Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Final Checkered Flag has Fallen in 2013 at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on September 15th, 2013

By Greg Aregoni
Badger Stockcar report by Joe Verdegan

(Luxemburg, WI)- The checkered flag has fallen on the 2013 season at Luxemburg Speedway. Fall Classic winner’s included Benji LaCrosse(Modifieds) Dustin Loberger(Badger Stockcar Tour) Andy Kleczka(Sportmods) Jerry Winkler(Street Stocks) and Scott Boulanger(Hobby Stocks)

Troy Jerovetz drew the lucky dog pole and started up front of the Modified feature. He led the opening lap before the 1st caution flag flew on lap 2. Benji LaCrosse darted into the 2nd spot and made his presence felt. He shot into the lead and took off from the field. Shawn Kilgore joined the fun by the final caution of the race on lap 10. LaCrosse would leave the duo to settle who would win the runner-up prize as LaCrosse decimated the field over the final 15 laps to pick up the winners check of $1,500. Jerovetz would win the race long battle over Kilgore for 2nd. Mike Mullen beat his dad Brian Mullen to the line for 4th.

Jarred VanLaanen used his outside pole starting spot to jump into the lead of the Sportmod main. Andy Kleczka would get the top spot the next lap only to see the caution flag fly handing the lead back to VanLaanen. Tracy Wassenberg joined the duo on the caution and flew into the lead down low on the restart. Wassenberg would hook up on the outside of the track and be well on his way to victory until a caution with 7 laps remaining put a halt to the win. On the restart, Wassenberg was on top and Kleczka timed the restart perfectly. Kleczka made the pass and would keep Wassenberg at bay to win the main event. Brian Bruechert charged through the field to finish 3rd. Troy DeGrave finished 4th with Josh Long 5th.

Shawn Haydon looked smooth early on in the Street Stock show. Haydon, Gary Kasperek and Jerry Winkler checked out from the field initially. With Kasperek and Haydon duking it out; Winkler tip toed on the bottom and made the 3 wide pass for the lead. A caution with 4 laps to go set up a final dash. Keith Kickbusch was able to make a run into 2nd but was only able to get to the back bumper of Winkler. Winkler picked up the W just ahead of Kickbusch. Jon Ashcraft stole 3rd place away from Kasperek late. Haydon wound up 5th.

Cody Junio and Derek Moede started up front in the Hobby Stock and stayed next to each other almost the whole feature. Junio led the opening lap with Derek Moede taking control on the next circuit. Scott Boulanger became involved on lap 6th and made a bid for the lead. Boulanger would keep his machine hooked up and drove into the lead and away from the field. Boulanger picked up the fall classic win. Junio won the battle for 2nd over Moede. Rob Waechter Jr and Sawyer Haese finished out the top 5.

Oconto’s Dustin Loberger shaded Union’s Troy Muench and Oconto’s Scott Stewart in the final laps and went on to win the caution free Badger Stock Tour feature presented by Kick Ass Drive Train & Iron Horse Recycling.

Loberger outraced polesitter Billy LeMieux at the drop of the green and immediately built up a four car length lead. As the laps went on Stewart, who is Loberger’s teammate, opted for the high line and pulled door-to-door alongside of Loberger on more than one occasion.

Meanwhile Muench, who started seventh, picked his way through the field by lap ten and grabbed third. Muench made it a three car tussle for the lead by the halfway point of lap 13.

The three raced hard right up the final checkers, with Loberger picking up the win. Muench nabbed second at the line over Stewart, who collected his second BST podium finish having won the BST opener at Seymour Speedway July 17. Current BST points leader “Hot Rod” Snellenberger of Pulaski took fourth. Green Bay’s John Heinz rounded out the top five and earned the hard charger award, battling his way into the big show by winning one of two last chance qualifiers.

A total of 42 BST stock cars checked in to compete at Luxemburg.

The season finale for the BST will be Saturday, October 5 during day 2 of 141 Speedways Creek Classic in Francis Creek.For more information please check out our page on Facebook, or call (920) 676 5990 for further information.


30 LAP IRON HORSE SALES & SERVICE BADGER STOCK TOUR PRESENTED BY KICK ASS DRIVE TRAIN & IRON HORSE RECYCLING “A” MAIN 1st) Dustin Loberger, Oconto 2nd) Troy Muench, Union 3rd) Scott Stewart, Oconto 4th) Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski 5th) John Heinz, Green Bay 6th) Justin Jacobson, Black Creek 7th) Shawn Havel, Algoma 8th) Bob Waechter, Ellisville 9th) Dan Michonski, Marion 10th) Barry Van Straten, Hortonville 11th) Mike Schmidt, Shawano 12th) Billy LeMieux, Sturgeon Bay 13th) Tom Brumlic, Denmark 14th) Dave Hoerning, Appleton 15th) Dave DeGrave, Luxemburg 16th) Tony Bouche, Algoma 17th) Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay 18th) Don Aregoni, Green Bay 19th) Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg 20th) Jerry Leary, Suamico 21st) Logan Rhode, Francis Creek 22nd) Dylan Heilmann, Green Bay 23rd) John Mahlberg, Hilbert 24th) Luke Lemmens, Kewaunee

B MAIN 1) Brumlic; Leary; DeGrave; Waechter; Aregoni; John Mahlberg; Kevin Hebbe, Appleton; Dave Bouche, Algoma; Scott Reinhardt, Baileys Harbor; Wade Wogeltine, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Jamie Suchoski, Forestville; Mark Scheunemann, Boulder Junction; Paul Holschuh, Bucktown; Rick Mahlberg, Denmark
2) Heinz; Kelsey; Lemmens; Wiitala; Rhode; Heilmann; Tyler Smith, Luxemburg; Mike Weitor, Green Bay; Jamie Becks, Green Bay; Jeremy Jaquet, Green Bay; Dave Fraser, Iron Mountain, MI; Chris Loewenhagen, Appleton; Tyler Derenne, Kewaunee; Chris Malfroid, Luxemburg; Brandon Gagnon, Oconto Falls

HEAT 1) Stewart
HEAT 2) Muench
HEAT 3) Schmidt
HEAT 4) Michonski


BST CONTINGENCY SPONSORS — AllStar Performance, All Pro Custom Graphx, Jerovetz Motorsports Shock Service/Bilstein, Victory Sign, Kroll Racing Fab/N.E.W.Racing Supply

Modified Feature- 1. Benji LaCrosse 2. Troy Jerovetz 3. Shawn Kilgore 4. Mike Mullen 5.Brian Mullen

Consy #1 Joe McGrath
#2 Mike Joski

Sportmod Feature- 1. Andy Kleczka 2. Tracy Wassenberg 3. Brian Bruechert 4. Troy DeGrave 5. Josh Long

Consy #1 Long
#2 Ricky Mott

Street Stock Feature- 1. Jerry Winkler 2. Keith Kickbusch 3. Jon Ashcraft 4. Gary Kasperek 5. Shawn Haydon

Consy- Andy Fuhrmann

Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Scott Boulanger 2. Cody Junio 3. Derek Moede 4. Rob Waechter Jr 5. Sawyer Haese

Previous Post: Russ Scheffler Wins WDLMA at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: 2013 Awards Banquet Information