Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Heinz Stays Perfect at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on May 12th, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- John Heinz stayed perfect at Luxemburg Speedway in 2012 with his IMCA Stockcar Feature win. Other winners on Algoma Motors night included Dan Ratajczak in the IMCA Modifieds, Rob Waechter Jr in the IMCA Hobby Stocks and Ryan Lemieux in the IMCA Northern Sportmods.

Brandon Czarapata led from the drop of the green in the IMCA Stockcar feature. Czarapata would dominate until a couple cautions midway through the race would keep everyone tight knit. On the restart, Czarapata would again bounce out in front of everyone. On lap eleven, Czarapata would have mechanical woes and turn the lead over to Troy Muench. With Muench out front, John Heinz would battle his way to second and hunt down the leader. Heinz would catch Muench with four laps to go. Heinz would try different lanes until Muench pushed out of turn four giving him a line. Heinz would grab the lead with two laps to go and hold off Muench for the win. Heinz is now two for two on feature wins at Luxemburg Speedway. Muench would grab second with Shawn Havel, Larry Karcz and Greg Gretz finishing in the top five.

Rob Waechter Jr would run a dominate race in picking up the IMCA Hobby Stock feature win. Waechter would lead from the drop of the green flag making quick work of Dave Schmidt. Waechter would instantly get pressure from Scott Boulanger who made his way from tenth to second in two laps. Boulanger would stay hot on the heels of Waechter until a flat tire would end his chances for a repeat win. Waechter would win his first ever feature at Luxemburg Speedway by a near half lap. Sawyer Haese would finish a career high second. Wes Salentine would finish third with point leader Tom Brumlic fourth. Derek Moede completed the top five. The feature went green to checker.

The “Rocket” Ryan Lemieux did just what his name insinuated as he jumped out front early in the IMCA Northern Sportmod feature. Lemieux would hold the lead through a series of midrace cautions. Brad Theys and Jeremy Cota would alternate the runner up spot but both made unsuccessful attempts at Lemieux. Lemieux stayed dominant and picked up his first win of the season. Theys would take second place money. Jesse Kroll passed Jeremy Cota at the line for third. Point leader Brad Lautenbach finished fifth.

Dan Ratajczak would lead every lap en route to his IMCA Modified feature win. Ratajczak used his front row starting spot to shoot out front with Todd Dart and Shawn Kilgore in tow. The lone caution flew on lap five for a spin on the front stretch. Ratajczak would stay in front of Dart on the restart. Kilgore would use the topside to make his way around Dart with five laps to go. Kilgore would then make his way to the back bumper of Ratajczak. Kilgore would keep trying the top but could not mount enough of a charge. Kilgore was able to get even at the white flag but Ratajczak would find just enough to win the main right in front of Kilgore. Dart finished a strong third. Jared Siefert and James Tebon made up fourth and fifth.

In a borrowed back up car, Ralph Liegeois Jr won the 4 Cylinder main over Michael Verheyden. Liegeois made his way from the sixth starting spot to take the win. Jerry Duggan would finish third.
Next Friday Night May 18th, Triangle Distributing and Y100.3 will be sponsoring the races. Street Stock will join the 5 regular divisions of racing. Green Flag Fly’s at 7 p.m. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428
IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station 2. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 3. Todd Dart, Algoma 4. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg 5. James Tebon, Algoma

Consy- 1. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay

Heats- #1 1. Dart 2. Ratajczak
#2 1. Kilgore 2. Siefert
#3 1. Jay Matthias, DePere 2. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. John Heinz, Green Bay 2. Troy Muench, Union 3. Shawn Havel, Algoma 4. Larry Karcz Jr, Pulaski 5. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee

Consy- 1. Rob Waechter Sr, Ellisville

Heats- #1 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton
#2 1. Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee 2. Heinz
#3 1. Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay 2. Matt Junio, Casco

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Ryan Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay 2. Brad Theys, Kewaunee 3. Jesse Kroll, Forestville 4. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 5. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken

Consy- 1. Troy DeGrave, DePere

Heats- #1 1. Christopher Budzban, Luxemburg 2. Tyler Hackett, Algoma
#2 1. Lemieux 2. Josh Long, Green Bay
#3 1. Theys 2. Kroll

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Rob Waechter Jr, Ellisville 2. Sawyer Haese, New Franken 3. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg 4. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 5. Derek Moede, Luxemburg

Heats- #1 1. Waechter 2. Brumlic
#2 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2. Mitch Vandermouse, Luxemburg

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Ralph Liegeois Jr, Oconto 2. Michael Verheyden, New Franken 3. Jerry Dugan, Mishicot

Heat- 1. VerHeyden 2. Brandon Kaye, New Franken

Previous Post: Algoma Motors Night and Mother’s Day Special at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Streets Stocks Shootout at Luxemburg Speedway