Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Mahlik, Van Straten, Kleczka, Moede and Kickbusch Take Control at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on August 23rd, 2014

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI) The championship season ends next Friday night at Luxemburg Speedway. Some drivers took their games to the next level to help secure championships next week.

Feature winners included: Eric Mahlik(IMCA Modifieds) Travis Van Straten(IMCA Stockcars) Andy Kleczka(IMCA Sportmods) Derek Moede(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Keith Kickbusch(Street Stocks.)

Dave Zeitler used a 3-wide move on the first lap of the IMCA Modified feature to take control. Zeitler found a top birm on the track and drove his right rear wheel all the way around the 1/3 mile. Zeitler led through a couple of cautions that allowed the field to stay close. Eric Mahlik made his way to second and started searching down low for his groove. He took the shortest way around the track and soon caught Zeitler. With four laps remaining, Mahlik found open air and pulled into the lead. Mahlik pulled away for his second win of the season. Josh Long ran down Zeitler late and finished second. Eddie Muenster finished fourth with Jason Czarapata all but assuring himself the 2014 IMCA Modified crown by taking the green flag next week in the feature.

Travis Van Straten made his second trip to Luxemburg Speedway a successful one in the IMCA Stockcar Feature. Van Straten started on the pole and did an early walkaway session from the field. A caution on lap eight reunited everyone. Van Straten again mounted a charge up front but this time Shawn Havel was able to tag along. Van Straten worked a battle with Havel mid-race but was able to pull away for the eventual race win.
Dave Bouche stayed in front of both Rod Snellenberger and Brandon Czarapata at the checkered flag.

First and second year driver’s Bill Edler and Josh Lambert raced each other in front of the IMCA Sportmod Main Event. Edler led the opening three laps before Lambert found enough bite up top and grabbed the lead. Lambert opened up a huge lead until a lap seven caution halted the event. Andy Kleczka used this to his advantage and made his way to second on the restart. Kleczka needed six laps to finally find enough to move around Lambert on the bottom. Kleczka built up a friendly lead as he came to the checkered flag in front of Lambert. Brandon Long was third. Todd Wiese finished fourth with Scott Boulanger fifth after starting twenty-second.

Marcus Moede was in search of his third IMCA Hobby Stock Feature win when the green flag flew in the fifteen lap main event. Jeremy Jauquet found himself working in second behind Moede for the majority of the race for first. Jauquet started moving up the track lane by lane and started to make up ground. Jauquet worked inside of Moede until he made hard contact with Moede sending both cars flying off the track and bringing out the caution. The new leader was then point leader Derek Moede. Moede took control over the final four laps and won his fifth feature of the season. He will win his second straight IMCA Hobby Stock Championship by taking the green flag in the feature. Dan Van Pay ran to second with Cory Cotter third. Jauquet came back to beat Moede to the line for fourth.

Dave DeGrave and Jason Kostichka traded off with the lead early in the Street Stock Main Event. DeGrave would eventually win the battle but come under pressure from Jerry Winkler. Keith Kickbusch made his way to the front and made a three-wide pass on both Winkler and DeGrave on lap ten. Kickbusch took home his seventh win of the season but more importantly his second straight Street Stock Title. Jeff Jungwirth made a late pass for second place honors in front of Winkler. Andy Fuhrmann and Lexii Ashcraft rounded out the top five.

Champions get crowned at Luxemburg Speedway next Friday Night August 29th. Tri-County Heating will be sponsoring the night. Go to for all the track information.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Eric Mahlik 2. Josh Long 3. Dave Zeitler 4. Eddie Muenster 5. Jason Czarapata

Heats- #1 1. Zeitler 2. Brad Theys
#2 1. Tyler Hackett 2. Kyle Kudick
#3 1. James Tebon 2. Greg Gretz

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Travis Van Straten 2. Shawn Havel 3. Dave Bouche 4. Rod Snellenberger 5. Brandon Czarapata

Heats- #1 1. Havel 2. Craig Dorner
#2 1. Rob Waechter 2. Snellenberger
#3 1. Van Straten 2. Matt Junio

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Andy Kleczka 2. Josh Lambert 3. Brandon Long 4. Todd Wiese 5. Scott Boulanger

Heats- #1 1. Kleczka 2. Wiese
#2 1. Tom Stark 2. Ryan Lemieux
#3 1. Bill Edler 2. Dennis Miesler

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature 1. Derek Moede 2. Dan Van Pay 3. Cory Cotter 4. Jeremy Jauquet 5. Marcus Moede

Heat- 1. Wes Salentine 2. Marcus Moede

Street Stock Feature- 1.Keith Kickbusch 2. Jeff Jungwirth 3. Jerry Winkler 4. Andy Fuhrmann 5. Lexii Ashcraft

Heats- #1 1. Dave DeGrave 2. Fuhrmann
#2 1. Scott Boulanger 2. Jungwirth

Previous Post: Racing ON for 8/22/14 at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: Championship Night Canceled 8/29/14