Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Kilgore wins 1st Annual Bob Thielke Memorial Race at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on August 11th, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- Shawn Kilgore has inched closer to that illusive Luxemburg IMCA Modified crown with his feature win Friday night. Kilgore picked up the 1st annual Bob Thielke Memorial race win. Other winners included Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stockcars) Eric Mahlik (IMCA Sportmods) Derek Moede (IMCA Hobby Stocks) Von Eytcheson (Street Stocks) and Calvin Stueck (4 Cylinders)

Mike Wedelstadt and Tyler Hackett waged a war in the IMCA Modified feature that would last all race long. The duo started up front and led the whole race battling back and forth. Point leader, Shawn Kilgore would dice his way through the field and into third throughout the early stages of the race. Kilgore would benefit from a caution with five laps to go. Kilgore would shoot outside of both Hackett and Wedelstadt and jump to the lead. Kilgore would pull away over the final few laps to pick up the 1st annual Bob Thielke Memorial Race win. With the win he would extend his point lead in the process. Wedelstadt would nip Hackett at the line for second. Kyle Lentz and Russ Reinwald secured top five finishes.

Scott Stewart led the initial laps of the IMCA Stockcar feature through two early caution periods. When the race finally stayed green; Brandon Czarapata made a three wide pass on both Stewart and Shawn Havel. Czarapata would have to stage off an early race battle with Havel. He would pull away after the final 18 laps went green to checker. Czarapata picked up his 4th win of the season by over a full straightaway. Havel finished second with Dustin Loberger third. Larry Karcz Jr finished fourth after an early incident led him down pit lane. John Heinz inched closer in the standings with his fifth place finish.

Cautions were the name of the game in the IMCA Sportmod feature. 7 cautions plagued the race shortened event. Andy Ratacjzak looked strong early on in the IMCA Sportmod main. Eric Mahlik used an early restart to gain advantage with point leader Brad Lautenbach right behind. Mahlik would lead Lautenbach through a series of cautions. Lautenbach tried multiple lines but to no avail. Mahlik won his second feature of the season. Lautenbach settled for the good point’s night in second. Jarred VanLaanen finished third. Jeremy Cota, who started 21st; came through the field to finish fourth. Troy DeGrave wound up fifth.

Frank Dorn dominated the early part of the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Rob Waechter Jr made his way into the lead with a power move outside of Dorn on lap 7. Tom Brumlic and Derek Moede shot through the field and started to catch Waechter. Coming to the white flag, Brumlic was able to mount a charge on Waechter. With Waechter working the bottom, Brumlic used the outside to gain the advantage off of turn four. Waechter and Brumlic had an altercation which nearly sent Brumlic into the wall. Waechter crossed the line first but was disqualified for the last lap incident. Derek Moede who passed Brumlic was awarded the win. With Moede winning his first feature of the season, he cut into Brumlic’s point lead by 1. Brumlic maintained second with Scott Boulanger and Wes Salentine rounding out the top 4.

George Paul graced in the front of the line in the beginning of the Street Stock feature. Von Eytcheson moved into the lead using the bottom of the track. Eytcheson would lead through the two midrace cautions. Eytcheson would cruise to the win with Jason Kostichka, Jasper Drengler, Paul and Allan Schlueter finishing in the top five.

Calvin Stueck cruised to a near half lap victory in the 4 Cylinder Feature. It was his second win in a row.

Luxemburg Implement will bring their sponsorship to Luxemburg Speedway next Friday night August 17th. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 2. Mike Wedelstadt, New London 3. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 4. Kyle Lentz, Green Bay 5. Russ Reinwald, Juneau

Consy- 1. Cory Cochart, Luxemburg

Heats- #1 1. Brad Theys, Luxemburg 2. Hackett
#2 1. Brian Joski, Abrams 2. Lentz
#3 1. Wedelstadt 2. Tim Czarneski, Denmark

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Shawn Havel, Algoma 3. Dustin Loberger, Oconto 4. Larry Karcz Jr, Pulaski 5. John Heinz, Green Bay

Consy- 1. Brandon Gagnon, White Law

Heats- #1 1. Loberger 2. Stewart
#2 1. Czarapata 2. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee
#3 1. Karcz 2. Heinz

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 2. Bradley Lautenbach, New Franken 3. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay 4. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 5. Troy DeGrave, DePere

Heats- #1 1. Nick Mahlik, Green Bay 2. DeGrave
#2 1. Ryan Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay 2. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee
#3 1. J.J. Anderson, Pulaski 2. Joshua Long, Green Bay

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Derek Moede, Casco 2. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 3. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 4. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg

Heats- #1 1. Frank Dorn, Luxemburg 2. Salentine
#2 1. Boulanger 2. Ryan Rohr, Kewaunee

Street Stock Feature- 1. Von Eytcheson, Forestville 2. Jason Kostichka, Green Bay 3. Jasper Drengler 4. George Paul, Kewaunee 5. Allan Schlueter, Oconto

Heats- #1 1. Eytcheson 2. Todd Polster, Beaverton
#2 1. Paul 2. Schlueter

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 3. Mike Montie 4. Cory Ward 5. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto

Heats- #1 1. Stueck 2. Montie
#2 1. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay 2. Jerry Duggan, Manitowoc

Previous Post: Races for 8/10 are ON!

Next Post: Luxemburg Implement and Showcase Kitchens Night at Luxemburg Speedway