Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on May 7th, 2011

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

by Joe and Jordan Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) May 6 — Hometown driver Jeremy Jacobs took the lead at the drop of the green and never looked back. Jacobs captured the opening night IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway’s season opening race.

A total of 125 cars checked in to compete, including 25 IMCA modifieds, 36 stock cars, 32 northern sportmods, 18 hobby stocks and 14 sport fours.

Jacobs kept Luxemburg’s Jared Siefert and Jay Matthias at bay. Matthias closed in the final laps and closed the gap at the finish line. Siefert took third, followed by Tim Czarneski of Denmark and Denmark’s RM Van Pay.

New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach scooted inside of Jeremy Cota of Oconto with two laps to go to collect the IMCA northern sportmod feature. It was Lautenbach’s third feature win of the young 2011 season.

Cota held on for second, followed by New Franken’s Brad Theys, Two Rivers’ Jesse Brey and Green Bay’s Brandon Long.

New Pulaski’s Junior Karcz passed Casco’s Matt Junio for the lead on lap 14 and battled his way into victory lane, capturing the 20 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Polesitter Junio jumped into the early lead at the drop of the green of the IMCA stock car main, as he and fellow front row starter Kyle Frederick of Gillett broke away from the pack and ran green until lap eleven when caution flew for a Tom Coel spin.

Another caution flew two laps later. The race restarted with seven laps remaining, and Karcz ducked underneath Junio to take the lead on lap 14. Junio continued to pressure Karcz in the final laps but the Pulaski veteran fought him off for the win. Junio settled for second place money, followed by defending track champion Troy Muench, Green Bay’s Mike Coel and Ellisville’s Bob Waechter.

Casco’s Derek Moede led wire-to-wire and fought off a fast closing Eugene Gregorich Jr. in the waning laps to win the caution free, 18 lap IMCA hobby stock feature. Gregorich, guest driving Ryan Rohr’s racer, took second. Algoma’s Dave Schmidt posted his best finish here with third, followed by Luxemburg drivers George Paul and Wes Salentine rounding out the top five.

Oconto Falls Brian Johnson swept action in the sport four class.

Next Friday night May 13, Manitowoc Motor Machining will sponsor the races which get underway at 7 p.m. For more information call (920) 660 8095. The track’s website is You can also follow the track on Facebook. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off state highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.

IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE- Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Jared Siefert, Luxemburg; Tim Czarneski, Denmark; RM Van Pay, Denmark; James Lee Tebon, Algoma

SEMI FEATURE- Todd Dart, Algoma

HEATS 1) Chad Bartel, Shiocton; Johnny Whitman, DePere 2) Jay Matthias, DePere; Kyle Kudick, Mishicot 3) Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE- Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Matt Junio, Casco; Troy Muench, Union; Mike Coel, Green Bay; Bob Waechter, Ellisville; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski

SEMI FEATURES- 1) Dave Bouche, Algoma 2) Scott Stewart, Oconto

HEATS 1) John Heinz, Green Bay; Karcz 2) Coel; Charlie Kroll, Forestville 3) Ben Kroll, New Franken; Muench 4) Junio; Waechter

IMCA NORTHERN SPORT MOD FEATURE- Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Jeremy Cota, Oconto; Brad Theys, New Franken; Jesse Brey, Two Rivers; Brandon Long, Green Bay; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

SEMI FEATURES 1) JJ Andersen, Pulaski 2) Chris Benes, Algoma

HEATS 1) Arneson; Brey 2) Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee; Lautenbach 3) Cota; Theys 4) Scott Boyea, Green Bay; Mark Joski, Green Bay

IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE- Derek Moede, Casco; Eugene Gregorich Jr., Amherst; David Schmidt, Algoma; George Paul, Luxemburg; Wes Salentine, Luxemburg; Tom Brumlic, Denmark

HEATS 1) Gregorich Jr. ; Brandon Peterson, Sturgeon Bay 2) Moede ; Salentine

SPORT 4 FEATURE-Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Ralph Liegiois Jr., Oconto; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski; Brian Welsing, Green Bay

HEATS 1) Matt Prouty, Seymour; Liegiois Jr. 2) Johnson; Brandon Kaye, Green Bay

Previous Post: Luxemburg Speedway Races ON as Scheduled 5/6