Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Eric Arneson Earns First Career IMCA Modified Feature Win

Posted under Race Reports on May 19th, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- Eric Arneson earned his first career sanctioned IMCA Modified feature win at Luxemburg Speedway on Friday night. The win is his second modified win in as many weeks. Other winners were Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stocks) Jeremy Cota (IMCA Sportmods) Scott Boulanger(IMCA Hobby Stocks) Jason Kostichka(Street Stocks) and Brandon Kaye(4 Cylinders).

George Paul and Jason Kostichka started out the Street Stock main event side by side and kept it that way through the first part of the race. Kostichka would gain the advantage and would stay in front of the second place battle between Bob Czarapata and Paul. Tony Everard would join the battle and make his way to second but never catch the leader. Kostichka would win the main event in front of Everard and Paul. Czarapata would finish fourth one lap down with John Adams fifth.

Dennis Miesler shot in front of Chris Budzban from their front row starting spots in the IMCA Sportmod main. Jeremy Cota worked his way from fifth to second, guiding his racer on the top the track. Cota would run right on the top of the track to take the lead around Miesler. Cota would run to a ten car length lead as Brian Bruechert made his way to second. Bruechert would try different lines over the last ten laps to gain ground. Bruechert ran out of laps as he was able to make it to Cota’s bumper at the checkered flag. Tyler Hackett finished third with Eric Mahlik fourth. Miesler kept his machine in the top five.

Brandon Czarapata’s bad luck finally came to an end at Luxemburg in the IMCA Stockcar main event. Czarapata, who suffered mechanical issues in the opening two weeks, would not be denied in week three. Czarapata led every lap and never looked back in picking up his first win on the season at the speedway. A great battle three wide battle for second between Shawn Havel, Rob Waechter and John Heinz highlighted the event. Havel would eventually come away to finish second with Heinz third. Troy Muench would march from nineteenth to finish in the top four. Waechter finished in the top five.

Mitch Vandermouse garnered the top spot through the beginning of the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Rob Waechter would get right to the back bumper and try different ways to get around Vandermouse. A caution and Waechter going down pit lane would help Scott Boulanger make his way to second. A red flag would be thrown with eight laps to go for a Frank Dorn flip in turn two. The driver was fine. On the restart, Vandermouse was not able to come up to race speed quick enough as Boulanger would power to the lead on the outside. Boulanger would hold off Vandermouse for his second win in 2012. Sawyer Haese finished in third with point leader Tom Brumlic fourth and Waechter coming from pit lane to fifth.

Billy Lemieux rose to the front in the IMCA Modified main early. Lemieux would lead the first couple of circuits before Eric Arneson moved inside and grabbed the lead. Arneson would continue to lead throughout the race as Chad Bartel and Jared Siefert slipped into second and third. With Arneson running the bottom and Siefert right behind, Bartel would run the middle and top grooves. Bartel would find bite and get even with Arneson but not have enough to pull ahead. Arneson would pull away just a bit to win his first career sanctioned IMCA Modified Feature. Bartel nipped Siefert at the line for second. Jay Matthias would finish just in front of point leader Sean Jerovetz in fourth.

Ralph Liegeois Jr was a man on a mission in the 4 Cylinder feature. He seemed to have the race won until Brandon Kaye found bite and reeled in Liegeois. Liegeois would cut a tire after contact with Kaye. Kaye would pick up the win one lap later. Jody Cornelius, Dan Van Pay, Scott Johnson and Liegeois were the top five.

Next Friday Night May 25th, Flanigan Distributing will be sponsoring the races on Memorial weekend. Free popcorn will be offered to fans. The regular five divisions will be in action. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 2. Chad Bartel, Shiocton 3. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg 4. Jay Matthias DePere 5. Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico

Heats- #1 1. Danny Deau, Little Suamico 2. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay
#2 1. Siefert 2. Arneson
#3 1. Bartel 2. James Tebon, Algoma

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Shawn Havel, Algoma 3. John Heinz, Green Bay 4. Troy Muench, Union 5. Rob Waechter SR, Ellisville

Heats- #1 1. Czarapata 2. Havel
#2 1. Heinz 2. Matt Junio, Casco
#3 1. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton 2. Marcus Moede, Casco

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 3. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 4. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 5. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

Consy- Brandon Long, Green Bay

Heats- #1 1. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 2. Miesler
#2 1. Bruechert 2. Josh Long, Green Bay
#3 1. Mahlik 2. Christopher Budzban, Luxemburg

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2. Mitch Vandermouse, Green Bay 3. Sawyer Haese, New Franken 4. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 5. Rob Waechter Jr, Ellisville

Heats- #1 1. Brumlic 2. Boulanger
#2 1. Travis Hackett, Algoma 2. Waechter

Street Stock Feature- 1. Jason Kostichka, Green Bay 2. Tony Everard, Green Bay 3. George Paul, Kewaunee 4. Bob Czarapata, Krakow 5. John Adams, Denmark

Heat- 1. Paul 2. Czarapata

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Brandon Kaye, New Franken 2. Jody Cornelius, Oneida 3. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay 4. Scott Johnson 5. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto

Heat- 1. Liegeois 2. Kaye

Previous Post: Streets Stocks Shootout at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Flanigan Distributing Night at Luxemburg Speedway