Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Jerovetz, Czarapata, Lautenbach, Brumlic and Liegeois Crowned 2012 Luxemburg Champions

Posted under Race Reports on September 1st, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- 3 of the 5 champions can now be called 1st time champs at Luxemburg Speedway. Sean Jerovetz (IMCA Modifieds) Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stockcars) and Tom Brumlic (IMCA Hobby Stocks) have all earned their first career divisional track titles at Luxemburg. Brad Lautenbach (IMCA Sportmods) and Ralph Liegeois (4 Cylinders) are now 2- time champs.

Nick Mahlik jumped out to the early lead in the IMCA Sportmod feature with Mark Joski in tow. Joski would battle up top and into the lead on lap 4. Joski would pull away from the field. Eric Mahlik entered the night 3 points ahead of Brad Lautenbach. Eric Mahlik would suffer a flat tire after contact Lautenbach. Mahlik would have to go down pit lane after a caution flew. Joski would run up front over the last few laps and pick up his first feature win of the season. Lautenbach would defend his 2011 championship with his second place finish. Greg Potts, Brian Bruechert and Jarred VanLaanen would round out the top 5.

Mark Schuenemann started third and bolted into the lead by the end of lap 1. He would continue to lead until the eventual race winning pass by Dustin Loberger. Loberger pulled along side Schuenemann on lap 4 and shot passed and into the lead. Loberger would cruise to over a straightaway win in the caution free race. The win was his first of the season. Troy Muench held the point lead for the first half of the feature event. Brandon Czarapata would eventually gain enough spots to secure the title. Loberger would win with Barry Van Straten second, Schuenemann third, Shawn Havel fourth and Czarapata fifth. The title was Czarapata first career Luxemburg IMCA Stockcar title.

Rob Waechter Jr started 3rd on the grid in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Waechter would have the lead at the end of the first lap. A caution on lap 6 brought the pack to his back bumper. On the restart, Frank Dorn got a good jump but coming off of turn four the car pushed, got loose and then carouse led into the front stretch wall. Dorn flipped his machine for the second time in just under 2 months. Dorn would be fine but the racecar was heavily damaged. Waechter would continue to lead even after Scott Boulanger took him around bringing out the caution. Waechter picked up his 4th win of the season. Eugene Gregorich Jr won a three car battle for second. Wes Salentine Tom Brumlic and Boulanger rounded out the top 5. Brumlic won his first career IMCA Hobby Stock track championship after many years of trying.

Bad luck would end the title hopes of Shawn Kilgore early in the IMCA Modified feature. Kilgore would suffer a broken spindle on the second lap of the feature; bringing out a caution and ending his night. Little did he know but Sean Jerovetz would be catapulted into the points lead. Chad Bartel jumped out and into the lead by a full straightaway once the race restarted. Benji LaCrosse made his way to second at lap 10. Over the final half of the race LaCrosse would chop into the lead every lap. Bartel would win his first feature of the season with LaCrosse on his bumper at the checkered flag. Eric Arneson, Jared Siefert and James Tebon finished in the top 5. Jerovetz finished midpack and covered his 4 point deficit. Jerovetz earned his first career Luxemburg IMCA Modified title.

Ralph Liegeois went from the back to the front early in the 4 Cylinder feature. He would spin while leading but come back to pick up the win. He now is a 2-time champion at Luxemburg in the 4 Cylinder division.

The final event at Luxemburg Speedway is the 2 day Fall Classic September 14th and 15th. The regular five divisions will be racing along with the Grand Nationals and Street Stocks. The Trailer Race of Destruction will cap off the season at the end of Saturday Night’s races. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428
IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Chad Bartel, Shiocton 2. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 3. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 4. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg 5. James Tebon, Algoma

Heats- #1 1. Arneson 2. Bartel
#2 1. Cory Cochart, Kewaunee 2. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken
#3 1. Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station 2. Tebon

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Dustin Loberger, Oconto 2. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton 3. Mark Schuenemann, Boulder Junction 4. Shawn Havel, Brussels 5. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton

Consy- Jesse Colwell, Greenleaf

Heats- #1 1. Van Straten 2. Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg
#2 1. Loberger 2. Czarapata
#3 1. Rob Waechter, Ellisville 2. Havel

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Mark Joski, New Franken 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 3. Greg Potts, Green Bay 4. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 5. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay

Heats- #1 1. Joski 2. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay
#2 1. Bruechert 2. Chris Budzban, Lac De Flambeau
#3 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Lautenbach

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Rob Waechter, Ellisville 2. Eugene Gregorich Jr 3. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg 4. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 5. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg

Heats- #1 1. Sawyer Haese, New Franken 2. Derek Moede, Casco
#2 1. Boulanger 2. Dave Schmidt, Algoma

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto 2. Scott Johnson, New Franken 3. Corey Ward, Green Bay

Heat- 1. Liegeois 2. Johnson

Previous Post: Tri-County Heating and Luxemburg Speedway Team-Up for Championship Night

Next Post: Luxemburg Fall Special News and Notes