Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Kilgore, Kleczka, Czarapata, Boulanger and Kickbusch Win at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on August 17th, 2013

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- Feature racing provided great entertainment for fans and drivers alike Friday night at Luxemburg Speedway. Scott Boulanger finished out the evening by winning the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Scott Karbon had a career night by opening as the leader of the Street Stock Feature. Karbon would continue to lead until Gary Kasperek and Keith Kickbusch made their way passed and into the top 2 spots. Kasperek would try to keep the lead but Kickbusch would shoot to the lead coming to the white flag. Kickbusch would beat Kasperek back to the line for his 7th feature win of the season. Marcus Moede lost 2 points in the championship points by finishing 3rd. Scott Karbon finished a career best 4th with Tony Everard 5th.

Wayne Haines led the opening lap of the IMCA Sportmod Feature before giving way to the new leader in Dennis Miesler. Miesler would continue to lead with Brian Bruechert mixing it up for second place. The top duo would be joined by Chris Budzban for the spot. Chris Budzban shot into the lead on the bottom of the track with 5 laps to go. He would lead until a caution with a couple laps to go would set up the field for the finish. Andy Kleczka started 19th on the field and had worked his way up to 5th with 2 laps to go. Kleczka shot into the runner up spot and trailed Budzban with 2 laps to go. He ran the extreme highline to catch and beat Budzban at the checkers by mere inches. The win was Kleczka’s 2nd of the season. Budzban settled for second with Bruechert, Josh Long and Dennis Miesler rounding out the top 5.

The opening lap of the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature belonged to Jordan Parma before Cody Junio shot into the lead. Junio would keep Aaron Zellner in his rearview mirror until a bobble would give him the lead. Zellner would lead until a caution would put the field on his back bumper. Scott Boulanger used the caution to his advantage and pulled to the outside of Zellner and into the lead at the white flag. Boulanger would hold off Zellner for his 4th win of the season. Dan VanPay finished 3rd with Cory Cotter 4th. Derek Moede is the solo point leader with his 5th place finish.

Heat race winner Eric Malfroid started on the pole of the IMCA Stockcar Feature and took control of the race. He led the first 3 laps of the main until Barry VanStraten used the outside of the track to grab the lead. Tony Bouche would make his way into second and work his way inside of VanStraten for the lead on lap 12. Rob Waechter, Scott Stewart and Brandon Czarapata made it a 5 car battle for the lead with 7 laps to go. The stars aligned and a 4-wide battle out of turn 2 gave Brandon Czarapata the lead. He pulled away over the final 6 laps to extend his point lead by over a full night of racing. Rob Waechter wound up finishing a strong 2nd and John Heinz 3rd. Barry VanStraten faded to 4th with Scott Stewart 5th.

Cory Cochart won the opening night IMCA Modified Feature in 2012 and seemed to be well on his way again. Cochart would lead the field over the course of the race before Shawn Kilgore caught him on lap 15. Kilgore moved inside of Cochart and into the lead. Todd Dart would lock up with Cochart in a battle for 2nd. Benji LaCrosse had to start the race at the back of the pack after forgetting his transponder. LaCrosse moved up 16 spots under green flag action. The lone race caution with 3 laps to go gave everyone one last shot at Kilgore. Kilgore jumped out to a great restart and picked up his 3rd win of the season. Dart lost 1 championship point with his runner-up finish. LaCrosse wound up 3rd with Cochart 4th. Lance Arneson finished in 5th.

Next Friday night August 23rd Swamp Archery will be sponsoring the races. Whitetails Plus Taxidermy and Badgerland Concrete will also be sponsoring. Racing goes green at 7.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 2. Todd Dart, Algoma 3. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 4. Cory Cochart, Kewaunee 5. Lance Arneson, Oconto Falls

Consy- Chad Bartel, Shiocton

Heats- #1 1. Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg 2. Johnny Whitman, DePere
#2 1. Cochart 2. Jay Matthias, DePere
#3 1. LaCrosse 2. Tyler Hackett, Algoma

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Rob Waechter, Ellisville 3. John Heinz, Green Bay 4. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton 5. Scott Stewart, Oconto

Consy- Troy Muench, Union

Heats- #1 1. Malfroid 2. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay
#2 1. Stewart 2. VanStraten
#3 1. Justin Jacobson, Hortonville 2. Waechter

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Andy Kleczka, Suamico 2. Chris Budzban, Luxemburg 3. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 4. Josh Long, Suamico 5.Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

consy- Josh Peterson, Green Bay

Heats- #1 1. Miesler 2. Bruechert
#2 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Wayne Haines, Green Bay
#3 1. Cody Rass, Brussels 2. Jacob Zellner, Green Bay

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Scott Boulanger, Duvall Speedbarn 2. Aaron Zellner, Luxemburg 3. Dan VanPay, Green Bay 4. Cory Cotter, Little Suamico 5. Derek Moede, Casco

Heats- #1 1. Moede 2. Dean Anhalt, Mishicot
#2 1. Cotter 2. Sawyer Haese, New Franken

Street Stock Feature- 1. Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee 2. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 3. Marcus Moede, Algoma 4. Scott Karbon, Green Bay 5. Tony Everard, Green Bay

Heats- #1 1. Fred Davister, Sugarbush 2. Kasperek
#2 1. Moede 2. Kickbusch

Previous Post: Trailer Race of Destruction Returns to Luxemburg Speedway this Friday, August 16th