time before they could challenge Paul.

Brumlic settled for fourth, with Jarred VanLaanen and Chad Kaminski just behind.

The Speedway will host the second night of the Showdown Friday. Grandstand gates open at 5:30 with the first race at 7:00. The program will include a full slate of events, with qualifying heats, last chance races and the four big Showdown features. For more information, visit the track’s website at

Luxemburg Speedway Results – 6/25/2009

IMCA Modified 25 Lap Feature – Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont: Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg: Shawn Kilgore, New Franken: R.M. VanPay, Denmark: Brian Mullen, Seymour: Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay.

Semi-Feature – Chad Wilcox, Lena: Eddie Muenster, Green Bay: Brian Joski, Abrams: Chad Bartel, Shiocton

Heat 1 – Kyle Lentz, Green Bay: Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station
Heat 2 – LaCrosse: Wedelstadt
Heat 3 – Sean Jerovetz, Sobieski: Tim VanDeHei, Suamico

IMCA Stock Car 22 Lap Feature – Troy Muench, Brussels: Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski: Jesse Colwell, Wrightstown: J.J. Heinz, Green Bay: Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee: Marty Abshire, Waukesha

Semi-Feature 1 – Jamie Colwell, Kaukauna: Matt Junio, Casco: Ryan Lundy, Knoxville, IA: Larry Karcz, Pulaski
Semi-Feature 2 – Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski: Dave Bouche, Algoma: Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg: Dave Budzban, Luxemburg

Heat 1 – Heinz: Kyle Frederick, Gillett
Heat 2 – Muench: Abshire
Heat 3 – Jesse Colwell: Rod Snellenberger
Heat 4 – Bruechert: Pat Davister, Luxemburg

IMCA Northern Sport Mod 22 Lap Feature – Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano: Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay: Greg Wichman, Bonduel: Tim Jorgenson, Seymour: Jeff Vlies, Kewaunee: Johnny Whitman, DePere

Semi-Feature – Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee: Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg: Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls: Steve Pavlik, Denmark

Heat 1 – Jerovetz: Wassenberg
Heat 2 – Travis Cain, Oconto: Whitman
Heat 3 – Luke Wanninger, Jefferson, IA: Chad Nelson, Suamico

IMCA Hobby Stock 18 Lap Feature – Frank Paul, Kewaunee: Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee: Marcus Moede, Luxemburg: Tom Brumlic, Denmark: Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay: Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg

Heat 1 – Kickbusch: Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg
Heat 2 – Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee: VanLaanen