Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Lautenbach, Czarapata, Long, Moede and Kickbusch Collect Wins on Opening Night

Posted under Race Reports on May 10th, 2014

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- A windy, cool night was what the weather had in store for the opening night of Luxemburg Speedway. The weather didn’t matter on the track as 5 driver’s put the first win tallies in the column for their respective divisions.

Feature winners on opening night included Brad Lautenbach(IMCA Modifieds) Brandon Czarapata(IMCA Stockcars) Brandon Long(IMCA Sportmods) Marcus Moede(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Keith Kickbusch(Street Stocks)

The race winner of the IMCA Modified feature passed three cars on his way to victory. The pass was on lap one when Brad Lautenbach shot like a cannon from fourth to first. Twenty, caution free laps later he found himself in victory lane for the first time in his career in the IMCA Modifieds at Luxemburg Speedway. Lautenbach cruised ahead of the field while the others battled behind him. Tyler Hackett waged a runner-up war with Benji LaCrosse and Shawn Kilgore. LaCrosse won the battle halfway through the race. LaCrosse found himself a full straightaway behind Lautenbach. Lautenbach would make his way through lapped traffic over the final three laps and pick up the win. LaCrosse would take second. Hackett fended off Kilgore for third. Eric Van Iten secured fifth.

Billy Lemieux earned the pole position by virtue of his number one redraw spot for the IMCA Stockcar feature. Lemieux would keep the lead for one lap as two-time defending champion Brandon Czarapata blew into the lead. Czarapata would also lead the rest of the main event in a caution free race. Rod Snellenberger would start eleventh on the starting grid and move gingerly through the pack. Snellenberger was able to grab the runner-up spot but not track down the winner. Czarapata would win the opening night feature in front of Snellenberger. Shawn Havel won the race for third. Dustin Loberger beat Barry VanStraten to the line for fourth.

Jake Maurer led the opening lap of the IMCA Sportmod feature. Kelsy Hayes would dive down on lap two and make the pass into the lead. Hayes would lead through a series of cautions allowing the field to stay on her bumper. Brandon Long used this to his advantage and got inside Hayes and into the lead on lap eight. Long would continue to lead while Andy Kleczka made his move to the front. Kleczka was able to make a run at Long but with the caution falling twice he would have to go back to second. On the final restart, Long got an excellent jump while Kleczka would falter. Ryan Lemieux was able to make a brief run in second. Kleczka was able to recover and pass Lemieux. Long enjoyed the battle behind him all the way to the checkered flag. Long became the point leader with the opening night win in front of both Kleczka and Lemieux. Troy DeGrave and Hayes rounded out the top five.

Brotherly love was put aside to determine the finish of a IMCA Hobby Stock feature. The Moede brothers put on an awesome, clean performance for the fans. Scott Boulanger started on the pole and would jump out front of the field. Boulanger would keep the lead while both Marcus and Derek Moede came to the front. A three car battle would be had. Marcus would grab the lead on lap nine with a three-wide pass in turn two. Derek would put distance on Boulanger and use the outside of the track to pull even with his brother. The final four laps saw the brothers side by side for the win. At the white flag they were nose to nose. Marcus found enough bite off of turn two to gain the advantage and edge little brother Derek to the checkered flag. Boulanger came home third. Jeremy Jauquet won a late race battle with Dan VanPay for fourth.

Rookie driver Sawyer Haese led the Street Stock division to the green flag. Haese would look like a seasoned veteran as he pulled to a slight advantage. Kieth Kickbusch showed why he is the defending champion and tracked down Haese along with Andy Fuhrmann. The trio would have a great race until Kickbusch decided to end the battle and grab the lead for good with three laps to go. Kickbusch has taken the opening night win in back to back years. Fuhrmann had to settle for second with Haese third. Scott Karbon finished fifth with Justin Mahlberg fifth.

Next Friday Night, May 16th Luxemburg Speedway will honor all of the United States Armed forces. Racing will get underway at 7 pm. Go to for all the track’s information. Luxemburg Speedway is also on Facebook and Twitter.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Brad Lautenbach 2. Benji LaCrosse 3. Tyler Hackett 4. Shawn Kilgore 5. Eric Van Iten

Consy- 1. Jared Siefert

Heats- #1 1. Kilgore 2. Van Iten
#2 1. Lautenbach 2. LaCrosse
#3 1. Johnny Whitman 2. Todd Dart
#4 1. James Tebon 2. Hackett

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata 2. Rod Snellenberger 3. Shawn Havel 4. Dustin Loberger 5. Barry VanStraten

Heats- #1 1. Havel 2. Matt Junio
#2 1. Czarapata 2. Snellenberger

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Brandon Long 2. Andy Kleczka 3. Ryan Lemieux 4. Troy DeGrave 5. Kelsy Hayes

Heats- #1 1. Hunter Parsons 2. Jarred VanLaanen
#2 1. Dennis Miesler 2. Lemieux
#3 1. Kleczka 2. Long

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Marcus Moede 2. Derek Moede 3. Scott Boulanger 4. Jeremy Jauquet 5. Dan VanPay

Heats- #1 1. Marcus Moede 2. Derek Moede
#2 1. Boulanger 2. Cory Cotter

Street Stock Feature- 1. Kieth Kickbusch 2. Andy Fuhrmann 3. Sawyer Haese 4. Scott Karbon 5. Justin Mahlberg

Heats- #1 1. Gary Kasperek 2. Karbon
#2 1. Haese 2. Kickbusch

Previous Post: Racing is ON for Tonight 5/9!

Next Post: Luxemburg Speedway CANCELED for 5/16