Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Kilgore, DeGrave, Bruechert and Stueck earn 1st Victories at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on May 26th, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- A fast track made for exciting feature racing at Luxemburg Speedway. Scott Boulanger got into victory lane for the third time this season in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. First time winners on the season included, Shawn Kilgore(IMCA Modifieds) Dave DeGrave(IMCA Stockcars) Brian Bruechert(IMCA Sportmods) and Calvin Stueck (4 Cylinders)

A Jason Vandenhouten flip on the first lap halted the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. When the race started rolling again, Kelly Rabe started up front and looked sharp early on. Cory Cotter would work his way to second and charge down low on Rabe and grab the lead on lap five. A Caution on lap nine would bring everyone back together. On the restart, Scott Boulanger shot from third to second and right to the back bumper of Cotter. Boulanger would make his way underneath Cotter with five laps to go and cruise to his third win of the season. Cotter finished a season best second. Travis Hackett, Wes Salentine and Ryan Rohr completed the top five.

Greg Potts and Nick Mahlik traded the top spot over the first five laps of the IMCA Sportmod feature. With the two swapping the lead; Ryan Lemieux made his way from seventh to third. Lemieux tracked down the leaders and moved inside to the lead on lap seven. Point Leader Brad Lautenbach and Brian Bruechert would make their way into the top four by a lap seven caution. Lautenbach would snatch the lead from Lemieux with Bruechert and Tyler Hackett right there. A three car race ensued for the top spot. With four laps to go, Bruchert made a power move inside both Lautenbach and Hackett for the eventual winning move. Bruechert pulled out to a comfortable win with Lautenbach edging Hackett at the line. Potts finished a season best fourth with Eric Mahlik fifth.

Barry VanStraten used a front row starting spot to pace the first three laps of the IMCA Stockcar main. Dave DeGrave started third and shot to the inside of VanStraten on lap four. DeGrave would nab the lead and check out from the field. A lap nine caution would bring Brandon Czarapata and John Heinz to the back bumper of DeGrave for the restart. DeGrave, Czarapata and Heinz would run nose to tail until two laps to go. Czarapata would pull out of line to the outside of DeGrave. At the white flag, Czarapata gained on DeGrave off of turn two. Czarapata would then edge DeGrave off turn four crossing the checkered flag. As the leaders crossed the finish line a caution flag would fly. Per track rules, the race went back to the last completed lap because not all the cars crossed the finish line before the caution flew. DeGrave received the win with Czarapata second. Point leader John Heinz ran a strong third. Larry Karcz Jr and Shawn Havel rounded out the top five.

Seven cars made their way to the front of the IMCA Modified feature in a Talladega type race. Billy Lemieux led the charge with Tim Czarneski and Shawn Kilgore battling for second. With Czarneski working the top and Kilgore the bottom, Lemieux would hold steady with the top sport. Kilgore would eventually shoot to the outside of Lemieux and underneath Czarneski to grab the lead. Kilgore would run away to his first feature win of the season. James Tebon would lead Todd Dart to the checkers for second. Jared Siefert would march from a seventeenth starting spot to end up fourth. Point leader Sean Jerovetz finished fifth.

Calvin Stueck, Ralph Liegeois and Michael Verheyden swapped a little paint and the lead throughout the 4 Cylinder feature. Verheyden would lead early on but give way to Stueck and Liegeois. Stueck would take the feature win in his first run at the speedway. Liegeois would finish second with VerHeyden third.

Next Friday Night June 1st, Pack Distributing will be sponsoring the races. The Pedal Pusherettes will be on hand fresh off their ride for breast cancer awareness. All fans and drivers who purchased shirts are encouraged to show up in full support. Racing goes green at 7 p.m. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428
IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 2. James Tebon, Algoma 3. Todd Dart, Algoma 4. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg 5. Sean Jerovetz, Suamico

Heat- #1 1. R.M. Van Pay, Denmark 2. Kilgore
#2 1. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 2. Billy Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay
#3 1. Tim Czarneski, Denmark 2. Jerovetz

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg 2. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 3. John Heinz, Green Bay 4. Larry Karcz Jr, Pulaski 5. Shawn Havel, Algoma

Consy- Troy Muench, Brussels

Heats- #1 1. DeGrave 2. Heinz
#2 1. Czarapata 2. Dave Bouche, Algoma
#3 1. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton 2. Marcus Moede, Casco

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 3. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 4. Greg Potts, Green Bay 5. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay

Consy- Troy DeGrave, DePere

Heats- #1 1. J.J. Anderson, Pulaski 2. Mark Joski, New Franken
#2 1. Josh Long, Green Bay 2. Bruechert
#3 1. Chad Kaminski, Denmark 2. Potts

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2. Cory Cotter, Suamico 3. Travis Hackett, Algoma 4. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg 5. Ryan Rohr, Casco

Heats- #1 1. Hackett 2. Salentine
#2 1. Dean Anhalt, Mishicot 2. Boulanger

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto 3. Michael VerHeyden, New Franken 4. Brandon Kaye, New Franken 5. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay

Heat- 1. Liegeois 2. Stueck

Previous Post: Flanigan Distributing Night at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Pack Distributing and Pedal Pusher Night at Luxemburg Speedway