Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Potts Earns First Career Feature Win at Luxemburg Speedway.

Posted under Race Reports on June 30th, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- One memory that every driver will always remember is where they won their first feature win at. Greg Potts will be no exception to this. Potts picked up his first career feature win in the IMCA Northern Sportmods Friday Night. Other winners were Eric Arneson (IMCA Modifieds) Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stockcars) Scott Boulanger (IMCA Hobby Stocks) Dan Van Pay (4 Cylinders)

Jake Maurer started up front and swapped the lead with Chris Budzban over the first few laps of the IMCA Sportmod feature. Budzban would take control on lap 3 only to have Greg Potts work his way inside and into the lead. Potts would pull away from the field until a lap 12 caution brought the field to his back bumper. Potts would fend off Jeremy Cota through numerous restarts to win his first career feature. Cota earned second place points followed by Josh Long, Troy DeGrave and Dennis Miesler.

Casey Groessel led the opening laps of the IMCA Stockcar main event. Barry VanStraten ran up front and to the outside of Groessel on lap 5. VanStraten would lead all of 1 lap before Brandon Czarapata would dive down low and into the top spot. Czarapata would pull away to a straightaway win over the final 14 laps to win his third feature of the season. Van Straten beat Jeremy Jauquet to the line for second. John Heinz and Ben Kroll rounded out the top 5.

Travis Hackett was the top dog in the IMCA Hobby Stocks for the first 6 laps. Scott Boulanger ran down Hackett and on lap 7 moved to the inside for the lead. Boulanger grabbed the lead just before a caution flag would fly. Hackett’s night would end with mechanical woes on the restart. Rob Waechter Jr made his way to second and tried to catch Boulanger. Boulanger would keep his distance over the remainder of the feature to pick up his fourth win. Waechter finished second with point leader Tom Brumlic third. Mitch Vandermause finished fourth after starting 16th. Cory Cotter ran a solid top 5.

Dan Ratajczak started third but would be the leader by the end of lap 1 of the IMCA Modified finale. Ratajczak would continue to lead until he spun on lap 3 bringing out the caution. Eric Arneson would take the lead from the drop of the green. Jeremy Jacobs would apply heavy pressure through the first half of the race. Sean Jerovetz shot through the field and tracked down the top 2. Jerovetz would shoot high and grab the lead coming with 5 laps to go. Jerovetz would be the leader with three laps to go when the final caution waved. Arneson shot deep into the corner on the restart and was able to gain the advantage on Jerovetz. The two would run side by side over the final lap and a half. Arneson would just edge Jerovetz off of the final corner for the rookie’s second win. Jerovetz inherited the point lead with his second place finish. Jason Czarapata made a late race charge to finish third ahead of Jacobs. Todd Dart finished fifth.

Dan VanPay now has two straight 4 Cylinder feature wins to his credit. Van Pay held off Calvin Stueck to win the event. Point leader Ralph Liegeois finished third.

Next Friday Night July 6th, Pepsi Bottling and The Village Kitchen will sponsor the races. A fireworks display will take place after the races. The five regular divisions will be in action with racing starting at 7 p.m. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428
IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 2. Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico 3. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 4. Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg 5. Todd Dart, Algoma

Heats- #1 1. R.M. VanPay, Denmark 2. Jerovetz
#2 1. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 2. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg
#3 1. Czarapata 2. Jacobs
IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton 3. Josh Long, Green Bay 4. John Heinz, Green Bay 5. Ben Kroll, New Franken

Consy- 1. Dustin Loberger, Oconto

Heats- #1 1. Jauquet 2. Troy Muench, Union
#2 1. VanStraten 2. Larry Karcz, Pulaski
#3 1. Czarapata 2. Scott Stewart, Oconto

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Greg Potts, Green Bay 2. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 3. Josh Long, Green Bay 4. Troy DeGrave, DePere 5. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

Consy- 1. Doug Mahlik, Green Bay

Heats- #1 1. Long 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken
#2 1. DeGrave 2. Chad Kaminski, Denmark
#3 1. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay 2. Potts

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2. Rob Waechter Jr, Ellisville 3. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 4. Mitch Vandermause, Green Bay 5. Cory Cotter, Suamico

Heats- #1 1. Boulanger 2. Waechter
#2 1. Derek Moede, Casco 2. Hackett

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay 2. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 3. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto 4. Trent Nolan Shawano 5. Scott Johnson, New Franken

Heats- #1 1. Nolan 2. Johnson
#2 1. Stueck 2. Van Pay

Previous Post: Upcoming June/July Events at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Fireworks at Luxemburg Speedway