Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Jacobs, Bouche, Budzban, Moede and Winkler Claim Victories at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on July 13th, 2013

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg Speedway)- 102 cars entered competition on Friday Night, July 12th. 97 cars went home without feature wins. The 5 entering victory lane were Jeremy Jacobs(IMCA Modifieds) Dave Bouche (IMCA Stockcars) Chris Budzban(IMCA Sportmod) Derek Moede (IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Jerry Winkler (Street Stocks)

Jason Kostichka started on the front row of the Street Stock feature and led the opening couple of circuits. Jerry Winkler started ninth on the field and quickly shot to second place behind Kostichka. Winkler moved around and into the lead and set sail. Keith Kickbusch was a little more methodical in picking his way through the field and into the runner-up spot. Winkler was never challenged and picked up the win in just his first night at the track. Kickbusch increased his point lead with his second place finish. Jon Ashcraft finished third in his first run at Luxemburg in 2013. Marcus Moede and Billy Lemieux rounded out the top five. The feature went caution free.

Hunter Parsons started out up front in the IMCA Sportmod Feature and clung to the early lead. Chris Budzban quickly made his way to the front and into second over Greg Potts. Budzban looked strong down low and shot to the inside of Parsons and into the lead on lap seven. Budzban would go unchallenged the rest of the way to victory lane. A battle ensued for second between Ryan Lemieux and Potts. Potts would eventually win the battle. Budzban would near a half-lap advantage over the field when the only caution of the race flew on the white flag. The race was ended with Budzban getting his second victory of the season. Potts finished second. Troy DeGrave finished third. Point leader Josh Long would finish fourth after coming through the consy race. Dennis Miesler finished fifth.

Cory Cotter was looking for his first career IMCA Hobby Stock feature win Friday night; and throughout the race he stayed in great contention. He led from the drop of the green flag until Derek Moede would take his bid for the race lead to the top of the track. A lap six caution would keep the field close. Cotter would continue to work the bottom of Moede but would never make the pass. Scott Boulanger made his bid for the lead with three laps remaining. He passed Cotter on the inside and then Moede for the lead as the white flag was in the air. Moede would get better momentum off of turns 2 and 4 to nip Boulanger at the line for the win. Moede would earn not only the win but the point lead. Boulanger earned second place money with Cotter third. Rookie Dan VanPay finished fourth with Sawyer Haese fifth.

Justin Jacobson would lead the log jam up front early on in the IMCA Stockcar A Main. Jacobson would keep a eight car battle for the lead behind him until a bobble would put Tom Brumlic and Dave Bouche up front and in the spotlight. A super speedway drafting clinic began. Dave Bouche worked the bottom of the track with Tom Brumlic right on top. The duo would have Brandon Czarapata and Dustin Loberger right behind. The top four would continue this over the last ten laps. Dave Bouche would take his first lead with three laps remaining. Brumlic would fight back and take the top spot with the white flag waving. On the final set of corners, Brumlic pushed up the track just enough to allow Bouche to make a last corner pass for the win. Brumlic finished second ahead of Czarapata and Loberger. Matt Junio made a late bid to join the top four but finished fifth.

No last lap passes were necessary in the IMCA Modified feature. Jeremy Jacobs led from the drop of the green flag all the way until the checkered flag. Jacobs jumped into the lead and then moved to the top of the track. Jacobs would keep the lead by himself until a caution with seven laps remaining put the field on his bumper. Jacobs would jet away and pick up the win. Dan Ratajczak sneaked into second on the restart and would finish there. Eric Mahlik made a late pass for third over Eric Arneson. R.M. VanPay wound up fifth.

Next Friday night July 19th, there is NO RACING at Luxemburg Speedway. We return July 26th with Big Wheel races for the kids. Gnome Games and VanDrisse Racing Parts with be the co-sponsors.

Keep in contact with Luxemburg Speedway for the 2013 season. The track’s website is Check us out on Facebook at Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg 2. Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station 3. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 4. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 5. R.M. VanPay, Denmark

Consy- Marcus Yarie, Wausau

Heats- #1 1. Jacobs 2. Ratajczak
#2 1. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 2. Eddie Muenster, Green Bay
#3 1. James Tebon, Algoma 2. Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico
#4 1. Mahlik 2. Jay Matthias, DePere

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Dave Bouche, Algoma 2. Tom Brumlic, Denmark 3. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 4. Dustin Loberger, Oconto 5. Matt Junio, Casco

Consy- Tyler Smith, Luxemburg

Heats- #1 1. Evan Madden, Algoma 2. Brumlic
#2 1. Ben Kroll, New Franken 2. Bouche
#3 1. Loberger 2. Justin Jacobson, Hortonville
#4 1. Scott Stewart, Oconto 2. Troy Muench, Union

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Chris Budzban, Luxemburg 2. Greg Potts, DePere 3. Troy DeGrave, DePere 4. Josh Long, Little Suamico 5. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

Consy- Long

Heats- #1 1. Ryan Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay 2. Potts
#2 1. Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay 2. Andy Kleczka, Little Suamico
#3 1. Tyler Wilson, Krakow 2. Budzban
#4 1. Miesler 2. DeGrave

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Derek Moede, Casco 2. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 3. Cory Cotter, Little Suamico 4. Dan VanPay, Green Bay 5. Sawyer Haese, New Franken

Heats- #1 1. Boulanger 2. Moede
#2 1. VanPay 2. Dean Anhalt, Mishicot

Street Stock Feature- 1. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh 2. Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee 3. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh 4. Marcus Moede, Casco 5. Billy Lemieux, Sturgeon Bay

Heats- #1 1. Andy Fuhrmann, Brillion 2. Ashcraft
#2 1. Lemieux 2. Fred Davister, Sugar Bush

Previous Post: Luxemburg Speedway hits Mid Season Form

Next Post: Kids Big Wheel Races This Friday Night July 26th at Luxemburg Speedway