Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Kilgore, Snellenberger, Hokenstad, Moede and Winkler Win at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on August 24th, 2013

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- After Friday Night, only 1 point night remains at Luxemburg Speedway. Championship night will be next Friday night, August 30th. Tri-County Heating will be sponsoring the races.
Feature winners included Shawn Kilgore (IMCA Modifieds) Devin Snellenberger (IMCA Stockcars) Cody Hokenstad (IMCA Sportmods) Derek Moede (IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Jerry Winkler (Street Stocks)

A nice, tacky track provided great feature racing starting with the Street Stock A Main Event. Frank Dorn jumped out to a healthy lead early on. He would continue to lead until the only caution flag of the race flew on lap 4. Jerry Winkler used the caution to jump inside of Dorn on the restart and take the lead for good. Winkler would cruise to his second feature win of the season. Frank Dorn ended up winning a 3 car battle to finish second. Keith Kickbusch earned the 2013 Street Stock Championship by virtue of his 3rd place finish. Marcus Moede finished 4th with Justin Lindner picking up 5th in his first run at the speedway.

Hunter Parsons IMCA Sportmod Feature started out strong with him taking the early charge. A 6 car pileup would see the first of only 2 cautions. Parsons would jump back out front with Cody Hokenstad right behind. Hokenstad soared into the lead on lap 8 with Troy DeGrave making it to the runner-up position. A caution with 7 laps remaining allowed DeGrave a final crack at the leader. DeGrave tried many times to get underneath Hokenstad but was unsuccessful. Degrave would suffer mechanical woes on the final lap. Hokenstad won the main event in front of Parsons. Jeremy Cota finished 3rd with point leader Josh Long 4th after coming through the consy. Chris Budzban finished 5th.

A caution on lap 2 was the only halt to the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Dean Anhalt led the opening lap before giving way to Derek Moede. Dan Van Pay worked in behind the leader on the 3rd lap. Van Pay would keep the pressure on Moede allowing Scott Boulanger to join the fun. Van Pay and Boulanger would exchange racing lines and positions over the final half of the race. Each would take their stab at Moede but were unsuccessful. Moede picked up the win and will carry a 2 point advantage over Van Pay heading into next week. Van Pay beat Boulanger to the checkered flag. Anhalt and Sawyer Haese rounded out the top 5.
Eric Malfroid beat Devin Snellenberger back to the line to lead the opener of the IMCA Stockcar Main. Snellenberger would make quick work of Malfroid on the second lap and focus on the clean air up front. Barry Van Straten would use the top of the track to get around Malfroid and focus on the leader. Van Straten would be able to track down Snellenberger at the midpoint of the race. Snellenberger would hold off the advances of Van Straten over the final laps to pick up the win in the caution free race. Dad, Rod Snellenberger finished 3rd. Dustin Loberger charged to 4th with Tom Brumlic 5th. Brandon Czarapata wrapped up back to back championships by claiming the 2013 title.

Cory Cochart started on the outside pole and used the birm to his advantage in the IMCA Modified Feature. Point leader Shawn Kilgore started 12th and methodically came through the field. Kilgore would finally get to second with 3 laps remaining when a caution put him to the back bumper of Cochart. Kilgore shot to the bottom giving Cochart the top of the track. Kilgore would find enough bite to clear him and go on to win his 4th feature of the season. He will hold a 19 point edge over Todd Dart who came home 2nd. Cochart wound up 3rd with Lance Arneson and Tyler Hackett 4th and 5th.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Shawn Kilgore 2.Todd Dart 3. Cory Cochart 4. Lance Arneson 5. Tyler Hackett
Consy- 1. Brad Rohloff
Heats- #1 1. Eddie Muenster 2. Kilgore
#2 1. Jay Matthias 2. Cochart
#3 1. Dart 2. Eric Van Iten

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Devin Snellenberger 2. Barry Van Straten 3. Rod Snellenberger 4. Dustin Loberger 5. Tom Brumlic
Consy- 1. Shawn Havel
Heats- #1 1. D Snellenberger 2. Eric Malfroid
#2 1. Loberger 2. Van Straten
#3 1. Rob Waechter 2. Paul White

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Cody Hokenstad 2. Hunter Parsons 3. Jeremy Cota 4. Josh Long 5. Chris Budzban
Consy- J.J. Anderson
Heats- #1 1. Jarred VanLaanen 2. Cota
#2 1. Wayne Haines 2. Troy DeGrave
#3 1. Hokenstad 2. Andy Kleczka

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Derek Moede 2. Dan Van Pay 3. Scott Boulanger 4. Dean Anhalt 5. Sawyer Haese
Heat- 1. Boulanger 2. Anhalt

Street Stock Feature- 1. Jerry Winkler 2. Frank Dorn 3. Keith Kickbusch 4. Marcus Moede 5. Justin Lindner
Heats- #1 1. Dorn 2. Winkler
#2 1. Lindner 2. Tony Everard

Previous Post: 2 Points nights left at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Tri-County Heating Championship Night at Luxemburg Speedway