Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints


Posted under Race Reports on June 18th, 2011

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

by Jordan and Joe Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) June 17– Hometown driver Benji LaCrosse led wire-to-wire, collecting the 30 lap, $1,000 Topless 30 IMCA modified feature presented by 21 Guns Saloon at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. LaCrosse also won his heat, netting a sweep for the evening. The win was LaCrosse’s third here of the year.

125 Cars turned up to compete, including 23 Topless modifieds, 27 stock cars, 39 northern sportmods, 22 hobby stocks and 14 sport fours.

LaCrosse took the lead at the drop of the green and never looked back. Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata was a mover through the field, starting 17th on the grid and using the low line to battle his way up into second with six laps remaining. Czarapata wound up second at the pay window. Luxemburg’s Jeremy Jacobs wound up third after a race long duel with New Franken’s Shawn Kilgore taking fourth. Green Bay’s Kyle Lentz wrapped up the top five finishers.

Pulaski’s Junior Karcz took the lead at the drop of the green and survived a late caution period and a fast closing Shawn Wagner of Shawano to win the 22 lap IMCA stock car feature.

Karcz had built up a full straightaway lead throughout the contest, with Wagner, Algoma’s Shawn Havel and Hortonville’s Justin Jacobsen scrapping with Wagner for the runner up spot. A Dave De Grave spin with four laps to go gave Wagner the caution he was looking for. With the field bunched up tight the race resumed as Karcz maintained the top spot. The caution flag flew on the final lap. Karcz took the win. Wagner crossed the line second, but with the yellow thrown the finish reverted back to the last completed lap, which gave second to Havel. Wagner took third, followed by Pulaski’s Brian Ambrosius and defending track champion Troy Muench of Union.

Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz snuck inside of Algoma’s Tyler Hackett on a restart with five laps remaining to win the IMCA northern sportmods feature. Jerovetz, who started in row three, worked his way into second by lap 11 and chased down Hackett, who sprinted from his from row starting spot into the lead at the drop of the green. Pulaski’s JJ Anderson battled past Hackett on a restart with two laps to go to take second. Kewaunee’s Brad Theys wound up third, followed by Oconto Falls Eric Arneson and Shawano’s Tracy Wassenberg.

Luxemburg’s George Paul swept action in the IMCA hobby stocks, winning his heat and battling Casco’s Derek Moede down the wire to win the feature.

Moede hung on for second place, followed by polesitter Tom Brumlic of Denmark, Amherst’s Eugene Gregorich Jr. and Algoma’s Travis Hackett.

Pulaski’s Justin Vannieuhoven won the sport four feature.

Racing resumes next Friday night at 7 p.m. Robinson Metals and CZ’s Bushville Lanes will sponsor the activities. A trailer chain race will take place for four cylinder cars and a kid’s coin toss will take place at intermission.

Bonus money will be doled out in the top three feature positions courtesy of Robinson Metals. For more information call (920) 660 8095, or check the track website at Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.



TOPLESS 30 BUDWEISER MODIFIED FEATURE — Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Jeremy Jacobs,Luxemburg; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken; Kyle Lentz, Green Bay; Jared Siefert, Green Bay; Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station; Kyle Kudick, Mishicot; Todd Dart, Algoma; Chad Bartel, Shiocton; James Lee Tebon, Algoma; RM Van Pay, Denmark; Sean Jerovetz, Sobieski; Jay Matthias, De Pere; Danny Deau Little Suamico; Tim Czarneski, Denmark; Tim Jorgenson, Seymour; Lance Arneson, Oconto Falls; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Robert Ploeckelmann, Green Bay; David Jaeger, Oshkosh; Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay

HEATS 1) Jacobs; Kudick 2) LaCrosse; Van Pay3) Kilgore; Whitman

BADGERLAND CONCRETE IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE — Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Shawn Havel, Algoma; Shawn Wagner, Shawano; Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski; Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville; Dustin Loberger, Oconto

12 LAP LAST CHANCE RACE — Keith Kickbush, Kewaunee

10 LAP HEATS 1) Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg; Charlie Kroll, Forestville 2) Jacobsen; Ben Kroll, New Franken 3) Dave Bouche, Algoma; Wagner

TRI COUNTY HEATING IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE – Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; JJ Anderson, Pulaski; Brad Theys, Kewaunee; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; Tyler Hackett, Algoma

SEMI-FEATURES — 1) Rob Charapata, Oconto 2) Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg

10 LAP HEATS 1) Eric Mahlik, Green Bay; Theys 2) Arneson; Andersen 3) Tyler Hackett; Andy Kleczka, Green Bay 4) Dylan Heilmann, Green Bay; Jeremy Cota, Oconto

PEPSI IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — George Paul, Luxemburg; Derek Moede, Casco; Tom Brumlic, Denmark; Eugene Gregorich Jr, Amherst; Travis Hackett, Algoma; Marcus Moede, Luxemburg

10 LAP HEATS 1) Marcus Moede; Derek Moede 2) Douglas Engelking, Menominee Falls; Brumlic 3) Paul; Hackett

TISLER SALVAGE SPORT 4 FEATURE — Justin Vannieuwenhoven, Pulaski; Ralph Liegois Jr., Oconto; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Tony Everard, Green Bay; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski; Jeff Behm, Clintonville

10 LAP HEATS 1) Behm; Vannieuwenhoven 2) Liegeois Jr.; Everard