Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Algoma Drivers Finish 1 and 2 at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on June 8th, 2013

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- To finish in the top 4 of the IMCA Modified feature you pretty much had to be from Algoma. 3 of the top 4 finishers call Algoma home. Todd Dart finished 1st in the IMCA Modified feature.

Other feature winners included: Brandon Czarapata(IMCA Stockcars) Jeremy Cota(IMCA Sportmods) Scott Boulanger(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Keith Kickbusch(Street Stocks)

Justin Mahlberg led the opening laps of the Street Stock main event until Fred Davister took charge of the show. Davister would keep his lock onto the lead until point leader Keith Kickbusch charged to the back bumper. Kickbusch worked his way around Davister and into the lead on lap 8 and never relinquished it. Ryan Manthei started the feature in the 13th position and charged into second but ran out of laps to take his crack at the leader. Kickbusch kept his season perfect with his third feature win. Manthei finished second with Davister, Gary Kasperek and Josh Novak rounding out the top 5. The feature event went caution free.

Tyler Wilson started on the pole in the IMCA Sportmod feature and quickly demanded the lead. He would work with the lead with Jeremy Cota finding his way to second. Cota would use the top of the racetrack to gain the advantage on Wilson just before a series of cautions would keep everyone close. Cota would keep the lead for the remainder of the race but not before getting a late race scare from Josh Long. With only a couple of laps remaining, Cota had to slow down for lapped traffic. Cota would dice through the remaining traffic and pick up the win with Long in tow. Ryan Lemieux finished third with Troy DeGrave and Chris Budzban fourth and fifth.

Jordan Parma graced his way into the lead for the first couple of laps in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Scott Boulanger would shoot up front and into the lead on lap 3. Derek Moede would find second after a battle with Dean Anhalt. Boulanger would have to pull away after a caution with 6 laps remaining to secure his second win of the season. Moede and Anhalt finished second and third. Wes Salentine became the point leader after his fourth place finish. Cory Cotter finished fifth.

The bad luck was finally off the back of early race leader Rob Waechter. Waechter led from the drop of the green flag of the IMCA Stockcar feature. Waechter looked as tough as nails leading through the first cautions. Shawn Havel and Brandon Czarapata would make their way passed Waechter after a lap 9 caution. Havel would lead for 3 laps until giving up the winning pass to Czarapata. Czarapata would cruise to his second win of the season and increase his point lead. Waecther finished a season best third. After a last lap altercation, Tom Brumlic and Dave Bouche rounded out the top 5.

Tyler Hackett started on the pole of the IMCA Modified feature and looked very fast out of the gate. Hackett shot into the lead with Todd Dart racing to second. Once racing restarted after a couple of cautions, it was a 2 car race. Dart was able to work the bottom of Hackett and gain the lead halfway through the race. Dart was able to pick up his first win of the season after keeping Hacket at bay in second. Shawn Kilgore made a late race charge to third with James Tebon finished fourth. Point leader Brian Mullen finished with a top 5.

Next Friday Night June 14th, Luxemburg Implement will be sponsoring the races at Luxemburg Speedway. A kids coin drop will take place at intermission courtesy of The Bank of Luxemburg. A plywood race will finish the evening off.

Keep in contact with Luxemburg Speedway for the 2013 season. The track’s website is Check us out on Facebook at Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Todd Dart, Algoma 2. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 3. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 4. James Tebon, Algoma 5. Brian Mullen

Consy-1. Lance Arneson, Krakow

Heats #1 1. Chad Bartel, Shiocton 2. Todd Dart, Algoma
#2 1. Mike Joski, Green Bay 2. Cory Cochart, Kewaunee
#3 1. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 2. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Shawn Havel, Algoma 3. Rob Waechter, Luxemburg 4. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 5. Dave Bouche, Algoma

Consy-1.Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski

Heats #1 1.Mike Coel, Pulaski 2. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton
#2 1. Adam White, Green Bay 2. Shawn Havel, Algoma
#3 1. Rob Waechter, Luxemburg 2. Tony Bouche, Algoma

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Josh Long, Suamico 3. Ryan Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay 4. Troy DeGrave, Luxemburg 5. Christopher Budzban, Detroit Rock City, MI

Heats-#1 1.Josh Long, Suamico 2. Jeremy Cota, Oconto
#2 1. Christopher Budzban, Detroit Rock City, MI 2. Andy Kleczka, Suamico

IMCA Hobby Feature- 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2. Derek Moede, Casco 3. Dean Anhalt, Mishicot 4. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg 5. Cory Cotter, Little Suamico

Heats#1 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2. Dan VanPay, Green Bay
#2 1. Derek Moede, Casco 2. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg

Street Stock Feature- 1. Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee 2. Ryan Manthei, Green Bay 2. Fred Davister, Sugar Bush 4. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 5. Josh Novak, Appleton

Heats- #1 1. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 2. Ryan Manthei, Green Bay
#2 1. Marcus Moede, Algoma 2. Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee

Previous Post: 54 Run and Miller Beer Night This Friday at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Plywood Races and Kids Coin Drop at Luxemburg Speedway