Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Matthias, Muench, Kleczka, Moede and Kickbusch Victorious at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on June 3rd, 2013

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- Great racing was in order Friday night at Luxemburg Speedway. Most features had their fair share of early race cautions but all ended with excitement. Winners included: Jay Matthias(IMCA Modifieds) Troy Muench(IMCA Stockcars) Andy Kleczka(IMCA Sportmods) Derek Moede(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Keith Kickbusch(Street Stocks)

James Tebon and Brad Lautenbach started up front in the IMCA Modified feature and put on a side by side racing clinic as the first few circuits were completed. Jay Matthias jumped to the bottom of the race track and into the second spot after Tebon gained control. Mathias ran down Tebon and started to make a bid for the lead. Matthias found what he needed and took the top honors on lap seven. Lance Arneson started the feature in 17th position and found his way into the top four by lap eight. Mathias had all but won the race by the time Arneson made his way firmly into second. Matthias won his first feature of the season with Arneson coming home second. The Rookie Lautenbach wound up third after a race long battle with fourth place finisher Tebon. Brian Mullen made a last corner pass to finish fifth.

Scott Stewart jumped out front of the IMCA Stockcar main with Barry Van Straaten and Tom Brumlic trailing. He would continue to lead until lap 12. Troy Muench passed three cars in consecutive laps to take the lead on Stewart. Muench would pull away to pick up his first win of 2013. Matt Junio would make a late race charge to finish a strong second. Brandon Czarapata would charge through the field after an early incident put him in the rear with ten laps to go. After being the early race leader, Stewart finished in the top four. Adam White finished fifth after coming through the last chance race.

Tyler Wilson paced the opening laps of the IMCA Sportmods feature until coming into turn two he clipped the tire and spun out causing a caution. Andy Kleczka inherited the lead. He would continue onward as Brian Bruechert made his way into second and closed in on the lead. Bruechert and Kleczka would go back and forth until Kleczka finally said enough is enough and took control of the win. Kleczka would gain the point lead with the win. Jeremy Cota would sneak passed Bruechert for second. Josh Long finished fourth with Dennis Miesler fifth.

After a roll on opening night, Derek Moede found himself the leader at the drop of the green flag. Moede took his IMCA Hobby Stock up front and went unchallenged through the first half of the race. Scott Boulanger would methodically make his way through the pack and get to the back bumper of the leader. Boulanger would continue working the top with Moede on the bottom. Boulanger would actually lead three consecutive laps before Moede captured the lead and the win on the white flag lap. Boulanger settled for second with Wes Salentine, Sawyer Haese and rookie Dan VanPay rounding out the top five.

Justin Mahlberg shot up front in the opening laps of the Street Stock feature until Keith Kickbusch and Gary Kasperek made their way passed for the top two spots. A game of cat and mouse ensued with Kickbusch always continue to lead. Kickbusch would gain a comfortable lead but Kasperek fought back with three laps to go. Kasperek could get to the back bumper on the final laps but fall short. Kickbusch is now batting 1.000 in feature wins at Luxemburg Speedway. Kasperek has been second two weeks in a row. Marcus Moede, Tony Everard and Fred Davister also finished in the top five.

Racing resumes next Friday Night June 7th. The 54 run and Miller Beer will be the co-sponsors. Check out for details

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Jay Matthias, Green Bay 2. Lance Arneson, Krakow 3. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 4. James Tebon, Algoma 5. Brian Mullen, Seymour

Consy- Brad Rohloff

Heat #1 1. Dan Ratajczak, Frog Station 2. R.M. Van Pay, Denmark
Heat #2 1. Russ Reinwald, Juneau 2. Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg
Heat #3 1. Jay Matthias, Green Bay 2. James Tebon, Algoma

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1.Troy Muench, Union 2. Matt Junio, Casco 3. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 4. Scott Stewart, Oconto 5. Adam White, Green Bay

Consy- Czarapata

Heat #1 1. Tony Bouche, Algoma 2. Mike Coel, Green Bay
Heat #2 2. Scott Stewart, Oconto 2. John Heinz, Green Bay
Heat #3 3. Tyler Smith, Luxemburg 2. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Andy Kleczka, Suamico 2. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 3. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 4. Josh Long, Suamico 5. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

Heat #1 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Josh Long, Green Bay
Heat #2 1. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee 2. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1.Derek Moede, Casco 2. Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg3. Wes Salentine, Luxemburg 4. Sawyer Haese, New Franken 5. Dan Van Pay, Green Bay

Heat #1 1. Dan VanPay, Green Bay 2. Sawyer Haese, New Franken
Heat #2 1. Derek Moede, Casco 2. Dean Anhalt, Mishicot

Street Stock Feature- 1. Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee 2. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 3. Marcus Moede, Casco 4. Tony Everard, Green Bay 5. Fred Davister, Sugar Bush

Heat #1 1. Keith Kickbusch, Kewaunee 2. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton

Previous Post: Kilgore Uses Restart To Advantage En-route To IMCA Mod Win

Next Post: Plywood Races at Luxemburg Speedway June 14th