Race Reports


by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(LUXEMBURG, WI) June 25– New Franken’s Shawn Kilgore led every lap and survived five caution periods to capture the 30 lap IMCA modified feature during night two of the Badger State Showdown presented by CZ’s Bushville Lanes at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

A total of 122 cars signed in to do battle, including 32 IMCA modifeds, 36 stock cars, 30 northern sportmods and 24 hobby stocks.

Kilgore kept the top spot through four of the cautions which occurred in the first five laps. Hometown driver Benji LaCrosse kept Kilgore within striking distance for the balance of the contest. Kilgore’s
win was worth $1,300 and he will be put on the FastShaft All Star ballot for the IMCA Supernationals race at Boone (IA) Speedway in 2011. Seymour’s Jerry Wilinski took third, followed by Seymour’s
Mike Mullen and Thursday nights feature winner Jason Czarapata of Pulaski.

Seymour’s Shawn “Lunchbox” Wagner made the rare trip to Luxemburg pay off. The former street stock champion fought off a tenacious Matt Junio of Casco all race long to capture a thrilling, caution
free 25 lap IMCA stock car feature. Junio hung on for second place money. Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert, Horicon’s Jeremy Christians and Union’s Troy Muench placed third through fifth, respectively.

Defending race winner Eric “Chummy” Arneson of Oconto Falls came out on top of a race long duel for the lead with Luxemburg’s Dennis Miesler to win the IMCA northern sportmod feature.

Miesler took the lead at the drop of the green and kept the lead until lap 15, when Arneson, who started fourth, chased Miesler down and went wheel-to-wheel with the hometown driver right down to the wire. As the white flag was displayed, Miesler’s machine bobbled slightly coming out of turn four, sealing the win for Arneson. Miesler hung on for second in his best finish of the year, followed by Oconto’s
Jeremy Cota, Kewaunee’s Brad Theys and Bonduel’s Greg Wichman.

Denmark’s Tom Brumlic swept action in the IMCA hobby stocks, fighting off Thursday night feature winner Derek Moede of Casco to win the 22 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Defending track champion Chad Kaminski of Luxemburg took over the division points lead with his sixth place finish, when Kewaunee’s Luke Lemmens, the points leader heading into the night, spun on the final lap and finished fourteenth. Derek Moede took second, while Frank Paul finished third after qualifying into the main event from the semi feature.

Next Friday night, July 2 will be Pepsi Cola Fireworks night at the races. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 660 8095. The track phone is (920) 845 2300. The track’s website is luxemburgspeedway.com. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off state highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE — Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Brandon Czarapata, Appleton; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Todd Dart, Algoma; Chad Bartel, Shiocton; Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Jared Siefert, Luxemburg; Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; Sean Jerovetz, Suamico; Mike Wedelstadt, New London; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay; Russ Reinwald, Juneau; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station

SEMI FEATURES 1) Brian Mullen 2) Reinwald

HEATS 1) Kilgore; Mike Mullen 2) Kudick; Matthias 3) LaCrosse; Jerovetz 4) Wilinski; VanIten

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE — Shawn Wagner, Seymour; Matt Junio, Casco; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Jeremy Christians, Horicon; Troy Muench, Union; John Heinz, Green Bay; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Steven Stewart, Oconto; Jamie Colwell, Greenleaf; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski; Mark Schuenemann, Boulder Junction; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Scott Stewart, Oconto; Josh Van Haren, Abrams; Shawn Havel, Algoma; Jerry Leary, Suamico; Jeremy Jacquet, Green Bay; Mike Conard, Whitelaw

SEMI FEATURES 1) Havel 2) Conard

HEATS 1) Charlie Kroll; Bruechert 2) Frederick; Jesse Colwell 3) Christians; Steven Stewart 4) Scott Stewart; Snellenberger

IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE — Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg; Jeremy Cota, Oconto; Brad Theys, Kewaunee; Greg Wichman, Bonduel; Brandon Long, Green Bay; Josh Long, Green Bay; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Jeff Schmuhl, Beaver Dam; Mike Joski, Green Bay; Cory Cochart, Brussels; Travis Cain, Oconto; Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay; Eric Mahlik, Green Bay; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Steve Pavlik, Green Bay; Mark Joski, New Franken; Andy Kleczka, Pulaski; Rob Charapada, Oconto; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken

SEMI FEATURES 1) Schmuhl 2) Wichman

HEATS 1) Charapada; Josh Long 2) Theys; Cain 3) Kleczka; Miesler

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Derek Moede, Casco; Frank Paul, Luxemburg; Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay; Marcus Moede, Algoma; Rob Waechter, Ellisville; John Hill, Sturgeon Bay; Dean Anhalt, Mishicot; Travis Hackett, Algoma; Mike Mueller, Green Bay; George Paul, Kewaunee; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg; Scott Besson, Green Bay; Corey Siebold, Denmark; Doug Engelking, Menominee Falls; Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Carl Slack, Green Bay


HEATS 1) Brumlic; Waechter 2) Derek Moede; Salentine 3) Peterson; Lemmens

Posted under Race Reports on June 26th, 2010