Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

R.M. Van Pay Returns To Victory Lane at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on August 4th, 2012

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography (

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- R.M. Van Pay has over 100 career feature wins in an IMCA Modified. You can add 1 after Friday Night. Van Pay edged Benji LaCrosse to pick up the win. Other winners included: John Heinz (IMCA Stockcars) Josh Long (IMCA Sportmods) Tom Brumlic (IMCA Hobby Stocks) Calvin Stueck (4 Cylinders)

Eric Malfroid started up front and took early command of the IMCA Stockcar feature. A run in with Larry Karcz Jr and Greg Gretz while battling for position sent Malfroid spinning. John Heinz quickly ran to the front after starting 11th. Heinz would grab the lead and looked to gain points on Troy Muench in the standings. Two cautions midrace would allow for the pack to remain with Heinz. Muench would make his way to second and pester the back of Heinz the rest of the way. Heinz would hold off Muench to pick up his fourth win of the season. Muench would lose one point to Heinz finishing second. Brandon Czarapata, Gretz and Luke Lemmens rounded out the top five.

Three cautions in the first five laps of the IMCA Hobby Stock feature would put a damper on the race early. The final fifteen laps would go caution free with Sawyer Haese and Scott Boulanger battling for the lead early. Boulanger would clear Haese with Tom Brumlic moving into second. With Boulanger out front and working the bottom; Brumlic moved up and used the great momentum off the corners to catch Boulanger. Brumlic moved past and into the lead. On the final lap, Brumlic bobbled just enough to allow Boulanger to the inside. Boulanger gave one final shove for the lead but came up short. Brumlic increased his point lead with his second win of the season. Boulanger settled for second with Derek Moede, Haese and Wes Salentine finishing in the top five.

Nick Mahlik started on the front row and led the opening laps of the IMCA Sportmod main. A push in turn one would allow J.J. Anderson and Josh Long to make a 3 wide pass for the lead. A caution a few laps later would give Anderson the advantage. On the restart, Long went up top and made the pass on Anderson. Point leader Brad Lautenbach ran to third and looked for an opening on the leaders. Long and Anderson would exchange the lead with Lautenbach not finding any holes. Anderson would lead at the white flag. Long would find bite on top off the final corner and win his second feature of the season by a bumper over Anderson. Lautenbach extended his point lead over Bruechert who finished fourth. Jeremy Cota finished fifth.

Rookie Brad Theys led the opening lap of the IMCA Modified feature before giving way to Dan Ratajczak. Ratajczak used the very top of the track to put distance on everyone in the field except Russ Reinwald. The next few laps saw Reinwald run the bottom to catch Ratajczak. A caution with eight laps remaining setup a shootout. R.M. Van Pay and Benji LaCrosse would make their ways to the front of the field after the restart. Van Pay would charge inside of Ratajczak with two laps to go. Van Pay would take off and hold off a last lap advance by Benji LaCrosse to win his first feature of 2012. Shawn Kilgore finished third and regained the point lead that he had earlier in the season. Lance Arneson ran fourth with Reinwald fifth.

Calvin Stueck picked up a near half lap victory in the 4 Cylinder feature. The win netted him a clean sweep on the evening.

Next Friday Night August 10th, The Four way is sponsoring the races. The Street Stocks will join the 5 regular divisions. Racing gets underway at 7 p.m. Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. The track’s website is For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. R.M. Van Pay, Denmark 2. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 3. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 4. Lance Arneson, Krakow 5. Russ Reinwald, Juneau

Consy- 1. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski

Heats- #1 1. Kilgore 2. Ratajczak
#2 1. Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg 2. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls
#3 1. Reinwald 2. LaCrosse

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. John Heinz, Green Bay 2. Troy Muench, Union 3. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 4. Greg Gretz, Kewaunee 5. Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee

Consy- Dustin Loberger, Oconto

Heats- #1 1. Gretz 2. Lemmens
#2 1. Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg 2. Eric Malfroid, Luxemburg
#3 1. Rob Waechter, Ellisville 2. Jeremy Jauquet, Green Bay

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Josh Long, Green Bay 2. J.J. Anderson, Pulaski 3. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 4. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 5. Jeremy Cota, Oconto

Heats- #1 1. Anderson 2. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay
#2 1. Bruechert 2. Nick Mahlik, Green Bay
#3 1. Lautenbach 2. Cota

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 2. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 3. Derek Moede, Casco 4. Sawyer Haese, New Franken 5. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg

Heats- #1 1. Moede 2. Travis Hackett, Algoma
#2 1. Frank Dorn, Luxemburg 2. Dean Anhalt, Luxemburg

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Trent Nolan, Shawano 3. Scott Johnson, Green Bay 4. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto 5. Calvin Nowak, Abrams

Heats- #1 1. Liegeois 2. Nolan
#2 1. Stueck 2. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay

Previous Post: Hunting Bows Raffled off This Friday at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Bob Thielke Memorial Race at Luxemburg Speedway