Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Kilgore Extends Point Lead With Luxemburg Win

Posted under Race Reports on August 3rd, 2013

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- Shawn Kilgore is now the point leader of the IMCA Modified division by 15 points. He became the first repeat winner in the division. Other winners included John Heinz(IMCA Stockcars) J.J. Anderson(IMCA Sportmods) Sawyer Haese(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Gary Kasperek(Street Stocks)

Luxemburg Speedway has added some members to the Hall of Fame. The 2013 class includes Harold Reckelberg, Lee Anderson, Ron Stahl, Al Hoppe and track announcer Tom Wagner.

A caution free Street Stock feature was the first feature event of the evening. Frank Dorn started on the pole and led the opening 7 laps of the feature. Gary Kasperek and Keith Kickbusch started mid-pack and made their way to the front by mid race. Kasperek was the first to pass Dorn for the lead with Kickbusch following suit. Keith Kickbusch would tail Kasperek over the final half of the race and make a bid outside for the lead with 3 laps to go. Kickbusch would maintain his momentum on the outside of the track coming to the white flag. On the back stretch a lapped car would be in the way forcing Kickbusch to slow. Kasperek used the lapped car to his advantage and picked up his first win of the season. Kickbusch increased his point lead with his runner-up finish. Ryan Manthei, Scott Karbon and Marcus Moede rounded out the top 5.

J.J. Anderson is usually “Mr. Left front off the ground when the track is tacky.” Tonight he kept all four tires on the ground and won his first feature of the season at the speedway. Anderson darted off from his pole position and looked impressive for all 20 laps. Brian Bruechert quickly made his way to second and put pressure on Anderson at times. Bruechert trailed by 5 car lengths halfway through the main. With 4 laps to go, he was able to pressure Anderson one last time for the top spot. Anderson stayed true to the bottom and picked up the win. Bruechert settled for second place money. Josh Long had a good point night with his third place finish. Troy DeGrave and Greg Potts also finished in the top 5. The feature went caution free.

First career feature wins at a track are always a must see. Fans got to see Sawyer Haese do just that in the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature. Kelly Rabe led the first 2 circuits around the track before giving the lead to Dean Anhalt. Anhalt quickly had pressure from Haese. Haese would move inside of Anhalt and into the lead as Anhalt slid over the birm off of turn 2. Scott Boulanger would fight from his 10th starting spot and into second spot halfway through the feature. Boulanger would catch the leader but Haese was too strong and picked up the win. Haese would inherit the point lead with the win. Boulanger settled for second. Dan VanPay, Cory Cotter and Derek Moede finished in the top 5.

Barry VanStraten looked strong and in early contention to win the IMCA Stockcar feature. VanStraten jumped out front of both a hard charging John Heinz and Brandon Czarapata. A caution on lap 7 put the duo on the back bumper for the restart. VanStraten would keep them at bay until a slip up on lap 15 pushed both Heinz and Czarapata into the top spots. Czarapata would give Heinz everything he had over the final laps. Heinz would come away the victor on this night. Czarapata increased his point lead in his bid for back to back titles. VanStraten finished third after leading. Rod Snellenberger finished fourth with Tom Brumlic fifth.

Chad Bartel settled in as the early race leader of the IMCA Modified feature. Jared Siefert quickly jumped to second and battled for the lead. A lap 9 caution would bring the field to the back of Bartel. Shawn Kilgore used the caution to his advantage and jumped into second behind Bartel. Kilgore pressed on and moved into the lead down low with 7 laps remaining. Kilgore would lead through a final caution with 4 laps to go. Kilgore would win his second feature of the season but only gain 1 point in the standings as Todd Dart finished a strong second. Brian Mullen made a late charge to third with Jay Matthias and James Tebon also getting top 5 finishes.

Next Friday Night, August 9th Victory Sign will be the sponsor of the races. The 2nd Plywood race will take place after the final feature event. Keep in contact with Luxemburg Speedway for the 2013 season. The track’s website is Check us out on Facebook at Luxemburg Speedway is located 15 minutes east of Green Bay off highway 54 at the Kewaunee County Fairgrounds. The GPS address is 1140 Alpine Street Luxemburg, WI 54217. For more information call Gene Mathu at 621-3428.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 2. Todd Dart, Algoma 3. Brian Mullen, Seymour 4. Jay Matthias, DePere 5. James Tebon, Algoma

Heats- #1 1. Cory Cochart, Kewaune 2. Tebon
#2 1. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg 2. Kilgore

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. John Heinz, Green Bay 2. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 3. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton 4. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski 5. Tom Brumlic, Denmark

Heats- #1 1. Heinz 2. Czarapata
#2 1. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls 2. Snellenberger
#3 1. Dustin Loberger, Oconto 2. Shawn Havel, Algoma

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. J.J. Anderson, Pulaski 2. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 3. Josh Long, Little Suamico 4. Troy DeGrave, DePere 5. Greg Potts, Depere

Consy- Jeremy Cota, Oconto

Heats- #1 1. Andy Kleczka, Suamico 2. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg
#2 1. DeGrave 2. Christopher Budzban, Hooligan
#3 1. Long 2. Bruechert

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- Sawyer Haese, New Franken 2. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg 3. Dan VanPay, Green Bay 4. Cory Cotter, Suamico 5. Derek Moede, Casco

Heats- #1 1. VanPay 2. Boulanger
#2 1. Dean Anhalt, Mishicot 2. Moede

Street Stock Feature- 1. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 2. Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee 3. Ryan Manthei, Green Bay 4. Scott Karbon, Green Bay 5. Marcus Moede, Casco

Heats- #1 1. Kasperek 2. Tony Everard, Green Bay
#2 1. Fred Davister, Sugar Bush 2. Frank Dorn, Luxemburg

Previous Post: Hall of Fame Night at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Plywood and Big Wheel Races at Luxemburg Speedway This Friday August 9th