Race Reports


Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (www.danlewisphoto.net)


by Jordan and Joe Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) July 1 — Hometown driver Benji LaCrosse charged from last place into first on the final lap and went on to capture the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The win was LaCrosse’s fourth of the year here.

99 Cars turned up to compete, including 19 IMCA modifieds, 22 stock cars, 30 northern sportmods, 15 hobby stocks and 13 sport fours.

Initially it appeared to be a repeat of last week’s main, as Shiocton’s Chad Bartel appeared headed for yet another victory. Bartel stretched out a full straightaway lead, while LaCrosse methodically worked his way through the field from 18th, riding the high line up into 10th by lap 9. LaCrosse made it up to third by lap 15 and began reeling in Bartel. LaCrosse motored around Bartel as the white flag was displayed, and LaCrosse went on to win. Bartel hung on for second, followed by De Pere’s Johnny Whitman, De Pere’s Jay Matthias and New Franken’s Shawn Kilgore.

The IMCA stock car main lived up to it’s reputation as the class “too tough to tame.” Appleton’s Brandon Czarapata passed Luxemburg’s Eric Malfroid for the lead on a lap five restart and went on to win his first feature here of the year. The win was anything but a gimme, as he fought off Ellisville’s Bob Waechter and Pulaski’s Junior Karcz, who were bunched up on his tail following a restart with two laps to go. Czarapata hung on for the win. Waechter took second, with Karcz marching through the field from 21st to take third. Defending track champion Troy Muench took fourth with Kewaunee’s Luke Lemmens driving his rebuilt race car from a wreck a week ago into a top five finish.

Suamico’s Josh Long fought off last week’s winner Troy De Grave of De Pere and Oconto Falls Eric Arneson to win his first IMCA northern sportmod feature of the year. De Grave and Arneson took second and third, respectively. New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach and Kewaunee’s Brad Theys rounded out the top five.

Luxemburg’s Marcus Moede nipped his brother Derek Moede of Casco at the line to take his third IMCA hobby stock feature of the season. Derek settled for runnerup honors, followed by points leader Tom Brumlic of Denmark, Menominee Falls Doug Engelking and Luxemburg’s George Paul.

Oconto’s Ralph Liegois Jr. scored a last lap win, his third of the season in the Sport 4 division.

Racing resumes next Friday night, July 9 at 7 p.m. Pro Label sponsors the night’s racing. Big wheel races for the kids will take place. Street stocks will make an appearance along with the track’s weekly classes. For more information call (920) 660 8095, or check the track website at luxemburgspeedway.com. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.



BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE –Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Chad Bartel, Shiocton; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Sean Jerovetz, Sobieski

HEATS 1) Kilgore; Jerovetz 2) Chad Bartel; James Tebon, Algoma

BADGERLAND CONCRETE IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE — Brandon Czarapata, Appleton; Rob Waechter, Ellisville; Larry Karcz, Pulaski; Troy Muench, Union; Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee

HEATS 1) Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville; Waechter 2) Czarapata; Ben Kroll, New Franken 3) Greg Gretz, Kewaunee; Lemmens

TRI COUNTY HEATING IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE – Josh Long, Suamico; Troy De Grave, De Pere; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Brad Theys, Kewaunee; Scott Boyea, Abrams

15 LAP SEMI-FEATURES — 1) Greg Wichman, Bonduel 2) Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg

10 LAP HEATS 1) Kurt Moeller, Seymour; Mark Joski, Green Bay 2) Lautenbach; DeGrave 3) Andy Kleczka, Green Bay; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay

PEPSI IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Derek Moede, Casco; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Douglas Engleking, Menominee Falls; George Paul, Luxemburg

10 LAP HEATS 1) Brumlic; Derek Moede 2) Paul; Mike Mueller, Green Bay

TISLER SALVAGE SPORT 4 FEATURE — Ralph Liegios Jr., Oconto; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski; Justin Vannieuwenhoven, Pulaski; Brandon Kaye, Green Bay; Jeff Behm, Clintonville

10 LAP HEATS 1) Ambrosius; Kaye 2) Johnson; Behm

Posted under Race Reports on July 2nd, 2011