Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Dart and Brumlic Claim 1st Victories at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on June 9th, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- “Felix” Todd Dart was victorious in the 20 lap IMCA Modified Main. Dart grabbed the lead on lap four on his way to victory. Point leader Tom Brumlic enhanced his point lead after his win in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stockcars) and Brian Bruechert (IMCA Sportmods) earned their second feature wins in their respective divisions. Ralph Liegeois won his fourth 4 Cylinder feature.

Tim Czarneski started fifth in the IMCA Modified feature but quickly rose to the occasion and bolted into the lead on lap 1. Todd Dart worked his way through early traffic and found himself in the second spot. Dart caught up to Czarneski and worked the back bumper. Dart shot low on lap 7 and passed Czarneski for the lead. Dart would lead until a caution for a Czarneski spin brought the field to his bumper. When the race restarted,
Dart jetted out front and ran to a comfortable 1st victory. Jeremy Jacobs edged Benji LaCrosse for second. Point leader Sean Jerovetz used his fourth place finish to gain a point on Shawn Kilgore, who finished fifth.

Cory Suchocki ran up front at the drop of the green flag of the IMCA Stockcar feature. Luke Lemmens would race to the back bumper and try numerous attempts to grab the lead. Brandon Czarapata started midpack and fought his way to the front and into second. Czarapata went low on Suchocki and emerged the leader on lap 8. Czarapata would get to at full straightaway lead until a lap 14 caution erased it. Czarapata would smoke the field on the restart over the final 6 laps to earn his second win in 2012 at Luxemburg. Greg Gretz and Troy Muench finished second and third. Leading man in the points, John Heinz finished top four with Dave DeGrave fifth.

Nick Mahlik emerged the early contender in the IMCA Sportmod feature after 2 early cautions halted the race. Mahlik would lead until Brandon Long moved into the lead on lap 3. Long would continue to lead as Brian Bruechert moved methodically through the field. Bruechert would get to the back bumper of Long after a lap 10 caution. Bruechert moved to the inside of Long on lap 12 and snatched the lead. Bruechert pulled away from the field for his second win of the season. Eric Mahlik settled for second place points. Long wound up third. Troy DeGrave and Josh Long rounded out the top 5.

Frank Dorn started on the pole and led the first few circuits of the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Dorn finally was passed by Wes Salentine who used the middle of the track to get around him on lap 4. Point leader Tom Brumlic shot quickly through the field and found his way to Salentine. Brumlic took his time and eventually made the pass on the bottom of the track with 6 laps to go. Brumlic took the checkers in front of Salentine, Derek Moede, Dave Schmidt and Mitch Vandermause. The race went green flag to checker flag.

Ralph Liegeois extended his point lead in the 4 Cylinder division with his fourth feature win on the season. Liegeois outlasted Dan Van Pay to pick up the win. Matt Kaye started 8th in the feature and wound up third.

The 54 Run will sponsor next week’s racing events. The Street Stocks will be back in action for the second time. Dad’s bring the kids and get a special deal to get into the races. Racing will get underway at 7 p.m. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Todd Dart, Algoma 2. Jeremy Jacobs, Algoma 3. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 4. Sean Jerovetz, Suamico 2. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

Consy- R.M. Van Pay, Denmark

Heats- #1 1. Billy Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay 2. Kilgore
#2 1. Danny Deau, Little Suamico 2. Russ Reinwald, Juneau
#3 1. LaCrosse 2. Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee 3. Troy Muench, Union 4. John Heinz, Green Bay 5. Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg

Consy- 1. Rob Waechter, Ellisville

Heats- #1 1. Gretz 2. Czarapata
#2 1. Charlie Kroll, Forestville 2. Heinz
#3 1. Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee 2. Muench

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 2. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 3. Brandon Long, Green Bay 4. Troy DeGrave, DePere 5. Josh Long, Green Bay

Consy- 1. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay

Heats- #1 1. Greg Potts, Green Bay 2. DeGrave
#2 1. Bradley Lautenbach, New Franken 2. Jake Maurer, DePere
#3 1. Nick Mahlik, Green Bay 2. Jeremy Cota, Oconto

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 2. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg 3. Derek Moede, Casco 4. Dave Schmidt, Kewaunee 5. Mitch Vandermause, Luxemburg

Heats- #1 1. Schmidt 2. Brumlic
#2 1. Moede 2. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto 2. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay 3. Matt Kaye, New Franken

Heat- 1. Liegeois 2. Van Pay

Previous Post: Industrial Stainless Night at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Triangle Distributing and The 54 Run Night at Luxemburg June 15th