Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on July 31st, 2010

Dan Lewis Photography

by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(LUXEMBURG, WI) July 30 — Pulaski veteran Brad Rohloff found the wet, heavy track to his liking at Luxemburg Speedway. Rohloff fought off defending track champion Brian Mullen in the final laps to capture the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night.

Rohloff scored a sweep on the night with his heat win.

A total of 121 cars signed in to do battle, including 23 IMCA modifeds, 27 stock cars, 30 northern sportmods, 24 hobby stocks and 17 sport fours.

Rohloff took the lead at the drop of the green. Even through a pair of cautions in the early going, Rohloff easily outdistanced the field. With the final caution falling with eight laps to go, the field tightened up on Rohloff, and Mullen, Frog Station’s Dan Ratacjzak and Luxemburg’s Benji LaCrosse put the heat on Rohloff. The wily veteran hung on to capture his first Luxemburg Speedway feature in more than a decade. Brian Mullen hung on for second, followed by Ratacjzak, De Pere’s Jay Matthias and Seymour’s Mike Mullen. LaCrosse dropped out with mechanical woes with four laps remaining.

Ellisville’s Bob Waechter passed Suamico’s Jerry Leary for the lead on lap 18 and survived a late race caution to win his first, 22 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season. Leary hung on for second in his best performance of the year. Oconto’s Dustin Loberger, Forestville’s Charlie Kroll and Union’s Troy Muench finished third through fifth, respectively.

Rookie Tyler Hackett of Algoma captured his first career 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. New Franken’s Mike Joski took second, followed by De Pere’s Troy De Grave, Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz and Green Bay’s Josh Long.

Kewaunee’s Luke Lemmens squeezed past Luxemburg’s Wes Salentine on lap nine and cruised to victory in the 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Salentine hung on for second, followed by Kewaunee brothers Frank and George Paul, and Denmark’s Tom Brumlic.

Pulaski’s Sam Ambrosius won the 15 lap sport four feature.

Next Friday night, August 6 it will be Luxemburg Speedway Hall of Fame night. Former drivers Irv Ettien, Ted Peters, Bobby Marquis, Len Zellner and Earl Ness will be inducted along with former track photographer Marv Bins. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. For more information call 920 660 8095. The track phone is (920) 845 2300. The track’s website is Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off state highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE — Brad Rohloff, Pulaski; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Dan Ratacjzak, Frog Station; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Jared Siefert, Luxemburg

SEMI FEATURE- Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

HEATS 1) Dave Zietler, Green Bay; Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg 2) Rohloff 3) Siefert; RM Van Pay, Denmark

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Robert Waechter, Ellisville; Jerry Leary, Suamico; Dustin Loberger, Oconto; Charlie Kroll, Forestville; Troy Muench, Union; Mike Conard, Whitelaw

SEMI FEATURE — Dave De Grave, Luxemburg

HEATS 1) Troy Muench, Union; Greg Gretz, Kewaunee 2) Loberger; Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 3) Dave Bouche, Algoma; Ben Kroll, New Franken

IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE — Tyler Hackett, Algoma; Mike Joski, New Franken; Troy De Grave, De Pere; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Josh Long, Green Bay; Jesse Kroll, Forestville

SEMI FEATURES 1) Ryan LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay 2) Kelsey Hayes, Sturgeon Bay

HEATS 1) Kurt Moeller, Seymour; JJ Anderson, Suamico 2) Tyler Wilson, Sobieski; Mark Joski, New Franken 3) Mike Joski, New Franken; Hackett

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee; Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Frank Paul, Kewaunee; George Paul, Kewaunee; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Marcus Moede, Casco

SEMI FEATURE-Douglas Engleking, Menominee Falls

HEATS 1) Travis Hackett, Algoma; Lemmens 2) Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg; Salentine 3) Frank Paul; Derek Moede, Casco

SPORT 4 FEATURE — Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski; Jessi Ness, Abrams; Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Justin Vannieuwenhoven, Pulaski

HEATS 1) Johnson; Cody Huven, Green Bay 2) Ralph Liegois Jr, Oconto; Vannieuwenhoven