Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on May 29th, 2010

by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) May 28 — Hometown driver Benji LaCrosse led every lap and survived heavy pressure from Seymour’s Brian Mullen to win the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday. LaCrosse also won his heat netting a clean sweep for the evening.

A total of cars 117 turned up, including 24 IMCA modifieds, 23 stock cars, 32 northern sportmods, 21 hobby stocks and 17 sport fours.

LaCrosse shot into the lead at the drop of the green when a caution flew for a Sean Jerovetz spin on lap two. When the dust settled LaCrosse maintained his lead through a pair of aborted restarts. When racing resumed LaCrosse kept the top spot as Mullen diced with Algoma’s Todd Dart for the runnerup spot.

Mullen caught LaCrosse with ten laps to go and pressured the hometown driver. Mullen stayed glued to LaCrosse’s rear bumper the entire distance, with LaCrosse fending off the challenge for the win. Mullen settled for second, followed by Algoma’s Todd Dart, Green Bay’s Jared Siefert and Shiocton’s Chad Bartel, who charged through the field from 16th as he qualified into the feature by winning the semi-feature.

Luxemburg’s Scott Bounlanger led the opening five laps of the IMCA northern sportmod feature with Kewaunee’s Brad Theys taking the lead on lap five. Theys held the top spot until a caution flew with four laps remaining. On the restart Theys fought off a fast moving Johnny Whitman of De Pere to capture the win. Whitman took second, followed by Dennis Miesler, of Luxemburg. New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach recovered from an earlier pit stop to take fourth. Troy Jerovetz of Green Bay rounded out the top five.

New Franken’s Troy Muench scored a clean sweep in the IMCA stock car division, winning both his heat and the 22 lap feature.

In late race drama IMCA hobby stock points leader Luke Lemmens, who graduated tonight from Kewaunee High School, ditched the cap and down and donned his racing suit and helmet just in time to start the 18 lap feature. Lemmens charged from 21st through the field and wound up third, behind Sturgeon Bay’s John Hill and eventual winner Frank Paul, who led every lap. Defending track champion Chad Kaminski of Luxemburg and Marcus Moede of Algoma placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

Abrams Jessi Ness won the sport 4 feature.

Next Friday June 4 the racing program is presented by Budweiser. Street stocks will be in action, along with the track’s five weekly divisions. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. For more information check the track’s website at The track phone number is 920 845 2300.



IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE — Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Todd Dart, Algoma; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Chad Bartel, Shiocton; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay

SEMI FEATURE- Bartel; Jay Matthias, De Pere

HEATS 1) Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay 2) LaCrosse; Dart 3) Brian Mullen; VanIten

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE- Troy Muench, New Franken; Dustin Loberger, Oconto; Ben Kroll, New Franken; Steven Stewart, Oconto; John Heinz, Green Bay; Greg Gretz,Kewaunee

HEATS 1) Gretz; Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg 2) Muench; Matt Junio, Casco 3) Loberger; Kyle Fredrick, Gillett

IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE- Brad Theys, Kewaunee; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Josh Long, Suamico

SEMI FEATURES 1) Aaron Holiday, Green Bay; Steve Pavlik, Green Bay 2) Cory Cochart, Brussels; Brandon Long, Suamico

HEATS 1) Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Travis Cain, Oconto 2) Jerovetz; Tyler Hackett, Algoma 3) Whitman; Josh Long, 4) Miesler; Lautenbach

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE- Frank Paul, Luxemburg; John Hill, Sturgeon Bay; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Marcus Moede, Algoma; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; George Paul, Kewaunee

HEATS 1) Marcus Moede; Frank Paul 2) Derek Moede, Algoma; Kaminski

4 CYLINDER FEATURE- Jessi Ness, Abrams; Wayne Mroczaowski, Krakow; Alex Lepak, Pulaski; Jody Cornelius, Oneida; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Jessica Legois, Oconto

HEATS 1) Lepak; Ness 2) Justin Vannieuwenhoven, Pulaski; Jessica Liegois, Oconto


Next Post: Condolences to the Reinhard Family