Race Reports



Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (www.danlewisphoto.net)

by Kim and Joe Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI) July 29 — Denmark’s RM Van Pay fended off current points leader Benji LaCrosse of Green Bay to capture the IMCA modified feature at Luxemburg Speedway Friday night. The win was Van Pay’s first in four years here.

118 Cars turned up to compete, including 25 IMCA modifieds, 28 stock cars,33 northern sportmods, 19 hobby stocks and 13 sport fours.

Van Pay started sixth and worked his way into third after three cautions flew in the first six laps. Polesitter Cory Cochart of Kewaunee maintained the lead through the first ten circuits until Van Pay whisked past for the lead on lap 11.

LaCrosse, who started 12th, moved to second on lap 14 and switched from the bottom groove to the high line and began chasing down Van Pay. With two laps to go the lead duo were nearly dead even twice. As the checkers flew Van Pay brought the crowd to it’s feet with a photo finish victory. LaCrosse padded his points lead with his second place finish. Algoma’s James Lee Tebon took third, followed by second place points driver Jay Matthias of De Pere, and Shiocton’s Chad Bartel rounding out the top five.

Appleton’s Brandon Czarapata collected his third IMCA stock car feature of the year, fighting off hometown driver Dave De Grave in a caution filled event. Czarapata passed De Grave for the lead with two laps remaining and hung on for the win. De Grave took second, followed by Shawano’s Shawn Wagner, Oconto Falls Kyle Frederick and Oconto’s Dustin Loberger.

New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach netted a photo finish victory in the IMCA northern sportmods feature over Pulaski’s JJ Anderson. The win was Lautenbach’s second of the season at Luxemburg. Brothers Mike and Mark Joski took third and fourth, respectively. Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz rounded out the top five finishers.

Hometown driver Marcus Moede captured the caution free IMCA hobby stock feature, beating New Franken’s Jason Vandenhouten at the line for the win. The victory was Moede’s fourth of the year. Vandenhouten took second, followed by Marcus’ brother Derek Moede of Casco, hometown driver Tyler “Flip” Dorn and Luxemburg’s George Paul.

Oconto’s Jessica Liegois captured her first career sport four feature.

Racing resumes next Friday night, August 5 at 7 p.m. Bill Rohr of Kewaunee, Casco’s Reggie Cochart and the late Wally Massart will be inducted into the Luxemburg Speedway Hall of Fame. For more information call (920) 660 8095, or check the track website at luxemburgspeedway.com. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds.



BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE –RM VanPay, Denmark; Benji Lacrosse, Green Bay; James Tebon, Algoma; Jay Mathias, DePere; Chad Bartel, Shiocton

SEMI-FEATURE- Evan Madden, Algoma

HEATS 1) Johnny Whitman, DePere; Cory Cochart, Brussels 2)Chris Derenne, Luxemburg; Chad Bartel, Shiocton 3)James Tebon, Algoma; Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg

BADGERLAND CONCRETE IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE — Brandon Czarapata, Appleton; Dave De Grave, Luxemburg; Shawn Wagner, Shawano; Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls; Dustin Loberger, Oconto

LAST CHANCE RACE — Troy Muench, Union

HEATS 1) Frederick; Wagner 2) Czarapata; Robert Waechter, Ellisville 3) Pat Davister, Luxemburg; DeGrave

TRI COUNTY HEATING IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; J.J. Anderson, Pulaski; Mike Joski, Green Bay; Mark Joski, New Franken; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay

SEMI-FEATURES –1st) Brad Theys, Kewaunee 2nd)Greg Wichman, Bonduel

HEATS 1)Todd Wiese, Algoma; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 2)Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg; Troy Jerovetz, Green bay 3)Mark Joski, New Franken; Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg 4)Mike Joski, Green Bay; Jeremy Cota, Oconto

PEPSI IMCA HOBBY STOCK FEATURE — Marcus Moede, Luxemburg; Jason VandenHouten, New Franken; Derek Moede, Casco; Tyler Dorn, Luxemburg; George Paul, Luxemburg

HEATS 1) Dorn; Marcus Moede 2) VandenHouten; Jordan Parma, Kewaunee

TISLER SALVAGE SPORT 4 FEATURE — Jessica Liegois, Oconto; Michael Verheyden, New Franken; Brandon Kaye, Green Bay; Jeff Behm, Clintonville; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski

HEATS 1) Behm; Kaye 2)Tony Everard, Green Bay; Verheyden

Posted under Race Reports on July 30th, 2011