Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

LaCrosse Wins in Modifieds at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on August 18th, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- Benji LaCrosse proved that you don’t have to start up front on a tacky track to win the feature. LaCrosse won his last chance race and battled from a 16th starting spot to pick up the win. With 2 nights remaining, division trailers closed the gap on the point leaders.

Brian Joski started up front and was jumping out early in the IMCA Modified feature. Joski battled through an early caution and set sail. Benji LaCrosse started 16th and moved through the field and found his way to second by lap 7. LaCrosse knocked off car lengths lap after lap and eventually made his way to the back bumper of Joski. LaCrosse stayed low and used the bottom of the track to grab the lead on lap 9. LaCrosse would cruise the final 11 laps to pick up his fourth victory of the season. Shawn Kilgore would come into the night with a 10 point advantage over Sean Jerovetz and a 20 point lead over James Tebon. Kilgore was sidelined early with motor issues. Tebon would finish second. Jason Czarapata made his way through the last chance race to finish third. R.M. Van Pay and Jeremy Jacobs rounded out the top five. With 2 weeks remaining, Kilgore has a 1 point advantage over Jerovetz and a 3 point cushion on Tebon.

Brandon Gagnon earned his keep in the IMCA Stockcar feature early on. He ran up front and held off early charges from Dave Bouche. Bouche eventually worked his way inside and into the lead on lap 6. Brandon Czarapata and Troy Muench worked their way up to the front with Czarapata using the top of the track. Czarapata ran up top and passed Bouche on lap 12. Czarapata distanced himself from the field to pick up his division leading 5th win. Muench would only lose a point to Czarapata in the standings with his runner-up finish. Rob Waechter finished third with Bouche and Shawn Havel finishing in the top 5.

Mark Joski used the top birm of the race track to shoot ahead of the IMCA Sportmod field. A couple of cautions early in the race allowed the field to stay to the back bumper of Joski. Joski would again pull away on the restart. Eric Mahlik started midpack and maneuvered his way to the front. Mahlik would make his way to second and start tracking down Joski. With the top two solidly out front, Mahlik stayed up top and caught Joski. With 3 laps to go Mahlik diamonded corners 3 and 4 and shot into the lead. Mahlik would cross the checker flag first for the second straight week. With the win, Mahlik moved 1 point behind division leader Brad Lautenbach. Joski settled for his best finish of the season in second. J.J. Anderson, Greg Potts and Jarred VanLaanen finished top 5.

Frank Dorn found himself at the front of the IMCA Hobby Stock feature when the green flag fell. A scary moment on lap 1 occurred when Rob Waechter Jr blew a tire and then broke an axle sending his ride into a barrel roll in turn 2. Waechter’s was fine but his night was clearly over. Dorn resumed the race in the lead but quickly fell to Ryan Rohr. Rohr would lead until Scott Boulanger cruised by on lap 9. Boulanger would pull away to his 6th feature win of the season. He earned a clean sweep after also winning his heat race. Wes Salentine would finish second with Rohr third. Tom Brumlic picked up a point over Derek Moede when he beat him back to the line for fourth.

Dan Van Pay won the 4 Cylinder feature over Ralph Liegeois. The win was his 4th on the year.

Next Friday Night August 24th, Manitowoc Motor Machine and A Can Again will sponsor the show. The five regular divisions will be racing with only 2 point nights remaining. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.
IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 2. James Tebon, Algoma 3. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 4. R.M. Van Pay, Denmark 5. Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg

Consy- 1. LaCrosse

Heats- #1 1. Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station 2. Kyle Lentz, Green Bay
#2 1. Brad Theys, Kewaunee 2. Tyler Hackett, Algoma
#3 1. Danny Deau, Little Suamico 2. Brian Joski, Abrams

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Troy Muench, Union 3. Rob Waechter, Ellisville 4. Dave Bouche, Algoma 5. Shawn Havel, Algoma

Consy- Mark Schuenemann, Boulder Junction

Heats- #1 1. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton 2. John Heinz, Green Bay
#2 1. Muench 2. Havel
#3 1. Waechter 2. Scott Stewart, Oconto

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 2. Mark Joski, New Franken 3. J.J. Anderson, Pulaski 4. Greg Potts, Green Bay 5. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay

Heats- #1 1. Christopher Budzban, Parts Unknown 2. Mahlik
#2 1. Anderson 2. Nick Mahlik, Green Bay

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg 3. Ryan Rohr, Kewaunee 4. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 5. Derek Moede, Casco

Heats- #1 1. Frank Dorn, Luxemburg 2. Salentine
#2 1. Boulanger 2. Cory Cotter, Suamico

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay 2. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto 3. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 4. Calvin Nowak 5. Trent Nolan, Shawano

Heats- #1 1. Liegeois 2. Jeff Behm, Clintonville
#2 1. Stueck 2. Van Pay

Previous Post: Luxemburg Implement and Showcase Kitchens Night at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: 2012 Fall Classic Information – September 14th & 15th