Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Czarapata Cashes In At Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on June 28th, 2013

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- The one question on everyone’s mind was who would take the $4,000 pay day, visitor or local? After 40 laps of Modified racing it was a local in Jason Czarapata.

Andy Ratajczak earned his first career victory in an IMCA Sportmod.

Scott Boulanger again made strides into getting back to the championship running with his IMCA Hobby Stock win.

The IMCA Hobby Stocks started the feature racing out with a feature that went caution free. The race went green flag to checker flag with Sawyer Haese starting out as the early leader. Haese ran up front from the start of the race until Aaron Zellner grabbed the top spot on lap 3. Zellner was solidly out front of the pack as Scott Boulanger methodically made his way to second place. Boulanger got into second halfway through the race and started to run down the leader. Boulanger got to the back bumper of Zellner and made the winning pass down low with three laps remaining in the race. Zellner again would finish as bridesmaid to Boulanger. Rookie, Dan Van Pay finished third with Haese and Derek Moede rounding out the top five.

Brian Bruechert and Chris Budzban made up the front row of the IMCA Sportmod Feature and jetted off as the top guns early on. Andy Ratajczak made his way to third and used the outside lane of the racetrack to track down Budzban for second. The duo would battle with Bruechert up front until the lone caution flew on lap ten. Bruechert would get a great restart and stay by himself in the lead with Ratajczak claiming second. With seven laps to go, Ratajczak started reeling in the leader using the top of the track. Ratajczak worked to the outside of Bruechert and grabbed the lead at the white flag. Ratajczak would lead the final lap to pick up his first career feature win. Bruechert led every lap but the last and finished second. Budzban finished third with Greg Potts fourth and point leader, Josh Long fifth.

One of the visitors on the evening saw the pole position for the start of the Modified Feature. Darrin Duffy took the green flag with Jason Czarapata to his outside. The only caution of the race would fly before the first lap was complete. 40 laps of caution free racing ensued. Duffy would lead the opening two circuits of the feature before Czarapata would make the race winning pass through the middle of the track. Czarapata would remain the leader with Shawn Kilgore starting to knock off cars getting to the front. Kilgore became a man on a mission passing cars lap after lap and eventually getting into second on lap fifteen. Kilgore would use every ounce of his car to finally get to the back bumper of Czarapata with fifteen laps to go. Czarapata would then pull away in the remaining laps after working his way through lapped traffic. Czarapata collected the $4,000 pay day for his win. Kilgore came home with second place money. Duffy came from Iowa for a third place finish. Jared Siefert won a race long battle for fourth. Rookie driver, Eric Mahlik had a strong run in fifth.

Next Thursday Night July 4th, The Corn Belt Clash Late Model series with be racing at Luxemburg Speedway. The Modifieds will be running as a support class.

Next Friday Night July 5th, The Corn Belt Clash will run a complete 2nd show with Scott Bloomquist racing. The IMCA Stockcars and Street Stocks will be racing for points.

Check out for series information.

Keep in contact with Luxemburg Speedway for the 2013 season. The track’s website is Check us out on Facebook at Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.

Modified Feature- 1. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 2. Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee 3. Darrin Duffy, Urbana, IA 4. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg 5. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay

Consy #1 Jay Matthias DePere
#2 Bradley Lautenbach, New Franken

Heats- #1 1. Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station 2. Mahlik
#2 1. James Tebon, Algoma 2. Siefert
#3 1. Duffy 2 Czarapata
#4 1. Lance Arneson, Krakow 2. Brian Mullen, Seymour

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Andy Ratajczak, Frog Station 2. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 3. Christopher Budzban, Rock City, WI 4. Greg Potts, DePere 5. Josh Long, Saumico

Heats- #1 1. Ricky Mott, Two Rivers 2. Bruechert
#2 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Ryan Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 2. Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg 3. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay 4. Sawyer Haese, New Franken 5. Derek Moede, Casco

Heats- #1. 1.Boulanger 2. Moede
#2 1. Van Pay 2. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg

Previous Post: $4,000 To Win Modifieds This Friday, June 28th at Luxemburg

Next Post: Corn Belt Clash at Luxemburg Speedway on July 4th and 5th