Next Event » September 25 Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprint Cars, IMCA style Sport Mods, INEX Legends and 600 Micro Sprints

Muenster, Czarapata, Lamberies, Moede and Winkler Visit Victory Lane at Luxemburg Speedway

Posted under Race Reports on August 9th, 2014

Photos by Dan Lewis Photography –

By Greg Aregoni

(Luxemburg, WI)- The August race season is in full swing and that means that the final few nights are most crucial when it comes to the point standings. Some drivers stepped up their A games while others let off the gas.

Feature Winners from Friday Night were Eddie Muenster(IMCA Modifieds) Brandon Czarapata(IMCA Stockcars) Lucas Lamberies(IMCA Sportmods) Marcus Moede(IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Jerry Winkler(Street Stocks.)

Eddie Muenster started on the outside pole of the IMCA Modified Feature and decided to make this race a no doubter early. Muenster flew away from the field in the caution free event. By lap ten he had a near straightaway lead on the field. The battle was for second with Chad Bartel and Eric Mahlik wrestling for position. Muenster entered lapped traffic with three laps remaining and got a last lap scare when a lapped car got sideways in front of him. Muenster cleared the field and picked up his first win of the season that saw him come when his regular Friday night track didn’t race. Josh Long found traction late and finished second after a late pass on Mahlik. Bartel fell to fourth with point leader Jason Czarapata finishing fifth.

Casey Groessl opened up in front of the IMCA Stockcar Feature with nine cars on his bumper after five laps. Barry Van Straten emerged early from the pack and grabbed the lead before a caution flew on lap seven. Brandon Czarapata and Rod Snellenberger grabbed spots two and three on the restart and ran down the leader. Czarapata garnered the top spot on lap eleven down low. A battle with Snellenberger and Van Straten ensued the remainder of the race. Czarapata flew away from the field late to pick up his division leading sixth win of the season. Snellenberger won the battle over Van Straten for second. Shawn Havel started fourteenth on the starting grid and finished fourth. Troy Muench rounded out the top five.

Bill Edler used his front row starting spot to lead the field at the drop of the green flag in the IMCA Sportmod Feature. Edler led to the first caution but a flat tire would send him down pit lane. Wayne Haines inherited the lead but quickly came under fire from Kelsy Hayes on the restart. Hayes jumped ahead and pulled away from the boys. Hayes had the race won until a caution with eight laps remaining brought everyone to her back bumper. Lucas Lamberies entered the picture and ran down low on the restart. Lamberies jumped inside of the leader and grabbed the point on lap fourteen. Lamberies opened up a gap on the field on his way to winning his second Main of the season. Hayes solidly took second with point leader Andy Kleczka finishing on the podium in third. Troy DeGrave and Mike Dauphinais finished in the top five.

Eric Micolichek took charge on the opening lap of the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature before a caution stopped the race on lap two. Marcus Moede made a three-wide pass on the restart to grab the lead in front of the field. Jeremy Jauquet ran to second and to the outside of Moede. On lap eight Jauquet got enough momentum on top to grab the lead from Moede. Moede stayed persistent on the bottom and got Jauquet back on lap twelve down low. Moede pulled away to his first win since opening night. Jauquet settled for second with point leader Derek Moede in third. Wes Salentine and Cory Cotter also finished in the top five.

Jason Kostichka worked up front in the Street Stock Feature from the front row to start the show. On lap seven, both Jerry Winkler and Keith Kickbusch passed him for the top spots. Kickbusch ran outside of Winkler and on lap ten became the leader. Kickbusch chose to stay on top allowing Winkler the chance to try different lines down low. Winkler came back after Kickbusch and shot into the lead as the white flag was flying. Winkler ran to the checkers for the win with Kickbusch right behind. Kostichka finished third. Lexii Ashcraft finished fourth with Scott Karbon fifth.

The Trailer Race of Destruction returns next week, August 15th. It is the second annual Cory Jonet Memorial race. The IMCA Modifieds will be racing for $1000. Go to for all the track’s details.

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Eddie Muenster 2. Josh Long 3. Eric Mahlik 4. Chad Bartel 5. Jason Czarapata

Heats- #1 1. Bartel 2. T.J. Smith
#2 1. Muenster 2. Johnny Whitman
#3 1. Mahlik 2. Shawn Kilgore

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata 2. Rod Snellenberger 3. Barry Van Straten 4. Shawn Havel 5. Troy Muench

Heats- #1 1. Czarapata 2. Van Straten
#2 1. Snellenberger 2. Eric Malfroid

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Lucas Lamberies 2. Kelsy Hayes 3. Andy Kleczka 4. Troy DeGrave 5. Mike Dauphinais

Heats- #1 1. Lamberies 2. Jarred VanLaanen
#2 1. Dauphinais 2. DeGrave
#3 1. Hayes 2. Dennis Miesler

IMCA Hobby Stock Feature- 1. Marcus Moede 2. Jeremy Jauquet 3. Derek Moede 4. Wes Salentine 5. Cory Cotter

Heats- #1 1. Marcus Moede 2. Cotter
#2 1. Jauquet 2. Derek Moede

Street Stock Feature- 1. Jerry Winkler 2. Keith Kickbusch 3. Jason Kostichka 4. Lexii Ashcraft 5. Scott Karbon

Heat- 1. Kostichka 2. Andy Fuhrmann

Previous Post: Long Brothers Double Up On Feature Wins at Luxemburg Speedway

Next Post: IMCA Modified Winner Gets $1000…Trailer Race of Destruction This Friday, August 15th at Luxemburg Speedway