Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on July 17th, 2010


by Joe Verdegan

(LUXEMBURG, WI) July 16– De Pere’s Jay Matthias fought off Luxemburg’s Benji LaCrosse in the final laps and hung on to win his first, 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday.

A total of 127 cars signed in to do battle, including 27 IMCA modifeds, 29 stock cars, 34 northern sportmods, 20 hobby stocks and 17 sport fours.

Matthias started 10th on the gride, and gradually worked his way into fifth by lap 8. Little Suamico’s Danny Deau sprinted from his outside front row starting spot to hold the lead in the early going. Green Bay’s Eric Van Iten ducked underneath Deau to take the lead on lap seven.

By this time, Matthias had charged into third. By the event’s halfway point, Matthias grabbed the lead on lap seventeen from Van Iten. A caution flew with three laps to go, setting up a dash to the finish.

LaCrosse snuck into second on the restart and hugged the inner groove, while Matthias found bite on the high side. Matthias hung on to edge LaCrosse at the checkers for his first feature flag of 2010. LaCrosse held on for second, followed by Van Iten, Green Bay’s Eddie Muenster and Algoma’s Jeremy Jacobs.

Pulaski’s Rod Snellenberger made a triumphant return to Luxemburg Speedway, by passing Kewaunee’s Brian Bruechert with 12 laps to go and fought off Union’s Troy Muench and Casco’s Matt Junio to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature. With his heat win the former IMCA national champion scored a clean sweep.

Muench hung on for second, followed by Junio, Luxemburg’s Dave De Grave who raced his way into the main through the semi-feature and Hortonville rookie Justin Jacobsen.

De Pere’s Johnny Whitman slipped inside of Algoma’s Tyler Hackett on lap 10 and fought off arch rival Troy Jerovetz of Green Bay to win the 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. Whitman scored a heat win, nailing a sweep for the night.

Jerovetz finished second while Shawano’s Tracy Wassenberg, who battled his way into the main by winning a semi feature, sliced through traffic to take third. Hackett and Oconto Falls’ Eric Arneson placed fourth and fifth, respectively.

The IMCA hobby stock feature was red flagged on lap 13 when Frank Paul of Luxemburg flipped his mount. The car burst into flames. Paul escaped without injury. Algoma’s Marcus Moede captured the 18 lap feature win, followed by Luxemburg’s George Paul, Luxemburg’s Chad Kaminski, Denmark’s Tom Brumlic and Carlsville’s Chris Christensen.

Sobieski’s Dan Juszczyk won the 15 lap sport four feature.

Next Friday night there will be no races on June 23 due to the Kewaunee County Fair. Regulare, weekly racing will resume on Friday, June 30 at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 660 8095. The track phone is (920) 845 2300. The track’s website is Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off state highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE — Jay Matthias, De Pere; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Eric Van Iten, Green Bay; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma; Jared Siefert, Green Bay

SEMI FEATURE Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers

HEATS 1) Muenster; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station
2) Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg; Jerry Muenster, Green Bay
3) Danny Deau, Little Suamico; Van Iten
4) Jacobs; Tim Czarnecki, Denmark

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE — Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Troy Muench, Union; Matt Junio, Casco; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville; Junior Karcz, Pulaski

SEMI FEATURES 1) Bob Waechter, Luxemburg; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg
2) Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville; John Heinz, Green Bay

HEATS 1) Doug Kropp, Green Bay; Charlie Kroll, Forestville
2) Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Dustin Loberger, Oconto
3) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Troy Muench, Union

IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE — Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay;Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Tyler Hackett, Algoma; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Jesse Kroll, Algoma

SEMI FEATURES 1) Wassenberg; Aaron Holiday, Green Bay
2) Jerovetz; Jesse Kroll

HEATS 1) Steve Pavlik, Green Bay; Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay
2) Whitman; Hackett
3) Eric Mahlik, Green Bay; Tyler Wilson, Sobieski
4) Josh Long, Green Bay; Scott Boulanger, Green Bay

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — Marcus Moede, Algoma; George Paul, Luxemburg; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Chris Christensen, Carlsville; Shawn Besson, Green Bay

HEATS 1) Mike Mueller, Green Bay; Frank Paul, Luxemburg
2) Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg

SPORT FOUR FEATURE — Dan Jusczczyk, Sobieski; Ralph Liegois, Oconto; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Justin Vanneviehoven, Pulaski; Jessi Ness, Abrams; Jon Duessing, Freedom

HEATS 1) Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski; Brittany King, Appleton
2) Johnson; Ralph Liegois